We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned - Aug 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We just returned from a week in the hotel - I guess it depends what you're looking for.
It's not a 5 stars hotel standard (not even in Greece standards).
The food isn't good and the variance is small.
There are 7 pools but they are small and part of them are neglected - no slides for the kids.
We received a 4 persons room although we booked a 5 persons room, the alternative room suggested to us was poor so we stayed in the smaller room - it seem to be a systematic problem as I saw few more guests that didn't get the room they booked.

Bottom line - I will not return to this hotel and will not recommend non of my friend to go there.

Room Tip: I would suggest to take a room with a pool, if you decided to go to this hotel despite of all, at le...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Room2272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We always encourage guests to share their experience with us, whether good or bad.

We are a customer centric hotel & our target is to offer the best possible service & holiday experience to all of our guests!

But despite our efforts we know that we cannot please all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,874)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed at the vasia hotel on the 1st of August with my husband and two children for two weeks. We had a two bedroom suite that had a lounge area, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and three balconies. Room 409. We loved the hotel, the room and the location. The whole place was spotless at all times and our maid was amazing, in fact all the staff were amazing, they worked so hard, were really pleasant and are a credit to the hotel. The food was very good and varied but I must admit after about 10 days we were getting a bit bored of it. Luckily we got to eat at the Italian and the Greek a la carte restaurants which made a nice change. Pools were lovely, you did have to get up fairly early to get a bed. Drinks were just ok, and the evening entertainment was about the same. Sissi harbour is only a 5 minute stroll and is stunning. Ormos is a great bar and does really good pancakes. I also recommend Remezzo restaurant. Although the service is a bit slow the food is excellent. Two other good bars were stefano's and Anixi bar down on the sea front, great for watching the sun go down. We went to Boufos beach but I'm afraid I didn't really enjoy it. the beach itself is nice but the sea is quite rough and really stony and rocky. We preferred to swim in sissi harbour it was much calmer. All in all we had a great relaxing holiday and I would 100% stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 409. Great location for pool and restaurant. lovely two bedroom suite with lounge area, two bed...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank clairebrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your nice comments!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived in the main building but our appartment was located about 50m further. The staff brought us with a golfbuggy. The area where our appartment was locaded was smaller and less busy, which we really enjoyed. The food from breakfast till dinner was very good and little snacks were served during the day. There are many restaurants to choose but you need to make a reservation.

Room Tip: The main building is very busy in summer with amusement, music and lots of families with children.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GhislaineCordier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your comments!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We've stayed at Vasia Hotel for 5 nights - 2 families with young children 3-10. Kids enjoyed it very much mostly at the swimming pools. Standard rooms are clean and quite comfortable with air-conditioning, food is quite good during all meals being served.Staff are very kind and hospitality is great, were willing to help for any matter. However, hotel is far from beach, if you want to get to the nearest beach you need to register the day before at the reception, and the driver takes you to the nearest small beach which isn't nice at all - full of rocks and stones, instead of driving another 2 minutes to a biggest normal beach nearby. The beautiful village of Sissi is 5-10 minutes walk with great restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor on the north side.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank YaronLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your comments.
Please note that there are 2 beaches very close to the hotel available:
the little sandy beach beach - 1' on foot from main reception & bufos pebbled beach, 900m away from the hotel (complimentary transfer 3 times daily available).

A great selection of close by sandy & pebbled beaches are also available to guests (5-10' away by car).

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited in August with 2 children age 10 and 9. We arrived at almost midnight to be greeted by welcoming staff and a cold drink. Our luggage was taken from us whilst we were taken to the restaurant for a hot meal before settling into our room. The hotel was beautifully clean throughout. The staff were all polite and hard working. Particular mention has to go to the lady who cleaned our room every day we were there without a day off - always smiling and friendly and our room was always spotless. The food we found to be well varied with something for everyone. The location of the hotel is lovely - on the seafront and only 5 minutes walk to the pretty village of Sissi with a selection of shops, bars and restaurants and its pretty harbour. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very spacious with a lounge area, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 3 b...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Daffodil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

A big thank you for your review from all of us!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Us
We are a family of four with two daughters now 15 and 18. We stayed at the Vasia Hotel and Spa for one week from the 12th August 2014. We booked our holiday through our local Thompson Cook.

Flight / Transfers
Our flights and transfers were certainly not the best and made for very long days at both ends of the holiday. Our flight out was at 6 pm and this got us to the hotel at around 1 am and was down to the coach driver to make sure you got to the right resort not the Thomas Cook rep. The flight home was equally bad leaving Crete at 1 am, which made a pick up from the hotel at 10 pm, again it was the driver who was responsible for you being on the right coach. The transfer time was around 40-45 minutes which was not too bad but during the dark hours you did not get to see much or get a feel of where you were. The airport at Crete (home bound) is very hard work and a very unpleasant end to a holiday and a major challenge on its own. You need to queue up at separate queues three times in an over packed, very confusing and hot lounge at the end of a long day with everyone there wanting to get through as quickly as possible with your family and trying to move your luggage around. The Thomas Cook reps do help (slightly) outside the terminal by telling you which are your first check in desk numbers, then sends you in leaving you to it while waiting outside smiling. The checking in staff are very strict on weight of your luggage, slightly over then you have to add another queue to your list to pay for the overweight and then fight back to the front of the check-in. It was the most unpleasant experience I have ever had at an airport.

I do feel the Thomas Cook rep's let us down, or rather the cost cutting at the company. When we book a holiday we like the holiday company to take the worry and stress about getting to and from airport and hotel. Not the case here, on arrival there was no personal touch of your name but how many of you. Once on the coach, a count was made again with no names taken and it was down to the coach driver to tell us which resort we had arrived at. This was repeated on the return to the airport and made for a very disappointing support and personal touch from Thomas Cook. It raised the question, why do we need to book through Thomas Cook if they are not there to help. At the resort the rep Ryan was ok knowledgeable, friendly and chatty, but poor at time keeping or pre-organisation. He gave the usual batch of information overload and leaflets, booklets, photocopied sheets and maps. I understand there is a need for cut backs but not at our expense, felt very let down.

Rooms
The layout of the site is compact with a lot of pools and other buildings with several apartment blocks, but each apartment block is different in layout and size having different views. There are apartments with their own pools which look very nice and can keep a family to themselves. From what we saw rooms are modern, tidy and well laid out.

Our room was 609 and what was called a Junior Suite, it was on the second floor of a central accommodation block. We had a balcony facing the sea and was overall good. The room was large enough for 4 adults and suitcases and not getting in each other's way, and separated in two by sliding doors. The main bed was unusually soft, they had added an extra mattress to soften the main mattress - a luxury. The smaller beds for our daughters where best described as couches made into beds and were solid and small. Made for unpleasant nights for our girls and several complaints. Bathroom again a luxury and large size, two showers one walk in and one over the bath then the usual sink and loo. Air conditioning was sufficient for both rooms, and it was mentioned in a review operated by a PIR sensor (needed movement to activate) and this caused problems. This was an issue for us on the first night having to regularly move about when it got hot. However if you let the people at reception know they will have the PIR fixed to on. One major disappointment was the size of the safe (cost €30 for week and key operated), you could only just fit passports, wallets and a small camera in before it was full. There was no space for a tablet or digital camera which I am use to so these had to stay with me all the holiday which made it difficult. We had a mini bar in the room which was initially filled as part of the holiday cost, however any further refills had to be requested and paid for. which I my opinion goes against all inclusive. Could do with more plugs considering the amount of technology which people now take on holiday and rely on. I now take two extension leads and then use two adaptors to give me loads of UK plugs for chargers etc. I Loved the slippers !

Resort
A lot going on in one place. Generally the site is well maintained and kept clean but below our apartment balcony was some general rubbish which was there all our holiday, the staff are continually cleaning and can be seen regularly moving around site. Considering the amount of people on site it never felt crowded and we always managed to find sun beds when we needed them around the pools. If you did want one particular position it was useful to put your towel out but not at the crack of dawn. The hotel does have a policy of removing towels being left on sun beds that are not used but it was never seem to be enforced during the day, however one family resorted to leaving towels out the night before to make sure they got the sun beds outside their apartment and were at reception the following morning finding out where their towels were, which had been removed.

I would agree with other reviews about the plastic cups given with drinks. The cups are very thin and do split easily. The size of them again is very much on the small size and does involve getting several drinks at once to feel you have had a drink or continually going back for another. The all inclusive times are not the best either. Many times we were out beyond the cut off time and went without. I fully agree having plastic cups at the pools etc, but the size and quality should be reviewed.

We also found the cats that strayed onto site an issue. Not in any way a nuisance but where they relieved themselves. We twice saw cats relieving themselves, both peeing and pooing on the grass around the pool near the reception. Now considering young children are playing there and people sunbathing it could become unpleasant.

The many pools we felt were never crowded and it was a relaxing atmosphere. A couple of things to watch though just for peace of mind is the tiles when went are slippery and the drains on the walkways do not always drain away (we got two soaked bags) !! Loungers can be a point of contention when left with towels on and unused, but we always found free ones.

The reception staff and all the staff on site were very polite, friendly and pleasant. Whenever you asked something they wanted to help you. The reception staff on arrival were polite and efficient at booking all of the families in. Every time we visited the reception we found the staff friendly and willing to help and were always polite or firm where needed. Cannot fault them at all.

The location of the site is 25.5 miles east of Heraklion airport, for those Google Earth fans reception is at 35°18'24.32"N 25°30'58.64"E . The site does go to the coast but is very rocky, good for romantic walks and after dinner walks. Ten minutes walk gets you into Sissi town which is so laid back and friendly, we spent several evenings here just chilling out. There are many places there to have a drink and eat out and is a great place to walk around and buy those little gifts, maybe slightly on the pricey side but worth it I think. There are bars and restaurants on the coast and you can have a meal and drink watching the boats and sunset. There is a hotel shuttle to a local beach, this you need to arrange and book with reception. There are two set times for transfer to and from the beach and is on a small taxi van. We did not use it but it did look cramped. You can walk to the beach which takes around thirty minutes and is a nice walk along the coast.

The WiFi connection is poor. Considering the amount we now rely upon technology and communication for all ages via the internet, the service of the WiFi signal and connection was very poor. You were able to receive the signal across to our room but the connection and transfer rate was slow if you were able to connect in the first place. The reception gives the best signal and connection rate but it can be up to half an hour before getting that connection which is not guaranteed to remain connected. It was disappointing considering the modern technological age we are now in.

Spa
We did not use but from the price list it did look expensive and was not part of the all inclusive which could be taken as slightly misleading.

Tourist Train Ride
There is a small train ride that starts from outside the Supermarket opposite the hotel and does an evening one hour trip around the local Sisi area. It also does half day trips. The evening hour trip we did was very nice and we saw many things we would have missed. The price was reasonable for adults €8 but I was very disappointed with an adult starting at the age of 12 !! I see Dick Turpin is around again.

Restaurant
The main restaurant was great. The size more than accommodated the guests with seating inside and out by the pool. There was no waiting to get into the restaurant and you were able to find your own preferred table. Drinks were ordered and brought to the table by friendly staff. At busy times it did feel crowded and avoiding people and the younger ones became an issue. There was a massive choice of good quality food and it differed each day we were there. Some food was new to us and we tried many new things, some good some bad but overall it was a great experience. During each week everyone has the option to book one meal at either the Italian or Greek restaurant. We chose the Italian as my wife is Italian and wanted to sample the food. The food in my opinion is not suited for filling you up with great taste but more aimed at a taste of some Italian foods. The menu was limited but fair. I personally did not enjoy the meal (I had the Italian burger which came out under cooked for my taste) but my wife and daughters thoroughly enjoyed theirs and could not stop saying how nice it was and down by the sea.

My only slight complaint at the main restaurant, but is a nice touch, is when you want eggs for breakfast or certain foods for an evening meal they will cook your food in front of you. This is a nice touch in that you get fresh food to your exact taste, but it does present queue in the busier times which can grate.

Good, clean, tidy, tables cleaned quickly, food good and large choice, ability to eat inside or out was nice, just mind the steps if eating outside. Juice drinks make sure you find difference between squash and juice very small glasses. Breakfast and getting anything with eggs can be a long wait as each person has their food cooked in front of you, so if lots of people it is a long wait. I gave up several times. It did not feel over crowded at any time, yes there were a lot of people but no continual avoiding people carrying food and plates or small kids. Italian restaurant, my wife and daughters liked it, me however did not. So it's all on personal taste. Good food for some, reasonable quality, good service.

Entertainment
Very lacking very poor. We only saw the music movie quiz and Mamma Mia show. As other reviews mentioned this is a bit of a let down and a good reason for the team to have a few drinks. My wife and daughters do enjoy a show in the evening so this was a big disappointment for them.

Hints
Take one or two extension leads to help with charging of your technology.

Summary
Thomas Cook - They have lost that personal touch and caring. Came across as interested in the money only. Not impressed
Resort - Fantastic, great holiday but had but a few very minor niggles, which could have improved the experience.
Staff - Fantastic.

Good
Soft double bed, friendly and willing staff, food, clean, location

Negatives
Safe size, children's beds, Thomas Cook, plastic cups, all inclusive not 100% all inclusive, WiFi, cats, flight times

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We are an aircrew, traveling around the world frequently.
We want to share with you our last experience last weekend in Crete, Greece.
We booked through hotels.com website, 2 deluxe suits with sea view at the Vasia Beach and Spa hotel, which claims to be a 5-star hotel. We were 2 couples. We arrived at the hotel on the day of planned arrival, at 17:00, just to find out that there were no rooms, as we booked, waiting for us. They did know we were coming, but they said they don't have the rooms!
They offered us to share(!!) a two-floor apartment for the first night and to get the second room on the day after, but we refused, as each couple wanted its privacy and we didn't pay over $500 per room per night in order to share it.
After 30 minutes of trials, we were offered that one couple will get the apartment they offered us in the first place, while the second couple "will be upgraded to the executive suite, with a sea view and a private pool". To this we agreed, but when we came to our rooms, both couples, we found out that this wasn't a 5-star hotel, and due to our world-wide experience- not even a 4-star, and many amenities promised in the web site were not there. here is why:

Both rooms didn't have a sea view- not even the "executive suite". Instead, we had a view of the adjacent building!
The furniture in the rooms is back dated to the 1920's - not only by look, but by odor, smell and cleanliness!
No wifi connection in the rooms- the signal is so low, that it is impossible to use. As if we are in the late 90's of the 20th century.
The TV is a 17" LCD monitor, like in a desk-top computer.
The safe deposit box is locked by a key, and not digitally. A key was not offered during our check-in process, so you had to go back to the reception for it.
No blankets on the beds or in the closet - the bed cover is to be used as a blanket.
No bathroom amenities like liquid shampoo, body lotion but a single liquid soap dispenser in the shower, for all uses.
In the "executive suite", the shower water heater was located within the shower cell itself, thus making the shower very small.
The shower head in the "regular" suite was the cheapest, made-in-China, you can find.
All the floors in the hotel, both in the public areas and in the rooms is bare, without any carpet
The towels were small and of low quality.
There were rust and corrosion in different spots in the apartment.
It turned out that this is an "all inclusive' families resort, which does not fit, in any way, couples or business travelers. It was full with families, children so if you're looking into a quiet resort- this is not your place.

To summarize- nothing which was promised was delivered. we were so angry with the attitude and the fact that the photos on the internet didn't resemble, in any way, the reality, that we checked out after 1 hour, and booked 2 rooms in another hotel, the Royal Heights Resort in Malia, which really was a 5-star resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank Glex5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
20.3 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,108 reviews
41.7 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
23.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#78 of 172 in Hersonissos
824 reviews
12.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa

Address: Lasithiou, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sissi
#3 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
#4 Family Hotel in Sissi
Price Range: £72 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, a family-friendly hotel situated above a rocky cove in the picturesque fishing village of Sissi. Here you stay in comfortable rooms with breath-taking views over the Cretan Sea and Lassithi Mountains or the pool and garden. The hotel boasts a total of 7 freshwater pools, including a kids' pool, as well as a large spa centre with Mini Spa treatments (8-12 yrs) & Teen Spa treatments (13-15yrs).There are four restaurants and six bars at the hotel, and for those who want to dance the night away, the hotel has a nightclub. Those looking for an active holiday can join in one of many sporting activities arranged by the hotel's animation team or work out in the hotel's well-equipped gym (min age requirement 16 yrs, sports outfit required). For the younger guests, the hotel offers a kids' club and a playground. Whether you are looking for an active or relaxing holiday, SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa is a perfect getaway for all holiday-makers. SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa houses a total of 300 elegant and comfortably fitted rooms with hand-made furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Vasia Beach Sissi
Vasia Beach Hotel Crete
Vasia Beach Spa
Vasia Hotel
Vasia Beach Crete
Hotel Aquis Vasia Beach
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing