We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful People”
Review of Hotel Zygos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Zygos
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful People”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Can't say enough good things about the people that own and run these apartments.
Carol and Gwynn are just lovely, happy to chat with you and help you with anything you might want to know about the area or any problems you might have like forgetting yr phone charger!
Ramona the owners daughter is charming and Yianni himself was quiet but nice.
The room was large and had everything we needed, the pool area was bright and very clean.
Sissi is a quieter resort than some but BBQ night and quiz night at the apartments were fun.
My husband and i were on honeymoon and our both in our early 30's and found the pace of things just right, relaxing and friendly.
I would very much recommend Zygos Apartments.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    36
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
28
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from Crete 2 days ago, stayed at the zygos apartments. Wasn't sure what to expect from reviews & 1st time in Greece. Good size room, ours was a double had plenty wardrobe & drawer space, also nice kitchen area had kettle which I was told is unusual for some apartments in Greece, the apartments were clean & bedding changed twice during the week we were there, rooms have air con, however you have to pay 7euros per day to have this on. The Zygos is run by Yiannis & his family who are very nice & Carol who runs the bar area shes great very welcoming & nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is on the roof great views & plenty of nice sunbeds, there is a quiz night & bbq once a week. The Zygos are in a good location there are two supermarkets on the door step, tavernas Pink Flamingo good for food & staff there are lovely, also place called Cielo a modern pub which has a greek night once a week, Manos & the staff are also great, the pub has a few screens showing sky sports football games, also a greek night every Sunday, the road from the apartments leads down to the harbour, passing various nice places on the way, The Coconut etc. The harbour is lovely lots of souvenir & craft shops also tavernas all along the edge of the harbour. There are local buses near the apartments to Malia, Stalis & other surrounding areas.
All in all I would say that the Zygos is good value for money, has many retuning customers we would certainly go back. S&J Newcastle

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sand Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I thought when arriving in sissi that for a 15 year old, it would be a pretty uneventful holiday, but after getting to know the area I know I'd enjoy the holiday! Carol was the lady who worked there and she was really nice and easy to talk to, and so was the owner yianni and his daughter ramona. The quiz nights they held were a good laugh and carol's husband gwyn was a pretty good quizmaster! During the 2nd week I met some mates who I still keep in touch with now! Matthew, luke, adam, kay and their mum and dad recommended a crazy golf course, which was a short walk from the harbour and really, really worth it!! The course was the most challenging course I've ever been on! It was so much fun and my mates really enjoyed it too. One day, I got 5 holes in ones, somehow, and my mate matthew got the lowest score of 45 and believe you me, it is hard to get anything below 50 on the course!!! The owner and her two sons were really nice and good fun and they served the best chocolate milkshake eeeeeevvvvvveeeeeerrrrrr!!!!! The whole holiday was really good; clean pool, comfy beds, only a short walk to the restaurants and for someone my age, really good fun! If I had only one criticism, then it would be noise from the resort next door, but other than that it was the best holiday I have ever had!

Review by lewis morgan from bristol!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewismorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a late deal and paid hardy anything for a week here in peak season and it was fab. Carol and Gwynn are lovely will do anything for up you and most days there were only my partner and I and one other family around the pool and we didnt get up until 11am. Pool is lovely and clean, BBQ night is great for 15 euros each and a good way to get to know everybody! Supermarket is just across the road and the town is a 10 minute walk away. Zygos is in a brilliant location and yes the apartments are very basic but that's what you expect in Greece and these lovely family run friendly apartments beat the hustle and bustle of an all inclusive any day. There is some noise from the all inclusive behind but this was finished by 11pm and we were never in by that time anyway. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs looked newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The accommodation is absolutely great value for money and the pool is a wonderful bonus for dipping into at the end of a hot day. However, the noise from the complex next door was a bit too much for us. We have a young daughter and stayed in room 7. Every day, the noise from next door would continue until at least 11 o'clock each night - and as we were right next door to it, we could feel the vibrations through the walls. Then, after that finished, there would be the noise from the house just outside which I presumed was accommodation for foreign travel reps who would party out on the street until the early hours. So, although I cannot fault the accommodation at all, I can say that perhaps room 7 is not ideal if you have young children because you will be in the room while the noise is ongoing.

Room Tip: Well, avoid room 7 if you have young children and will be there in the evenings up until around 2 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starfishdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Zygos appartments are basic as expected by the prising, But they were clean and comfortable. Everyone there was helpful and friendly. The little organised events...a BBQ and a quizz night created a lovely atmosphere. The roof top pool was the centre of things and much appreciated in the heat.
The people working there were attentive and full of ideas for days out etc...it was a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel

Helpful?
Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had read the reviews before we went and as a young couple of 24 you would of thought we wanted party zone but we wanted a lovely relaxing holiday which is what we got. This is one of the best holidays we have ever been on.

Where do i start....we stayed in room 11 which is next to the pool door. it was lovely, always clean and tidy (when the cleaner came in) and she even did our washing up for us. We didnt have our own balcony but there was table and chairs outside our door if we wanted to sit out there. We had a bath and shower the only downside was the drain overflowed when i had a bath so had to let water out very slowly. Didn't have the aircon just the windows and shutters open when we was in room and shutters closed when we wasn't. We cooked breakfast a few morning and made dinner twice although the oven/hob is not great we managed with it fine. We brought bits like washing up liquid and that when we got there and gave them to carol when we left. Did get bite by mosquitos but i expect it before i left (forgot the plug in)

The roof top pool was fantastic and got a brilliant tan. The pool was always clean carol likes to get in and clean it but thats all part of her job i guess lol. Yainni owns it and his daughter ramona helps out, carol does everything and gwen helps. they were all friendly and made us feel soooooo welcome and we had a brilliant time with them and the other guests that were there when we were. They have a bbq on a sunday night and at 15 euros a head it is well worth it. It was like a big family dinner on the roof top. We did the quiz on a thursday (although ours was done on the friday) quizmaster gwen was brilliant and we had a lovely night even tho we didn't win.

Sissi is a lovely place and the harbour is beautiful and only a short work. We went on a jeep safari at 75 euros each i thought it was quiet expensive but it was a lovely day with lovely views of the mountains and valley. Nice lunch and afterwards it was deff worth the money. There are many lovely places to eat and carol will happily tell you wheres good and how to get there.

The only downer was the hotel next door with bad music and good dam awful baby laughing tracks played whilst they are practising. But we didn't let this spoil our holiday.
Oh and the fact that you can only book through olympic as they messed our flights up big time.

Will deff be going back maybe not next year but deff the year after.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
0.1 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sissi Mare
Sissi Mare
#10 of 17 in Sissi
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castello Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
64.3 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#2 of 24 in Plakias
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Sissi
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zygos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zygos

Property: Hotel Zygos
Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sissi
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Zygos Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing