We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great farm to table in Omaha”
Review of Lot 2

Lot 2
Reserve with OpenTable
Lot 2 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 1,361 Restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great farm to table in Omaha”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I ate here twice while in Omaha for the Berkshire shareholders meeting and could have not been more pleased. Nice bar and comfortable dining room. The chef is very passionate about his food and the farms it comes from. Had the best bone marrow of all time (my favorite prior was St Johns in London). Service is sincere and you feel you local and are part of a small town scene. The pork bologneese was a winner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PierrePS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,982 reviews
1,212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 537 helpful votes
“Completely over hyped”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Upon arrival the service was very good, the table was not ready for us and there bar was full, the hostess advised that we could get a drink next door and she would come find us once they had the table ready, which took about 20 minutes which was perfect.
The local sourced food is always great, started with bone marrow, please be aware that they only give you half the bone, yet it says bone, not half then hit you $15 which is a complete rip off.
For dinner we had the gowl and cheek pasta which was wonderful, and steak frits which was overcooked and you since 2 people at the table ordered it you could see where they cut the piece served in half to split between the 2 plates.
Overall the meal had highs and lows but does not deserve ranking that it currently holds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OMAHA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Food with a Nod to Local Ingredients Sourcing”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

11th Anniversary Dinner with the Wife!
Lot 2 has a quaint, exposed brick atmosphere, in a charming building with character, right in the Heart of Benson on Maple Street. Parking was hard to come by, it's directly on the street, so parking is tight and the area is quite busy. We wound up parking a block away in the residential area, but the evening was mild, so no problem.
This was my first and her third time here so she knew to make a reservation, (as seating is limited) and our table was available moments after we arrived. The mood was Vibrant and there were people of all ages dining, while some were sitting/standing at the large wooden bar socializing, while waiting for tables. Be sure to ask for ice, if you want your table water cold.
Our Server was effervescent, most attentive and knowledgeable of food/wine/beer pairings and happily answered our questions on the Menu items, as well as suggesting various house specialties, such as the Kale Salad, which was much better than I was expecting.
We started with an Appetizer Board; a thick slab of wood covered with individual stacked slices of various cured meats, wonderful smoked or aged cow and goat cheeses, curry dusted mixed nuts, house ground mustard, a sweet tomato jam, roasted garlic and more, all accompanied with thick char-grilled crusty slices of italian bread for slathering.
Next came the Kale Salad; chopped ends of Kale greens complemented with crunchy bits and a generous amount of shredded Parmesan cheese. Not sure what the dressing was (Italian?), but I should have asked for a bit more on the side.
I had the Pan Seared Scallops (3) which came as I ordered, seared crisp one side, translucent from the middle down (basically Medium rare, as any Fresh Seafood should be), nestled in a lovely puddle of Pureed Popcorn (weird yet wonderfully delicious) and sprinkled with what appeared to be minced cucumber/celery and smoky/salty batons of bacon!!
The wife had the L2 Cheeseburger and raved about it's full burst of juicy flavor upon her first bite. She asked for a touch of house mustard and slathered it on the bun, without tasting it first, then we determined a strong flavor of Horseradish within it. Always taste/sample an unfamiliar condiment before using! Lesson learned, ha!
We finished off with dessert, she had the Caramel drizzled Pudding and I had the Chocolate Bourbon Malt, a delightful Ice Cream Cocktail served with chunks of brownie on top.
All together, this restaurant was awesome! The staff were friendly, the atmosphere was warm, and the food was spectacular!
We Will Be Returning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BRENT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Neat place, great food”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

16 friends and family gathered here for a birthday party. The service was good, food was delicious, and the prices seemed reasonable for what I would consider a higher end quality restaurant. My wife and I both agreed that we will return for a date, hopefully soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunofthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

First of all I would HIGHLY recommend making a reservation before you go! It's completely worth it to call ahead.

The food is delicious! I had the L2 Cheeseburger which was one of the best burgers I have ever had. Their fries (frittes) are delicious, but their homemade ketchip and garlic aioli as a paired dipping sauce for the fries is oustanding!

We had reservations for 7 and the people at our table before us hung out for a bit so we didn't ge sat until 7:25. We were fine, but the manager sent out an appetizer plate to make up for the delay. Great service!

The waitress was fantastic. She took care of us well, but didn't hang out too much. The atmosphere is great too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lot 2 also viewed

 

Been to Lot 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing