We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a romantic break :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary so we hoped it would be a special hotel and we weren't let down. The staff can't do enough for you, the rooms and hotel are beautifully clean (and I'm a fusspot who's difficult to please hygienically), the towels and beds are changed everyday and the food is delicious. We normally eat outside of our hotel to experience the local food but the chef produces so many traditional Greek dishes that we ended up eating in the hotel every night! For our special anniversary night we asked if the restaurant manager could organise something special for us, he suggested we could have dinner served on our balcony. He presented us with a wonderful and delicious 7 course menu which he served himself, bringing up every course 2 floors in the lift after checking we were ready (this worked out he did a total of 14 trips and every one of them with a smile on his face! !) It was truly magical as they had decorated the table with roses and candles and the dinner went on for 2hours. The cost was 55 euros each which was a bargain considering! I would say this is not a place to bring children but only because there is very little for them to do and the ambience of the hotel lends itself so well to romance and relaxing. All in all it's perfect if you want some sophistication in beautiful surroundings.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Second time we have stayed at this excellent hotel and it rated top marks again. From arriving until departure the staff are great, very helpful and friendly. As on our previous visit there was a nice cold meat/cheese salad meal awaiting in our room on arrival as we didn't get there until approx 10pm + bottles of water and Red wine. Decided to have a junior suite with private pool this time, great choice, plenty of space in the 2 tier suite, own private pool with room for sun loungers, chairs and small table on the patio which was great for relaxing and late afternoon sun bathing if required before the evening outing. Bathroom with excellent shower + sauna facilities. Only had breakfast at the hotel ( which was very good ) as we always like to go out and find one of the local eateries to try as there's an excellent choice but it always seemed to be popular and busy when we passed by on our way out. Free wi-fi thought the hotel. 5 min slow stroll and you are at Sissi centre with plenty of taverna's and cafes to stop at, lovely little harbour to sit and have a drink and watch the world go back. Sissi is the ideal place to relax, a number of good places to eat and drink and very laid back with the Castello being the ideal place to stay. Would certainly return for another relaxing week .

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a room or suite with private pool, lovely relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barnmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having read the reviews we were expecting a good experience...ultimately, it was outstanding. If this hotel was transported to a beach, I don't think I would be able to afford it!! The location is ideal...two minutes pleasant stroll to Sissi and it's many tavernas and lovely harbour. The immediate location of the hotel seems to be in a small street with scrubland and occasional houses around...however, once inside, there is a transformation. First impressions count. The wide entrance lobby is spotless and very modern...the staff extremely welcoming with a Buck's Fizz served as we were registering. We had a quiet south facing room with pool, absolutely fantastic. The room was spotless and the pool a joy. If I had had a room near us without a pool I would have been very envious.
The real class of this hotel is the staff. Breakfast was buffet style with excellent changing selections of the highest quality. You could get your eggs and bacon cooked as you wished and the cheese and tomato omelettes were great. Dinner was an event and semi formal with gents wearing trousers. Many of the female guests also 'made an effort'. I agree with the dress code. Again, selections were great, with a choice of main course served at your table. The traditional Cretan dishes were my favourite. One evening , red roses awaited diners along with complementary champagne...a great touch which will be remembered.
Our holiday was made by one of the waiters, George...thank you George...we think of our time there when drinking Raki and using fabulous olive oil. George's colleague Ronella (?) was always smiling and we appreciated her sense of humour.
The Spa pool was free and usually empty...lots of buttons to push to get different water jets...great experience, heartily recommend it. We has a couples jacuzzi , steam bath and sauna...totally private with candles and soft music...bargain at 20 euros.
The hotel pool was great, with lots of lingers available. We tended to stay by our own pool on the morning and then wander into Sissi.
This is the longest of many reviews I have written and our best holiday hotel experience. Well done Castello.

Room Tip: We had room 404 with private pool ( recommended)... South facing at the quieter side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a very good hotel, well managed and thoroughly deserving of all the excellent reviews it gets. We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed every minute. The boutique concept is very much in evidence – pleasant decor, attention to detail and attention to the wellbeing of the guests. If you want a relaxing break in pleasant surroundings, this is the place for you.

We had a junior suite which was a light, airy and spacious split-level – bedroom upstairs and living space below. The beds were comfortable (at last somebody has got it right). The shower was almost a room in itself; it even had a place to sit down if you got tired of standing up. Tasteful, colourful pictures decorated the walls. It is obvious much thought has gone into the layout and design of the rooms and the hotel itself.

The staff were outstanding, attentive, always friendly and humorous and couldn't do enough for you. - having trouble with your umbrella, there was somebody on hand to help you. Food was excellent – especially enjoyed the variety at breakfast, just felt guilty about all the effort that had gone into it while we were still in bed.

We would like to thank all the staff for a very enjoyable holiday and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colby457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were here in September for 1 week, we love Sissi but always struggled with somewhere decent to stay, that problem has now been solved, this is a great spot and the staff are really polite and friendly. The place is kept very clean, we didn't eat in the hotel on an evening as there are so many great places to sit in and watch the sun set in sissi harbour however we did have a few drinks in the bar which we found to be good quality and reasonable prices for a hotel. I will be returning in the future and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adele186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks and feel totally chilled due to the relaxing atmosphere.Staff very attentive and hotel was spotless.Room had fridge,tea/coffee making facility,tea,coffee and milk replenished each day as was the shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom.Beach towels obtained each morning from reception,sunbeds plentiful.Food of good quality but a bit disappointed that you did not get Greek dishes served in their traditional way.Ask for your free glass of freshly squeezed orange at breakfast as it is nice but not automatically served.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tattiepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beautifully maintained and designed Boutique hotel, staff very professional but also very friendly. Rooms excellent, had a junior suite with pool, water a bit cold but a great feature. Pool scene very, very quiet, a little too quiet more a library, although the cocktail bar played really nice chill out music. The Spa is fantastic and a must do! Adults only type of hotel. All drinks and food excellent and reasonably priced.

Sissi itself is great. A Crete village formed around a natural cove, with restaurants and low key cocktail bars clinging to its cliff sides and sea front. A couples and family village, with more than enough places to eat and drink for a week. Great sunsets from bars. Everything priced very reasonable.

Sissi and Castello combined a great weeks holiday.

Best beach at the Robinson's hotel about 15 min walk but via a rocky headland.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed a good standard. Room 101 had a private pool and room for 2 sun beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyP1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
0.0 mi away
Castello Village Resort
11.4 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
55.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
647 reviews
13.1 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
11.5 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#1 Family Hotel in Sissi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range: £93 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Boutique Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish high-quality design is the hallmark of this deluxe boutique resort, situated in one of the most beautiful and sought-after locations in Crete, the traditional seaside village of Sissi. Recalling a bygone era of gracious living, Castello Boutique Resort & Spa offers the personalized service and amenities required by today's discriminating traveler. Since 2015 Castello Boutique Resort and Spa became adult only hotel and have entered the SLH family- Small Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Boutique Resort And Spa
Castello Boutique Hotel Sissi
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing