We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Malcolm X Birthsite
Ranked #57 of 120 things to do in Omaha
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This place was closed when we visited on a Tuesday afternoon, The grounds were NOTHING, There was no sign that had what hours they WOULD be open, There was nothing outside the visitor center other than a poster or two about Malcolm X that had been done by school children, There si so much potential for a place like this but they are not anywhere close to reaching that potential right now,

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank smirque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility and History”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The site is owned and operated by a small group of dedicated board members, who have great plans for this peaceful 11 acre significant place of African-American history. There is a community center, historical marker, community garden and sidewalk trail, but more is coming, to honor the legacy of Malcolm X

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabrielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check it out!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Malcolm X Birth Site is an evolving historical site, created by local community members. They are great folks with a passion for Malcolm X, his legacy and his connection to his birth city. The site recently purchased a trove of documents related to Malcolm X's early life. Check it out and support their work!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank democracy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“kwanzaa Event at the MXMF Visitor Center”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have done Kwanzaa for the past 10 years now and When I heard that the MXMF was doing one I had to come. I actully was picked to do the tambiko or the pouring of the libation which of course I did. I really enjoyed my self there and will continue to go to other events there!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Malcolm X Birthsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing