We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
large modern family house with separate apartment on ground floor in Pyrgos, Sissi, Crete
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large modern family house with separate apartment on ground floor in Pyrgos, Sissi, Crete
The apartment, a warm welcome awaits you Open plan lounge/diner/kitchen area, fully equipped to a high specification
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
large modern family house with separate apartment on ground floor in Pyrgos, Sissi, Crete
The apartment, a warm welcome awaits you
Open plan lounge/diner/kitchen area, fully equipped to a high specification
Full cooking and eating facilities
A relaxing and quiet environment
Bedroom with full luxury wardrobes and a twin/double bed so that you can enjoy a good nights sleep
En suite quality toilet and shower
Apartment patio, garden and outlook in a quiet country lane
The house and apartment are surrounded by a garden area
View from the apartment of spectacular mountain scenery
Plenty of walks around when it is not too hot, with magnificent mountain scenery
The local Potamos Beach, a sandy beach, warm waters and safe bathing with the mountains in the backg
A harbourside taverna in Sissi with the mountains behind the apartment
The fishing boats and harbour in Sissi. A coffee or beer can be enjoyed at the harbour side
The inlet where hire boats and ducks can often be seen
Cathy and John enoying the evening in a local restaurant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
dribbler1...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment, lovely hosts, shame about the barking dogs!”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Well located, fully equipped apartment. Just far enough away from the busy areas.
Couple upstairs who are minding the place were very helpful and welcoming.

A vehicle rental is essential as its 5-10 mins drive to nearest village.

We did enjoy our stay but unfortunately the noise of the neighbours dogs barking did ruin the peace and tranquility that we were looking for.. sorry guys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities were all you could ask for.
Liked least: No air con in bedroom, porch blind not working and the barking dogs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Sorry you were disturbed. I know they can be noisy and I have spoken to the neighbour but this is the first complaint I have had, and there is little I can do to improve the matter. They are noisier at some times more than others and \I regret you were disturbed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uktravell...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A really lovely well equipped apartment, set in olive groves with lovely views of the mountains. There are only 10 houses in the village so is very peaceful. The apartment is well equipped and the beds are comfortable. We were met by Corrie who showed us around and she called in a few times to change the bedding and towel. We had been given her phone number and she said if we needed anything to ring her.she made us feel very welcome.
The photos of the apartment are very true to life.
A car is a must, it only takes 25 minutes to drive from Heraklion Airport from where we hired the car, which we used every day.
There is a loverly fishing village nearby called Sissi and further along into Malia we found a wonderful bakery/patisserie next to Alpha Bank. We drove to the lovely Potamus Beach which took 10 mins, which was quite quiet as it was the end of the season.
We were there the last two weeks of October and must have had the hottest day in October about 32, but also had the wettest few days during our last week. A local girl told us the rain was very welcome as it hadn't rained since May.
We enjoyed our stay and visited Milatou fishing village 11kms away, Agios Nikolias, Heraklion, Spinalonga ,Vrachasi an unspoilt village in the mountains and the monastery at Selinari just 5 Kms away. All worth a visit

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Many thanks for the review and I am glad you enjoyed your holiday as I always do my best to be helpful, as does Corrie when I am away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSCJC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant Holiday”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The owner John is a great host providing information on where to visit, eat and shop. He isn't intrusive but always available including picking us up from the airport and taking us back also arranging car hire for us.
The apartment is a few kilometres from Sissi with great views, but close enough by car to the beach, shops and tavernas.
The apartment had all the facilities you would need, the one thing that would improve it even more for us would be air conditioning (obviously this would increase the rent or be an additional payment).
Next time we go to Crete we will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenys g
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice location, very clean and tidy”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

lovely location close to everything but also far enough away. The lady who met us at the apartment was brilliant very helpful and showed us around sissi. I would defo recommend staying around the area. Big thankyou to john for a lovely holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
I was not there at the time but my lady is excellent and looks after guests as I would.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyEmily...
Brescia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waking up with cicada songs”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is clean and brand new; the kitchen is equipped with plates, cutlery, cookware and good electrical appliances, so that it's possibile to cook meals easily. We also found an iron, a hair dryer, a toaster and a fan. Wi-Fi connection is provided.
John, the owner, is very kind and helpful.
We appreciated very much the location: among the olive trees, very quiet but not far from the towns of Sissi (a 45-50 minutes' walk, but a car is recommended!) and Malia.
A few km from home there are beautiful free beaches (such as Aghia Varvara and Spiliada) and the archaeological site of Malia.
We most liked the quiet location, the three nice cats we met in the garden, the no-smoking rule inside the house, the opportunity to eat at home (local fruit and vegetables are good and very cheap). We're sorry that we couldn't stay there a little longer.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
A pleasure to look after such polite and pleasant guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rural Relaxation”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We found this modern well equipped property to be ideal for our purposes. Due to its location a car is a MUST. The owner, John, who is usually on site is helpful and friendly without being intrusive.

The mountain and country views are spectacular. The property windows are fitted with fly screens & shutters allowing good "fly free" ventilation. The modern bathroom provides a good supply of hot water and the kitchen is well fitted with most amenities. It includes a full oven and hob, microwave and toaster; for those very keen there is even an iron. Car parking on site is provided.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
I was pleased to loook after you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Just returned from 2 weeks in Crete. Stayed at Beech Grove Apartment in Pyrgos near Sissi and had a wonderful time. Great, well equipped accommodation in a quiet location and John, the owner, lives on site, and he was very helpful during our stay. Car hire is a must as shops, bars and restaurants are 30-40 mins walk away, as is the beach. Would recommend this apartment to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, and would certainly stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing environment
Liked least: The fact that we had to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
I was glad to be of help and I enjoyed having you to stay too. I was pleased to look after you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing