We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my family after my parents recommended it so highly after their stay last year and wished to return. The hotel was everything and more we could have asked for. We took two interconnecting rooms for us and two teens and they were just perfect, spacious, modern and clean. As all other reviewers state the staff here are definitely the stars. Nothing is ever too much trouble and you're greeted with a smile and greeting from everyone. Angelo at the beautiful pool bar is just fab and goes out of his way to ensure you enjoy your holiday. Nikos runs the show in the bar and restaurant and ensures everything runs like clockwork. Having stayed in many give star hotels this one is up there with the very best!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerrymua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    96
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
471
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went to the hotel in May this year and although rooms not 5 star luxury they are very clean and comfortable. However what makes this hotel is the staff, from the reception to the bar and the restaurant they are all so friendly and want to make sure that you have a lovely holiday. We arrived late after the dinning room had closed but were left a selection of bread, meat and cheese with a bottle of wine in our room, which was lovely. Angelo in the bar is a fantastic bar man and nothing is too much trouble for him. Then there is Mr Nicos and George and the rest of the gang in the restaurant. All of these people made our holiday more enjoyable and so relaxing. We had a junior suite with a private pool which we loved, only downside for this type of room would have expected a nice view! Make sure you use the spa it is fantastic. Although half board we had not intended to eat in the hotel every night but the food was really good value. The maid service was also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Measton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is our first ever review on trip advisor as we wanted everyone to know how brilliant this hotel is. We were looked after from day one right to the end. The location is perfect. The hotel it self is immaculate. What really made this a perfect hotel was the staff and management. We have been to a lot of hotels but never have we felt so welcomed and looked after. Would like to thank all at hotel for a wonderful stay.
Bob and Kay (England )

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flowers1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent a wonderful ,relaxing week in May at the Castello Boutique hotel.
As previous reviewers say - the Hotel staff are the stars ! Nothing too much trouble - from service at the bar, in the restaurant or at reception - everyone is courteous, helpful and professional.

I would say that the Hotel is best suited to couples and not really for families with young children - it's quiet and relaxing, a grown-ups place !

Our room was their 'Penthouse suite' - overlooking the Church, it was well equipped (though no full length mirror in the room which is always annoying), beautiful bathroom with walk-in shower & a spa bath. But best of all....a Jacuzzi on the terrace - which was well maintained and cleaned daily.

The pool area is lovely - with plenty of sunbeds around the pool ( no reserving thank goodness) and across the grassed area. The hotel itself is sleek and modern - a delightful bar runs full length alongside the pool and there are plenty of tables for poolside lunches in the shade.

Sissi village is within easy walking distance (5 minutes) - lots of good family run restaurants along the waters edge and a great selection of bars to watch the beautiful sunsets. This is a typically Greek fishing village, that has grown into a small resort and appears still to retain some character. Parts of it are rather tatty - evidence of the state of the Greek economy sadly.

We'll be going back next year I'm sure

Room Tip: Rooms on the top (3RD ?) floor are probably quieter in the season - overlooking the pool, though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentflyersessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Well presented hotel, very clean rooms and surroundings with great staff (extremely helpful and friendly).

Evening meals are typically Greek with wide range of main course choices, allprepared to a very high standard.

Grassed sun area, ensures excellent sunbathing all day.

Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank mas123mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This amazing, relaxing hotel lives up to all expectations.
The late night arrival, thank you French air traffic control....left us hungry and tired. There was a lovely cold plate , bottle of wine, and bottled water to greet us. The receptionist was lovely, welcoming and helpful.
After a good nights sleep we ventured down to the lovely dining room....doors open to the garden for al fresco dining. Nice....very nice. Slick, discrete service under the watchful eye of the maître d. All waiting staff were very welcoming and helpful.
You could find minor faults I suppose. Some would. But this was a much needed vacation for myself and my daughter, and every one made our stay perfect.
The reception staff can book taxis, spa treatments (on offer during our stay....I can recommend the Cretan massage). The buses stop outside as do the excursions. One lady on reception who lives in Heraklion, recommended a lovely restaurant there. Fifty fifty....nice place to lunch and not over priced.
Back to the hotel......
The food is very pleasant, plenty of choices and service is exceptional. The pool bar does amazing cocktails and light lunches at inexpensive prices.
But the shining light in all of this is the attentive, pleasant, helpful and always smiling staff. Across the board it's a great find.
I would travel there as a single lady it was that impressive.

Room Tip: Would have loved a room with a pool.....but only booked this a week before travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this wonderful hotel. This is very much a hotel for discerning adults looking for a relaxing break in the sun. The staff here are without a doubt truly exceptional! Don't be put of by comments about the church bells they only ring for about 15 seconds on a Sunday morning. Hire a car it's worth every penny. The food here is of a good standard the only down side is the drinks are very expensive. We will definitely be booking this hotel again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
55.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
59.3 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
86.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
11.5 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
15.8 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
#1 Family Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Boutique Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish high-quality design is the hallmark of this deluxe boutique resort, situated in one of the most beautiful and sought-after locations in Crete, the traditional seaside village of Sissi. Recalling a bygone era of gracious living, Castello Boutique Resort & Spa offers the personalized service and amenities required by today's discriminating traveler. Since 2015 Castello Boutique Resort and Spa became adult only hotel and have entered the SLH family- Small Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castello Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Boutique Hotel Sissi
Castello Boutique Resort And Spa
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing