We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel. Great for a relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smartline Vasia Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smartline Vasia Village
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sissi
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb hotel. Great for a relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Firstly, I must say that this hotel (Vasia Village) is NOT to be confused with the Vasia Beach hotel! Both hotels are owned by the same chain, and you CAN use the Spa & Gym facilities at the other hotel (which is a 5 min walk away).
If you have booked all-inclusive, then you can also have 1 meal at either the Italian or Greek restaurant in the other hotel (be aware you do need to pre-book!) I would highly recommend that you do this - we tried to book the Greek restaurant, but were told this was fully booked & that they had booked us into the Italian instead. We were disappointed to miss out on the Greek restaurant, but we soon found the Italian restaurant to be outstanding.

The hotel / resort is quite a way from the airport & we were the last drop-off. After seeing so many other hotels on the ride from the airport, we were initially worried when we arrived because the front of the hotel is quite small / plain & does not do the rest of the complex justice.
We need not have worried though. Our room was a spotless apartment style room split over 2 levels with its own balcony & sea-view. There was a bath & shower in the room, along with a fridge & air-conditioning.
The location of the hotel is outstanding. It is right next to the sea (there is no beach, just rocks), and there is a bar open in the evenings which is great for watching the spectacular sunsets from.
The food was excellent, with plenty of choice available at every meal. The food choice also varied daily.
There were plenty of drinks available, but the only branded spirit was Martini. The cocktails & the beer were both OK.
All of the staff were very friendly, and were happy to go out of their way to ensure you had a good stay.
There was free wi-fi available, but it was very hit & miss whether you got a connection or not. The receptionist advised that this was because of the number of people trying to connect. His advise was to keep trying!, and to be fair to him we did eventually get a connection.

We had a very enjoyable, relaxing break at this hotel & we are already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at Smartline Vasia Village, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
All your positive comments are so rewarding for us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    53
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
59
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We just got back from 5 nights at this hotel and would highly recommend it. We arrived at 10 pm and had our bags carried to our room along with a big tray of veggies, cheese, cold cuts, bread, wine and fruits, which was excellent.
When we woke up we were so happy to see that we had a beautiful sea and pool view.
The family room was really spotless and cleaned every day by the cheerful cleaning staff.
In general, the staff in this hotel is the friendliest I have met, including in the bars, dining room and reception. They really love kids and try to get their attention all the time, winking and high-fiving them.
After our first day, the waiters remembered our drinks preferences at mealtimes and quickly served us after we sat down.
Food is really good for hotel food.The basics are always there (high quality fresh fruits and veggies, chips) but the main dishes are varied and of good quality. Even our picky kids found something they liked at every meal.
And the best part for the kids were the pools with slides. There were only a handful of children at the hotel so the slides were never too busy and our kids wanted to slide again and again - that really made their holiday.
The only down sides:
1. The mattresses - a bit on the hard side, so by the last couple of days I got a bit sleep deprived and a sore back .
2. No toilets next to the kiddie pools, so you have to run to your room when the small ones have to go.
But all in all it was a wonderful place and if we return to this part of Crete we will definitely stay at Vasia Village again.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view, and if you have small kids get one facing the kids pool, that way you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arineu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at Smartline Vasia Village, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear sir/madam,

A big thank you for your review from all of us!
It's very pleasant and rewarding to receive such comments from our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Arrived 18th September at 4:30 am. We were greeted by Poppy a first class receptionist. We received a picnic bag of food each and bottled water for our room. Then golf buggy to the room. All staff are superb and cheerful. Greek hospitality at its best. The hotel is the smaller sister hotel to the Vasia Beach. With only 100 rooms the hotel atmosphere is relaxing and quiet. The mini bar comes with some soft drinks included as is coffee and tea. Rooms are of a high standard with comfortable beds. The bathroom facilities perfect. The facilities suit all ages. The main pool is located by the beach front and has a bar serving drinks whilst the pool is in use. The Picturesque Sissi harbour is only 10 minutes stroll with a small artificial beach and swimming area.The all inclusive package is the best we have ever experienced. There is no limit on drinks and there was a variety of food choices both hot and cold to suit most tastes. The Greek salads are particularly nice at lunchtimes. Ice cream is available all day. The entertainers are great and Aqua Gym, water volleyball and lazy games are all good fun. Our best moment was on our second night we sat at the Blue bar located at the bottom of the complex by the beach listening to relaxing music and watching the sunset, bliss. I would certainly go back again. This is an ideal hotel if you want a quieter non commercial location and particularly good for families with very young toddlers. We hired a car for a day to go to Knossos palace it cost around 65 euros. Entry to Knossos was only 6 Euro each a must if you are staying in the North of the island. There is so much more I could say that you will only benefit by visiting this first class hotel. I score this hotel 99.6 percent.

Room Tip: Phone reception the day before and ask for a sea view. If travelling with small children ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham240364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at Smartline Vasia Village, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Many many thanks for your kind review!

It’s always nice and rewarding to hear positive comments from our guests!
It is also very encouraging for all of us at Vasia Hotels and gives us strength to continue to try and offer the best possible holiday experiences to all of our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We loved the two nights we spent at Vasia Village. The room was smallish but so beautifully located, with a great balcony and fabulous view of the sea. Meals were served on the large terrace, the atmosphere was fantastic and elegant and the food excellent, especially barbecue night. Sitting at the bar overlooking the sea was great too.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We got great suggestions for places to visit from the lovely clerk at Reception.
We loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools are best, with a gorgeous unhindered view of the sea......and great sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at Smartline Vasia Village, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Many many thanks for taking the time to write this polite review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Once again thank you for your review - we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

the food was perfect in vasia village, the service too... it was a nice experience...the chef of village was a perfect man who loves the kids and always was playing with them..generally the staff of vasia was pefect...very kind and always with a smile in their face! next year i will go again in village to enjoy my self

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at Smartline Vasia Village, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear sir/madam,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review & for all your positive comments, that were received with thanks from all of us!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Vasia Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Positives:
Lovely rooms
Nice pool
Helpful staff
Immaculately clean

Negatives:
As a personal preference there wasn't enough going on for us.
There is one small buffet restaurant.
We moved to Vasia Spa as the restaurant is bigger but again we just felt restricted eating in the same buffet restaurant every night except for the one night per seven days you are allowed in either the Greek or Italian.
We were lead to believe by the company we booked through that we could use all bars and restaurants at spa too. Completely not Vasia Village's fault and they were very helpful in helping us move.
The evening entertainment that we experienced was awful. Amateur for a 5 star like spa and beach.
Personally I could not fault the rooms, cleanliness and staff but for us we will go self catering next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at Smartline Vasia Village, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear sir/ madam,

Firstly I would like to thank you for writing this review, as well as for your positive comments regarding the rooms, the cleanliness of the hotel, the external areas and the kindness of the staff – your comments are already forwarded and received with thanks from the people involved.

Vasia Village is a small, cosy, customer centric hotel aiming to provide tailor-made services to all of our guests. Our top priority is guest satisfaction.

The food options at Vasia Village include the following:

Thalassa Main Restaurant:
14 different menus are offered per 2 weeks - each night a different menu is served.
Menus include: a great bread variety, a selection of minimum 15 different salads, soup, a minimum of 16 different main courses, selection of show cooking, more than 10 different desserts, ice-creams, cheeses, and a variety of fresh fruits.

The food options at Vasia Beach include the following:

‘Dionysos’ Main Restaurant:
14 different themed nights per 2 weeks - every night different theme and different menu.
Themed nights are: Asian Night, Latin Night, Greek Night, International Night, German Night, Cretan Night, American Night, Mediterranean Night, African Night, etc.
During all Dionysos Restaurant’s meals a rich food variety is offered on extensive buffets, while live cookery demonstrations take place.

All guests staying at Vasia Beach or Vasia Village can also have a complimentary dinner once per week at either of the a la carte restaurants below:

‘La Trattoria’ Italian Restaurant:
Serving pizzas, pastas and Italian specialities in a beautiful seafront location.

‘Pelagos’ Greek Restaurant:
Serving traditional food such as kleftiko, souvlaki, etc. by the sea.

The food quality and variety is of great importance to us. We recognize the needs of our guests, the different tastes & requests, and therefore we are trying to do our best, by offering a wide & varied choice of food within the hotels. According to all our researches the food program has a high satisfactory level.

The hotel is always very clear regarding its policies, procedures, program descriptions, e.g. HB program, AI program, etc. (all details can be found in our website). There are extra services and facilities on offer, - not included in the HB or AI programs & certainly not advertised as included - that are available to those guests that wish to use them.

The animation team tries really hard to provide excellent and friendly service to all of our guests, with various daily activities (e.g. aqua games, yoga, special games, etc.), night entertainment (14nights entertainment – different event each night including shows such as, Mama Mia, Zorro, Grease, The Pirates, Dance Show, et) and special kids animation (e.g. including 2 kids clubs, mini disco, special club events, etc.).

Finally I would just like to say that unfortunately the information that was given to you by your booking agent was not the correct information. But this is out of our control. The suppliers are informed to check the Vasia Hotels website to gain all the information required, but unfortunately sometimes this is not the case. As you stated above, from our side we did everything possible to facilitate your holiday.

Thank you again for your report & hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hi still here in VV as I have named the hotel as in Very Very good still two more days to go of out holiday and after arriving last Saturday at Vasia spa Hotel as were dropped off at this hotel, we found our travel agent booked us in to arrive on the Sunday but not a problem to the staff short delay with drinks provided at the Bar as it was now gone 0100 in the morning.
Delay at airport of over one hour for bus to fill up before we left even though we're told 45 minute max wait, but back to hotel staff very helpful and short buggy ride to our hotel along the road, with more drinks offered as the were making our room up and sorting 321 Travel issues out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianjoneslancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at Smartline Vasia Village, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review, which is much appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
13.4 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Sissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
6.1 mi away
Smartline  Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grecotel Meli Palace
Grecotel Meli Palace
#3 of 20 in Sissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castello Village Resort
0.7 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Vasia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Vasia Village

Property: Smartline Vasia Village
Address: Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Vasia Village 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Vasia Village is a calm All Inclusive hotel designed in a traditional village style surrounded by olive trees. The hotel is situated on northeastern part of Crete, above a small, rocky cove. From here, you can enjoy an astonishing view of the Mediterranean Sea and the majestic Lasithi Plateau. Bouffos Beach is just 1,200 meters away from the hotel, and is easiest reached by using the hotel's free shuttle bus service. The spacious outdoor area of smartline Vasia Village features two swimming pools, including a kids' pool, as well as a small water park with four waterslides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Smartline Vasia Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smartline Vasia Village Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing