We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, Very good. Great servers, excellent service in a phone booth sized kitchen”
Review of La Buvette

La Buvette
Ranked #35 of 1,346 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very, Very good. Great servers, excellent service in a phone booth sized kitchen”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

An Old Market Staple. On May 25th, girlfriend and I were looking for food after a terrible experience at another establishment (see my other review for May 25, 2014). So after finding a pretty good parking spot on 11th St. we walked by La Buvette and saw a few tables open.

The "Shop", which is what they call it due to the many bottles of wine stacked for sale, is a small space. You seat yourself. And then they take care of you. It was about 8:30 on Sunday night and so the waiter stated that they were out of many of the weekends specials. Which was fine because they had plenty of other good stuff.

We sat at a table for two toward the back of the Shop. There is a concrete ramp that was at some point in time used to cart in goods or such when the Old Market was young. Our table overlooked the open kitchen, a small white candle lends some ambiance. That open kitchen, which is a very small space, is very efficient. The cook didn’t need to move much, he just used all 365-degrees around him to prepare an array of fresh, beautiful, and simple plates. The roasted beets with brie looked awesome. The mussels looked awesome. It was a great table to watch the preparations. The Shop’s large front doors were open and the café has a very open feel. We could see people moving by on the street.

About two minutes after we sat down, the waiter greeted us and we ordered two glasses of wine. The “by the glass list” is very good and reasonable. Service was rapid and soon after the wine arrived, we had a nice generous portion of pate’ to go with.

Dinner consisted of a very good meat and cheese plate (Which we watched the cook prepare). And some more wine as well.

This was a very good service. And so I bought a bottle of wine to go!

Thank you La Buvette.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    58
    12
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refreshing 0asis! Fast, simple, straightforward, high quality ingredient. ”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Everything I desire "Fast or Slow" is in this beautiful bookend shop. Friendly waitstaff, desirable food/ Bev of all shades. When it's busy, one still has the luxury of lingering for as long as you please. What a pleasure.

Helpful?
Thank 14fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Mellow Place for People Watching”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Excellent, french inspired food well prepared and an exceptional wine list. Relatively inexpensive based on the quality of the food and wine; you'd pay twice this much in any coastal city. Get a table outside and watch folks walk by in the trendy Old Market part of town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice little 'bistro' with a somewhat eccentric menu including sweetbreads, beef tongue, quail and a stew made of snails and artichoke. The dishes were well prepared and tasty, although served in combination with a polenta containing dried apricots, the "sautéed greens" contained too much vinegar (less sautéed and more soy sauce might have been more effective).

The Bordeaux was excellent. The sidewalk dining was also pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Banda-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best wine-dining-people watching expericence in Omaha!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I should say I have been coming to La Buvette for years, each time I go to Omaha for work. The Midwest can be somewhat uninspired in restaurants, but Buvette has blazed a fascinating path for over 20 years now. You choose your bottle of wine from the wall, and they open it for you, adding on a reasonable corkage fee for drinking it there. ( you can also order by the glass) The cheese plate, soups and specials of the day are always interesting and different. If it's a nice day, the people watching from the patio is endlessly entertaining.
Service is not fast; in that way, it is authentically French! ( it is owned by a French couple) It remains one of the most redeeming features of going to Omaha to work. If you like a little funky décor, great wine selections, good food, and a unique atmosphere, don't miss it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rcftommay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Buvette also viewed

 

Been to La Buvette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing