We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but stay could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location but stay could have been better”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here the first week of June. The hotel itself is in a great location, near the sea, in a wonderful village with lots of restaurants and bars not more than five minutes away. We booked a room with what was a side view sea view and ended up in a very large family room overlooking the pool with sea views beyond. It was a very pleasant room, very basic but what you would expect in Greece, with a balcony which was plenty large enough to sit out on. The down side of this hotel was firstly the Wi-Fi, which is not at all good. The only place you can get it is in the Reception area and on most nights it was not functioning and they were waiting for someone to come and re-boot the system. The second down side was the Restaurant. It opens in the evening from 7 - 9pm. It is a bun fight at 7 pm, so we decided after the first night that we would go for a meal later after the bun fight at about 8.15. There is plentiful food but sometimes the popular dishes will run out and be replaced by quick freezer food and the pudding will inevitably turn into some sort of variation of chocolate mousse! It is the price you have to pay if you want a quieter meal, especially sitting out on the lovely terrace watching the sunset. The staff are very friendly. If you go, say hell to Athena who waitresses on the terrace. She is a lovely girl and speaks very good English.

Room Tip: We ordered a superior room which was probably larger than some. It was simply furnished but very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonaR778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    158
    53
    20
    5
See reviews for
94
288
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 12 nights in July and had a great time at Maritimo.

The location was great, the food was great and the view from our sea view balconies was the best I've seen in any hotel - we couldn't have been more than 20yds from the sea.

All the staff are pleasant & helpful and they helped make our stay - especially Antonia who also runs the kids club.

We'll definately stay at Maritimo next time we're in Crete.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dugrantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Attractive hotel and nice surroundings. .....looking shabby in areas...money needs to be spent on it. Food is intolerable....no effort put in to satisfy customers. ....night life very poor in hotel.....cater more for EU customers than GB....sissi itself is a lovely quiet fishing village. A good irish bar, mine host very friendly. You Def need a car to get around..pebbly beaches. Would go back but different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wperkins59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed heard 20th June 14 foe 14 nights when we was shown to our room we where so disappointed with the std of the room it reminded me of a run down two star, the beds where old the tv was old there wasn't adequate space to put you're clothes away we had to use the suite case stands? The first night we had to tie the shower head to the bracket on the wall with a shoe lace, our air conditioning broke down it was blowing heat out and they couldn't do anything for us till the day after they suggested leaving the veranda door open and searched for a fan for us the fan Han no feet and had to be wedged between the dressing table and the wall, our room had 19 patches on the wall where other appliances Or wiring had been over the many years, the food was cold and very sub standard , I am diabetic and in the morning I just stuck to the boiled eggs but no egg cups you just had to smash it on the table I ask for some diabetic jam after all this is a four star I was sent to reception where they wrote it down on a note what I needed and I had to go and buy my own, I can he a lot of you say that old cleashay it Greece ! But they know how to charge 2014 prices believe me , we also found no body in the resort and not even petrol stations will take credit card even the restaurants take cash only and believe me we used them a lot I think Thomas cook and others should advise this in there brochure and on line also the hotel has no entertainment apart from a man on Sunday on an organ

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby120357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here in June this year on bed and breakfast. Situated just a few minutes outside the main town of Sissi. Very quiet and peaceful location overlooking the sea and a small beach.
Our superior room was spacious and very clean as was the rest of the hotel. The hotel grounds are very pretty with lots of exotic plants and trees.
The breakfast choice was excellent, with gluten free options for my daughter. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel to coulples and families who don't want the hussle and bussle of a busy resort.

Room Tip: room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here in May for 10 nights. We had a lovely room by the small pool. The room was quiet, very clean and cheerful. The breakfast and evening meals were plentiful and very tasty, also a plus was that they had Greek food as well as the normal expected buffet. Lovely views of the bay from the restaurants outside seating but please expect to be thrown around by the Germans and Russians if you wish to sit here. We tried it 1 night then gave up, this is obviously not the hotels fault! The staff are really efficient and friendly and we would recommend a relaxing stay here.

Room Tip: The none superior rooms seemed to have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is fabulous, perfect location on the beach front, however the room we booked was a family room, the room we got was a twin room with a single bed added for my son, literally no room to swing a cat. Did ask reception to change the room advised they would do this.. but never materialised

The hotel grounds itself were nice, area was nice, but quite literally nothing to do, we were on countdown to go home from day one.

Been to Greece many many times but have to say this will be the last time, the locals are so downtrodden they just walk past and grunt at you, in previous years nothing has ever been too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesscinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sissi hotels
0.3 mi away
Castello Village Resort
0.4 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
13.3 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Meli Palace
Grecotel Meli Palace
#5 of 17 in Sissi
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sissi Mare
Sissi Mare
#10 of 17 in Sissi
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritimo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritimo Beach Hotel

Property: Maritimo Beach Hotel
Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritimo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritimo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritimo Beach Hotel Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing