We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside the room was great! But everything else...UGH”
Review of Motel 6 Omaha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Omaha
Ranked #79 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inside the room was great! But everything else...UGH”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This place used to be Econo Lodge, so the inside of the rooms are highly improved, but:

I stayed for SIX NIGHTS! There was literally a bus full of kids and adults there for three of them! Now I know they are kids, but they were 10-12 year olds and Adults did nothing to keep them under control. They ran in hallway up to 11 at night. The 2nd night I had enough and told the "manager" of the hotel (who I think lives there since he was at the desk every time I went by the desk for a variety of stuff) and no one at the desk did anything, and the noise continued the next night! The staff are decent people, but seemed to be lazy to do anything about the hotel. The room service people did more than the people at the desk (really nice!!)

While construction of some sorts happens eventually at many motels, there was boxes stacked six-high nearly fully blocking the entire hallway from just outside of my room not too far from the stairs! Thankfully there was no fire, considering I was on the second floor. Who knows how long they had been there before I arrived!! On top of that, there was pallet flats and other boards, along with tons of lose nails and other variety of stuff, blocking the sidewalk at the hotel the entire time I was there, and they never moved??!! Last, the area entering where the Guest Laundry and vending machines were nearly fully blocked by two trash can that was filled with pizza boxes that sat there THE ENTIRE TIME I WAS THERE!! I do not like bringing down staff at all, but it just seems there was a lack of care to make outside the rooms/hotel safe, (which should be #1 priority) and THIS I should never have to tell people running/working at the motel! The only reason I managed to stay the whole six days is I had already payed all six $45/night up front, and the inside of the room was good and is the only reason I went up to two stars, and everything worked like it was supposed to, although the first night the wifi was scetchy, but greatly improved over my stay. I thought that when the Motel 6 in this area of the city was up at 107th & M turned into something else, and opened a Motel 6 here, it would be better. But not even close to the case! Changes needed in a big way before I will return! I will not go back to a hotel where I don't feel safe!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian211978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    6
    12
    28
See reviews for
20
12
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Dirty, run down motel... Bare electrical wires on the one lamp that worked in the room plugged in behind the bed...lamp shocked us twice before we saw the bare wires that had been twisted back together touching the sheets and mattress.. no shampoo, two stained towels, one wash cloth.. flat sheet on the bed instead of fitted sheet that was torn and had holes, dirty cloth mattress cover on dirty mattress cigarette burns on the end table and in the bottom of the ice bucket... ice machine disgusting, drain plugged up in floor in ice room.. pillows are old, stained and flat.. they put three pillows on the bed to make up for the one flat one that was rock hard.. the others were lumpy melted foam about 2 inches thick.. lightbulbs out in other two lamps.. electrical plug in sockets worn out and wont hold cord.. some were black and burned looking.. outside entry door lock dismantled and hanging on the side of the building, gang symbols on trash can outside and microwave in room... cocaine/drug residue and cut marks on the mirror hanging on the wall... holes in the wall.. no screen on window.. no lock on window... not the place to stay no matter what the price....trash on the floor.. towel under bed... I could go on forever!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Onthegoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEKIN
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Hotel is located in an industrial area. This place is awful. When you pull up to the parking lot you are greeted by several signs warning that the hotel is not responsible for theft or damage to your vehicles. Add that to the unsavory folks hanging around the property. Not to mention the garbage cans overflowing outside area. Our room smelled like a mixture of smoke and body odor. The carpet was sticky and disgusting. Hotel hallways had no A/C. The hair dryer was broke and then taped back together it didn't work unless you held the button while you blew dry your hair. the cups that were left in the room were not sanitized. i was scared to sleep here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myasmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Needed a place to sleep, Econo Lodge is usually good, this is the worst, check in at 10:30, person wearing shorts and flip flops, get to room, no towels, other peoples clothing on shelf in bathroom, no breakfast, garbage cans overflowing inside the break area. Did have a Tripadvisor 2011 sticker on window, security cameras at front desk, so first impression was good.

Room Tip: Forget staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank commishWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Hotel is located in an industrial area. Good thing we only stayed there on a weekend. The bed felt like the springs were poking through. Pillow were all mismatched. Could not get a good nights sleep. Booked a room for 3 adults but only 2 sets of towels were in the room. I needed assistance from the front desk but the elderly gentlemen did not have a good understanding of English. The breakfast was bad. The hotel staff dropped a serving utensil on the floor and without washing it, put it back in the breakfast serving area. Would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Pros:
sheets appeared clean
general room condition seemed ok

Cons:
toilet seat needed replacing from wear, grime, not secured tightly to toilet
light in bathroom yellowed and dim
common areas were dirty, unkempt, and rundown
breakfast was bad... not kept clean nor refilled/tended to.

This is among the two least desirable hotels I've stayed in. If you have much for expectations, don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

To be fair, I will say that the sheets on the bed appeared to be clean. That is the best I could do for positives. This place is awful from top to bottom. When you pull up to the parking lot you are greeted by several signs warning that the hotel is not responsible for theft or damage to your vehicles. Add that to the lovely syringes, trash, and unsavory folks hanging around the property and you have a good image of the exterior. It doesn't get any better when you get to your room! Our room smelled like a mixture of smoke and body odor. The air conditioner did not work. The carpet was sticky and disgusting. The chair had what appeared to be blood and/or fecal matter stains on it. The towels were stained and possibly not even cleaned after the last guests. I could go on, but hopefully you get the picture. When we saw a creepy van with a couple of guys eyeballing our jeep we decided to leave. We had to find another dog friendly hotel in the middle of the night. If you have dogs, just pay a little extra and stay at one of the other dog friendly hotels. It is not worth saving 20-30 bucks by staying here!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omaha
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Omaha West L ST NE
4.4 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#57 of 82 in Omaha
45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Omaha Southwest/La Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Townhouse Inn
Townhouse Inn
#55 of 82 in Omaha
21 reviews
2.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-South Omaha/ La Vista, NE
0.2 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Omaha

Property: Motel 6 Omaha
Address: 10919 J St, Omaha, NE 68137-1248 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Omaha 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Omaha
Omaha Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing