We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for families with young children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Roeselare, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for families with young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I found that our stay at the hotel was ideal for our family.

The pools weren't all extremely deep that made our youngest child age 4 feel safe in the pool because there was room to swim around and was also still able to touch the bottom. Closeby our oldest age 7 could swim in deeper water and have fun.

The beach right at the hotel wasn't missed, we went to the beach nearby and we took the shuttle boufos beach (swim shoes recommended). We also walked to the marina and went snorkeling. There was a road along the sea where we strolled along after dinner, we didn't have our feet in the sand but it was peaceful and it felt like you were right on the beach.

Both my partner and I had trouble sleeping on the bed, we both found the bed really uncomfortable and we each needed two pillows. I would recommend to take your own if you're fussy. I know I will on our next holiday.

The complaints about the wifi are true but we don't go on holiday to be a slave to the internet...

All in all, I found the hotel was good value for money.
We got a room with a nice view of the mountains on one side and the sea on the other at no extra charge!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, a room with a view of the mountains and of the sea. Away from the noisy night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
All your positive comments are so rewarding for us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    590
    233
    88
    43
See reviews for
659
693
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our family stayed AI from 15th to 26th Aug (11 nights) via LGW with Thomas Cooks.2 Children aged 12 and 15 yrs.

We have a huge respect for Tripadvisor and it was the comments posted that led us to making the booking in the first place and we are determined to be as forthright and fair as we possibly can be.

Arrival
Very late on the Friday evening around 11.00 pm greeted by a very welcoming reception team with a cool drink. very smooth check in and a hot meal in the main restaurant whilst suit cases were loaded in to a golf buggy for transit to our room. Taken by buggy to our room which was 1716 staff excellent. We asked for a quiet apartment with a sea view and that's what we got.

Looking good

A little bit disappointed with our room but not a huge issue. We had a 2 room apartment on the ground floor with our children separated by a sliding door . For my 12 yr old daughter a couch/bed was fine but for my almost 16yr old son it was not quite adequate bearing in mind we paid for him as an adult.

The biggest problem in our apartment was the lack of cupboard space for our suitcases and that was disappointing.

Moving on:

The Good points

Overall the main restaurant food was good with a very varied selection for breakfast, lunch and evening meal.

The clientele was very mixed as a rough guide 40% British, 40% Dutch and around 20% French Scandanavian, German, Russian .Much, much better than entirely British which in the past have been frankly embarrassing. All nationalities getting on very well together.

Excellent location for the village of Sissi itself and a very picturesque harbour, Simply beautiful and so typically Greek. Wouldtical be hard to beat by any standards.

The AI package gives access to the Italian Restaurant (1 visit per week booked).This is a wonderful location and the food is excellent. Please book early on arrival and don't miss out you won't be disappointed.

The down side (maybe over critical I'll let the reader decide)

Holidays are basically going to be about value for money. Standards and what is accepted as part of AI packages will always vary resort to resort and country to country but the reader of this review really need to know the following points.

Wi-Fi
Available in the lobby bar and approx. a 25 metre radius there of is free. Very slow due to the shear number of devices being used. Should you wish to have Wi-Fi in your apartment its a whopping 50 Euro per week.

Room Deposit Box
43 euros for 11 days (exhorbitant). Old fashioned mortice lock and key and too small to hold most ipads etc
Not only that fixed at a right angle to wardrobe front and you'll need to get on your hands and knees-good luck!

Lobby Bar
Totally insufficient seating and you'll be lucky to find a table.

Poolside bar (Tropical Bar)
Basically an overflow from the upstairs Lobby Bar. Almost pitch black so difficult to play even a game of cards.I suggested in my leavers survey that the hotel should at east have candles/tea lights on the tables.

Eating Outside

Insufficient tables laid out for 4 people.99% Laid out for couples only. Lets face it we all want to dine out on holiday we all spend most of the year indoors!

Drinks Service (Evenings)
Whether lucky enough to get a seat in the Lobby bar or poolside by the Tropical Bar why on earth can't the staff who readily remove empty glasses simply ask if they can fetch you another drink rather than repeatedly having to queue again and again for drinks.

AI Food Alert
Unlike most AI establishments there is no snacks on offer until 4PM when a few bits of fruit and cheese and ham rolls are put out by the Pool bar. Don't expect a ready supply of burgers or hot dogs like most AI hotels.

Departure Day

Make sure you put your name down with reception 48 hrs prior departure should you wish to max the last day with a late checkout.

Rooms are vacated at midday and similarly AI finishes at that time

Our departure was 6pm the cost for room extension is 30 euro to 4PM and 60 euro to 6pm
Similarly extension of AI to the time of departure is 10 euro per adult.
In fairness to Vasia when I booked 6pm checkout from our room they waived the extra 20 euro AI supplement.

Beware
A previous reviewer(back in July ) mentioned the cat situation. It was said then that the feral cats were" toileting" around the pool areas .I can go one better than that .On the one single night we found an outside table to eat it transpired via dampness and the smell that one of the cats left its "scent" or urine on and inside my wifes hand bag. We had a laugh but obviously had to replace the bag and most of the contents. Greece 1 England 0!

Overall
We had a good holiday it was reasonable value for money. Vasia could do a bit more to make it even better. It really would' nt cost that much either.

Currently lagging behind the AI packages you would expect in either Rhodes, Cyprus, Turkey and Egypt.

I guess you get what you pay for.




9in fairness









9

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this kind review, which is much appreciated.

The hotel is always very clear regarding its policies and procedures, e.g. check-in & check-out times, AI program, etc.(all details can be found in our website). There are extra services and facilities on offer (safe boxes, Wi-Fi, room-service, etc.) , - not included in the HB or AI programs & certainly not advertised as included - that are available to those guests that wish to use them.

The hotel offers a variety of different room types & facilities, in order to satisfy guests personal preferences & needs. We usually suggest to families with 'older children' - like yours - to go for a more spacious accommodation and choose for example a '2 Bedroom Suite' , etc.

We are offering a ’value for money’ holiday package, with a variety of facilities, good services and a quality food & beverage program. At the same time, there are extra services and facilities on offer (e.g. specific drinks, spa treatments, gourmet menus, etc.) , that are available to those guests that wish to use them.

We are not selling a high priced holiday package difficult to afford.

Finally, I would like to thank you once more for your review.

Hope to welcome you back to Crete & Vasia Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We just returned from a week in the hotel - I guess it depends what you're looking for.
It's not a 5 stars hotel standard (not even in Greece standards).
The food isn't good and the variance is small.
There are 7 pools but they are small and part of them are neglected - no slides for the kids.
We received a 4 persons room although we booked a 5 persons room, the alternative room suggested to us was poor so we stayed in the smaller room - it seem to be a systematic problem as I saw few more guests that didn't get the room they booked.

Bottom line - I will not return to this hotel and will not recommend non of my friend to go there.

Room Tip: I would suggest to take a room with a pool, if you decided to go to this hotel despite of all, at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Room2272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We always encourage guests to share their experience with us, whether good or bad.

We are a customer centric hotel & our target is to offer the best possible service & holiday experience to all of our guests!

But despite our efforts we know that we cannot please all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed at the vasia hotel on the 1st of August with my husband and two children for two weeks. We had a two bedroom suite that had a lounge area, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and three balconies. Room 409. We loved the hotel, the room and the location. The whole place was spotless at all times and our maid was amazing, in fact all the staff were amazing, they worked so hard, were really pleasant and are a credit to the hotel. The food was very good and varied but I must admit after about 10 days we were getting a bit bored of it. Luckily we got to eat at the Italian and the Greek a la carte restaurants which made a nice change. Pools were lovely, you did have to get up fairly early to get a bed. Drinks were just ok, and the evening entertainment was about the same. Sissi harbour is only a 5 minute stroll and is stunning. Ormos is a great bar and does really good pancakes. I also recommend Remezzo restaurant. Although the service is a bit slow the food is excellent. Two other good bars were stefano's and Anixi bar down on the sea front, great for watching the sun go down. We went to Boufos beach but I'm afraid I didn't really enjoy it. the beach itself is nice but the sea is quite rough and really stony and rocky. We preferred to swim in sissi harbour it was much calmer. All in all we had a great relaxing holiday and I would 100% stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 409. Great location for pool and restaurant. lovely two bedroom suite with lounge area, two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairebrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your nice comments!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Crete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived in the main building but our appartment was located about 50m further. The staff brought us with a golfbuggy. The area where our appartment was locaded was smaller and less busy, which we really enjoyed. The food from breakfast till dinner was very good and little snacks were served during the day. There are many restaurants to choose but you need to make a reservation.

Room Tip: The main building is very busy in summer with amusement, music and lots of families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GhislaineCordier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your comments!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We've stayed at Vasia Hotel for 5 nights - 2 families with young children 3-10. Kids enjoyed it very much mostly at the swimming pools. Standard rooms are clean and quite comfortable with air-conditioning, food is quite good during all meals being served.Staff are very kind and hospitality is great, were willing to help for any matter. However, hotel is far from beach, if you want to get to the nearest beach you need to register the day before at the reception, and the driver takes you to the nearest small beach which isn't nice at all - full of rocks and stones, instead of driving another 2 minutes to a biggest normal beach nearby. The beautiful village of Sissi is 5-10 minutes walk with great restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YaronLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your comments.
Please note that there are 2 beaches very close to the hotel available:
the little sandy beach beach - 1' on foot from main reception & bufos pebbled beach, 900m away from the hotel (complimentary transfer 3 times daily available).

A great selection of close by sandy & pebbled beaches are also available to guests (5-10' away by car).

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Crete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited in August with 2 children age 10 and 9. We arrived at almost midnight to be greeted by welcoming staff and a cold drink. Our luggage was taken from us whilst we were taken to the restaurant for a hot meal before settling into our room. The hotel was beautifully clean throughout. The staff were all polite and hard working. Particular mention has to go to the lady who cleaned our room every day we were there without a day off - always smiling and friendly and our room was always spotless. The food we found to be well varied with something for everyone. The location of the hotel is lovely - on the seafront and only 5 minutes walk to the pretty village of Sissi with a selection of shops, bars and restaurants and its pretty harbour. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very spacious with a lounge area, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 3 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daffodil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
A big thank you for your review from all of us!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
23.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
40.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
26.9 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
#8 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa

Property: SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
Address: Lasithiou, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
#4 Family Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Vasia Beach Sissi
Vasia Beach Hotel Crete
Vasia Beach Spa
Vasia Hotel
Vasia Beach Crete
Hotel Aquis Vasia Beach
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing