We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should have checked trip advisor first”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #75 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I should have checked trip advisor first”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I am at this hotel now and let me say... sketchy is the first word that came to mind. The parking lot is tiny and I couldn't even tell it was the hotels. The elevator... let's just say I wasn't sure I would make it to the third floor. The halls are dungy and have an odor... and all of that was the best part of my experience. The room... there are holes in the walls, paint scraped off in other areas and large black smudges in other areas. They gave me a smoking room which had a top to an old glass candle jar for an ashtray. There is no clock in the room. The hair dryer is missing and they can't find me one to use. The dresser has drawers that don't match and the handles are missing. There are fruit flies in the room. When you sit on the bed it sinks toward the head of the bed.The bathroom is TINY and has cigarette burns all over the counters. The shower curtain has black mold on it. The towels have brown stains on them. The tv and the mini fridge (while all scuffed up) are the only things that worked. And their "breakfast" was a joke... bagels but no cream cheese. Cereal but no milk. The juice machine didn't work. frozen waffles that were thawed out and put in a stack. The only thing edible was the mini muffins. Not even cream for the coffee. I am supposed to stay here two more nights - that's not going to happen. I will be finding another hotel today. I chose this "hotel" because it's close to the office I am working at this week and the price was very low - that should have been my first clue. Never again will I book a hotel without checking out this site.

Room Tip: Check trip advisor first and don't come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    6
    5
    45
See reviews for
17
11
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Where to begin...

I've stayed at quite a few hotels as I travel a lot for work and pleasure. I am no stranger to dives and don't mind staying at them as they are usually a good deal.

We stayed two nights ($50/night) over Memorial Day weekend in 2013. The room was not clean and had a bad odor. The surfaces in the bathroom were crusty. There were stains in the bathroom and corners that had grime dark build up. The bathroom had a non trivial amount of other people's hair on the tile, tub and walls and the shower curtain had stains. To make matters even worse - there was a gap between the bottom of the room door and the hallway so all sorts of smells and sounds easily made their way into the room.

It would have been a decent deal for $25, not so much for $50. I should have read the reviews of this place on TripAdvisor before I booked, I would have stayed somewhere else.

It's a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Omaha hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

I am a road warrior and travel on business about 10 months out of the year so I stay in quite a few hotels. I have stayed in some real bad places and this one is on up there...... or down there, how ever you want to look at it. The price intrigued me for a Saturday night stay so I jumped on it. It is right downtown but not a good area of it. The property has not been kept up and the rooms are barely clean. There was no remote for the TV and considering the surroundings I figured that was just the way it was. The bed was hard as a rock and the towels were like sand paper. The TV stations barely came in clear and the elevator made me pray every time I rode it.

If you can stand the accommodations it's a great price for downtown, but that's about it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Like others, I didn't read the reviews until it was too late. First off, when I got into my room, I found a large bug on the wall near the window. Not a good start. Then I checked out the small kitchenette and found it filthy. You would think that a hotel chain, even one with old furniture, would at least want their rooms to be as clean as they can be. Guess not. The bathroom floor was dirty and the sink was stained. The beds themselves were somewhat comfortable. Just don't check under your sheets. It looked like what appeared to be blood on the mattress on our bed. The entire appearance of the place looks okay if not somewhat worn down. And free breakfast? Hope you like your grains food group. There was no fruit, yogurt, applesauce. They have cereal and toast and some old looking wafflecakes that you are supposed to throw in the toaster. On day I checked out I thought I'd try the coffee maker. Unfortunately I too freaked out to make any, partly because of how grimey the pot was, and partly due to finding another bug crawling around the coffee maker.

Room Tip: Check your room for bugs before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndersAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Bad mistake, didn't read reviews before coming there.
First, the room was not cleaned of after previous guests.
Second, all the comments before are true. Plus superuncomfortable squeaking beds.
Third - cocroaches! Sorry to hotel owners, we accidently stole one of them!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Of 4 rooms we rented, 3 had no hair dryer, 1 had dryer that did not work, and 1 looked like a CRIME SCENE! Coffee pot was missing, and there was blood on the door and bathroom wall. The rooms were supposed to be non-smoking, but they stunk like they had been smoking and had been doused in Fabreze. The parking lot was poorly lit and had shady characters hanging around. The breakfast was so bad, we went out to eat. There was cereal, but 1/4 cup of milk in container, coffee tasted like bile, the juice machine was broken, and there were store bought muffins in the case. This place needs to be condemned.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antioch, CA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

OMG Where to start?? I wish I had read Tripadvisor first. This place is so filthy I'm surprised the health dept allows it to stay open. Mildew everywhere. Dirty carpet, bathroom tile. I heard two different guests tell the front desk person (who looked like a 16 yr old) that their a/c units worked but it leaked and the carpet was very soaked. He just said "ok". When I asked for a coffee pot that was missing in our room, he gave me a sm coffee pot. I said again I need the whole unit. He looked very confused. There were so many areas of past ceiling leaks everywhere in the rooms (we had two) and lobby and breakfast area. When we checked out, part of the lobby ceiling had fallen down due to moisture. You could do better at a Motel 6 and I don't usually stay at those but it's got to be better than this dump.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omaha
0.1 mi away
EVEN Hotels Omaha Downtown
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Quality Inn & Suites Council Blu...
#18 of 24 in Council Bluffs
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deco XV
Hotel Deco XV
#18 of 82 in Omaha
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites Omaha
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2211 Douglas St, Omaha, NE 68102-1212
Region: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Omaha
Omaha Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing