We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello Village Resort
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel definitely needs renovation after 20 years. The bathrooms are not up to date any more, with small showers and plastic curtains. Aircondition is available for an additional charge of €8 per day... Windows do let in noise from outside (animation in and around hotel until midnight). The food is okay and buffet style, but food outside is much better. For dinner, one additional dish is prepared freshly, and this is usually good. The staff is giving its best to maintain a certain standard, but the overall condition of the hotel does not make it four star at all- not even in Greece.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiggerl089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

I went with two teenage boys and a younger son. The hotel itself was run well and the staff friendly and English/German speaking. The hotel is situated right next to the sea but there are just rocks here and no beach. If you want a beach you need to walk about half a kilometre along the coast after turning right onto the small rough road at the back of the hotel. The facilities were good and the entertainments staff worked hard (although the children's programme was aimed at pre-teens and did not suit older children such as mine). The food was adequate and of good qualitity although after a few days menus started to repeat themselves. Avoid the BBQ as you have to pay extra for this and for a family it would mean paying an additional Euro 50 or more (you still have your normal evening meal paid for anyway, why pay extra?). I noticed that after the BBQ there was an enormous mountain of food still available - what a waste (poor planning?) Paying for drinks as part of your meal is the way the hotel business makes money, they are expensive! e.g. I ordered a third bottle of wine with a meal and it cost Euro 8.50, the same wine over the road in the small supermarket cost Euro 1.99 and that was for a litre!! You can buy English newspapers at the supermarket too.
Watch out for the hidden charges of air conditioning. We went in August when temperatures were in the upper 30's C. You cannot sleep without this at night. AirCon is fitted in the bedrooms but to use it you have to pay an additional Euro 4 per machine per day (a day is any time period in 24 hours so don't pay for AirCon for your last day as you won't need it).
A couple of gripes with our appartment which was near the pool bar - the shower was so small you could hardly turn around in it and the extractor fan did not work so you were just as sweatly after the shower as before you went in! (I used the pool shower/ or gym showers). The wardrobe cupboard in my room had some extra blankets in there that were very damp and the cupboard obviously had a water leak in it somewhere.
Nothing to do for teens in this village except shop - lots of knock off designer goods to buy to sell to their friends for a profit when they get home!
Tip - Hire a car (not too expensive) and drive up to the plateau in the mountains nearby, wonderful views/ Zeus' birthcave etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmayell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Just returned from a fantastic week staying at Castello Village, the staff were brilliant with the children (7 and 3) They loved the mini club, especially the mini disco which is on every night. The pools were lovely although the childrens pool was a bit small. The food was lovely plenty of choice for everyone and would highly recommend the "special bbq evenings" held on a Thursday, worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LakeDistrictShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Sited just on the edge of the village it's a good looking hotel built down a steep slope to the sea. Opposite the main buildings is the very new additional accommodation. It has 2 good pools one of which includes a paddling area for kids; Tv room and internet; a pool side taverna with tasty light meals and 2 pool side bars. We were self catering so can't comment on the dining room but can say that the self catering facilities were woefully inadequate. The accommodation varies in that some rooms possibly suites have huge balconies, are bright and airy with good views over the sea, others are dark inside and out (built under the pool), others have no view but are close to plants and ours was large and airy but shabby to the point where it felt dirty - bits of tile missing, mucky walls, holes not filed or filed and not painted, base of cistern leaked, broken extractor fan - none of these things were new. Get the right room and it would be a fantastic place get the wrong one and it would be miserable. Changing rooms is posssible but we weren't shown anything better and they hoped that we didn't think it was a 4 **** hotel. The staff were lovely and very helpful so it's a shame the hotel lets itself down. We won't return because of the accommodation lottery but that's not to say you shouldn't go there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theadventurersays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We staid in the Castello Village last week and I have to say that the location is wonderful, best location in Sisi with a great sea view.
At the beggining, we received a room in the new building but we requested to be moved to the old building since it is more cozy and Cretan (the new biulding looks like another million hotels in the world) .
The service was excellent and the food at the hotel was good.
We couldn't expect more for the price we paid EUR51 per night HB

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The location is indeed beautifull, a small village, so quiet and cute.
The staff was excellent, the entertainment team was very good, the assistant manager was very nice, we praised him much.
But! The rooms did not deserve the stars! They were rather mean, smell unpleasantly, and, what was more, they have bugs, big brown cockroaces, coming out of the bathrooms, running on the floors and scaring the children. We change once the room, becuase of the bugs, but we found them again in the new location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danapoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We were shown the worst room in the Hotel and then given the hard sell. You see they have built a new Castello Village Hotel across the road but it is not finished yet. For another 210 euro we could stay in the new accomodation but had to sign a disclaimer,
(because there are still bare wires hanging down) We decided to pay. The old Castello Village is not a 4 star Hotel, 3 star, at worst 2 star. The new Castello Village will be a 5 star when complete, it is luxury, we even had our own private swimming pool. We have no complaints about this (yet to be finished) building. It does have one small problem if you like the quiet. A church has been built opposite most of the balcony facing rooms, (a road width away) now on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday the church bells start ringing at 07:00 then 08:00. On Saturday and Sunday a service starts at about 08:00 and is broadcast for 1 hour 15 minutes over loud speakers booming into your room. I respect a countries religion, I just wish they would respect my privacy. One special mention for the Assistant Manager/Restaurant Manager in this Hotel, he was brilliant a real professional.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whisperingbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
0.3 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#6 of 18 in Sissi
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
#10 of 18 in Sissi
859 reviews
12.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
687 reviews
13 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Village Resort

Address: Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sissi
Price Range: £39 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque seaside village of Sissi, Castello Village is a bungalow-apartment complex, built around a series of pools and bars. The buildings are laid out like a village, with each studio and apartment self-contained for privacy and comfort. Constructed in a traditional Cretan style, the resort has colourful buildings, abundant gardens, sundrenched terraces, panoramic sea views, and an imposing mountain backdrop.The resort is famous for its friendly, attentive staff, who are always on hand to meet guests' needs and make sure they enjoy their stay. It is a family hotel, where your children can enjoy every minute of their holidays, in a safe environment, attended by qualified staff.With delicious food, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, and a day-and-night programme of activities and entertainment, Castello Village is the perfect destination for a relaxing family vacation or a romantic holiday.Yet the resort is only a few steps away from the centre of the lively village of Sissi, with its numerous bars, coffee shops, tavernas, restaurants, souvenir shops, and boutiques.With personal service from a modern management team and fully trained staff, guests can be assured of the highest standards of comfort, relaxation, and enjoyment at this popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castello Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Village Sissi
Castello Village Resort Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing