We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lot 2

Lot 2
Reserve with OpenTable
Lot 2 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 1,338 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Delicious farm to table offerings! We dined here on a Monday night and were glad we had reservations. A busy place with a fun atmosphere and attentive service. Try the kale salad!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CollegeProf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food, pricey beverages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Lot 2 is one of the top restaurants in Omaha for quality of the food in my opinion, creative without being over the top. The portions are modest in size but usually sufficient and the prices are reasonable. Service is very good.
We started with the mussels and think this is probably the best place in town for mussels. They were large, tender and very tasty. We followed this with the flank steak, done to perfection. The kale salad is fabulous, the fries very good.
For alcoholic beverages, Lot 2 can be very pricey. Domestic beers are reasonable, foreign (German and Belgian) are expensive compared to other restaurants. The wines are priced high. The wine list has some superb wines but you pay dearly for them. Overall, the wines are expensive enough that it slows me down from returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NEcm104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great farm to table in Omaha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I ate here twice while in Omaha for the Berkshire shareholders meeting and could have not been more pleased. Nice bar and comfortable dining room. The chef is very passionate about his food and the farms it comes from. Had the best bone marrow of all time (my favorite prior was St Johns in London). Service is sincere and you feel you local and are part of a small town scene. The pork bologneese was a winner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PierrePS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,883 reviews
1,141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
“Completely over hyped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Upon arrival the service was very good, the table was not ready for us and there bar was full, the hostess advised that we could get a drink next door and she would come find us once they had the table ready, which took about 20 minutes which was perfect.
The local sourced food is always great, started with bone marrow, please be aware that they only give you half the bone, yet it says bone, not half then hit you $15 which is a complete rip off.
For dinner we had the gowl and cheek pasta which was wonderful, and steak frits which was overcooked and you since 2 people at the table ordered it you could see where they cut the piece served in half to split between the 2 plates.
Overall the meal had highs and lows but does not deserve ranking that it currently holds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OMAHA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food with a Nod to Local Ingredients Sourcing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

11th Anniversary Dinner with the Wife!
Lot 2 has a quaint, exposed brick atmosphere, in a charming building with character, right in the Heart of Benson on Maple Street. Parking was hard to come by, it's directly on the street, so parking is tight and the area is quite busy. We wound up parking a block away in the residential area, but the evening was mild, so no problem.
This was my first and her third time here so she knew to make a reservation, (as seating is limited) and our table was available moments after we arrived. The mood was Vibrant and there were people of all ages dining, while some were sitting/standing at the large wooden bar socializing, while waiting for tables. Be sure to ask for ice, if you want your table water cold.
Our Server was effervescent, most attentive and knowledgeable of food/wine/beer pairings and happily answered our questions on the Menu items, as well as suggesting various house specialties, such as the Kale Salad, which was much better than I was expecting.
We started with an Appetizer Board; a thick slab of wood covered with individual stacked slices of various cured meats, wonderful smoked or aged cow and goat cheeses, curry dusted mixed nuts, house ground mustard, a sweet tomato jam, roasted garlic and more, all accompanied with thick char-grilled crusty slices of italian bread for slathering.
Next came the Kale Salad; chopped ends of Kale greens complemented with crunchy bits and a generous amount of shredded Parmesan cheese. Not sure what the dressing was (Italian?), but I should have asked for a bit more on the side.
I had the Pan Seared Scallops (3) which came as I ordered, seared crisp one side, translucent from the middle down (basically Medium rare, as any Fresh Seafood should be), nestled in a lovely puddle of Pureed Popcorn (weird yet wonderfully delicious) and sprinkled with what appeared to be minced cucumber/celery and smoky/salty batons of bacon!!
The wife had the L2 Cheeseburger and raved about it's full burst of juicy flavor upon her first bite. She asked for a touch of house mustard and slathered it on the bun, without tasting it first, then we determined a strong flavor of Horseradish within it. Always taste/sample an unfamiliar condiment before using! Lesson learned, ha!
We finished off with dessert, she had the Caramel drizzled Pudding and I had the Chocolate Bourbon Malt, a delightful Ice Cream Cocktail served with chunks of brownie on top.
All together, this restaurant was awesome! The staff were friendly, the atmosphere was warm, and the food was spectacular!
We Will Be Returning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BRENT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lot 2 also viewed

 

Been to Lot 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing