We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gem on outskirts of town”
Review of Esperides Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esperides Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Naousa
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Esperides is not only a beatiful hotel and spa but it is run by talented chef Dimitri and his family. Everyone was so hospitable and helpful. From where to go in town to what to eat.
The food was completly superb(need to go on diet when I return home.) Veiw from dining balcony truely amazing! Thank you Dimitri and Rena for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67convertable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Under the capable management of The Manthios Family, this is a JEWEL of a hotel nestled in the Naoussa's lovely countryside with a gorgeous view of mountains and a bounty fruit, vegetables, fresh meats and delicious, superb wines! Our stay was absolutely wonderful. These are the most wonderful people on God's beautiful earth. They welcomed us, surprised us with expertly-prepared cuisine, made us comfortable, helped us with everything we needed and made us feel like family. I shall return again and again. How I miss them all and this lovely home away from home. I can't WAIT to be there in September 2013 again. We had so much fun and enjoyed their children, too. This is a wonderful place to stay and the generous family who operate this lovely hotel will delight your every wish beyond expectation. --Dr. Jan Broberg Carter, Maine, USA!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room here! And they have fans for the roms if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janner2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at Esperides last spring for 3 nights. Judging from the comments at Booking com I expected a lot more, but the hotel is more on the basic side.
The room looked ok, but I think the bathroom hadn't been cleanes since the last visitors left. We found hair in the shower. The owner didn't seem upset, when we informed him. We had no view from the hotel room.
Breakfast was O.K. Just that. Not many things to choose from, you had to ask for coffee, and if you are rather shy, you are happy with the one cup of coffee they serve you. Plus, since there weren't many guests at the hotel, you always had the impression some was watching over your back.
Owner was trying to be polite. That's all I can say.
There was wifi in the rooms, that was the best part!
All and all, we loved Naoussa but I think that, if we ever returned, we would chose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Icon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I would include the Esperides in Naoussa among the hotels that have the largest and the most beautiful rooms. The outside of the hotel is ok but the inside has a homey and beautiful atmosphere that resembles to a mansion. Very nicely decorated and constantly renovated.

The hotel is a small family business but I consider this a pro. It reflects the personality of its owner who - by the way - is an excellent cook and a gourmet who has published a cookbook and who would cook for you if you preorder a meal but only in case you travel with a group of friends. Breakfast is is very good and maybe the sole hotel I can remember that offers such a variety of coffees and teas which you can enjoy form the veranda with views to the fields which produce reknown wines.

The only con I find is that its location is at the entrance of the town and you definitely need your own means of transportation or you may get stuck or spend time waiting for unreliable public transport. For those who can get around by their own means and want to avoid busy towns or cities this place is perfect. A large supermarket though is only 150m away.

Naoussa in general can be a good gateway to the cities around, e.g Veria, Edessa, Vergina as well as to the local ski resort in the winter.

PS I often visit with groups of friends and every time they ask me "where on earth did you discover such place"?

Room Tip: Pros: Large clean rooms and beautiful atmosphere. Cons: You'd rather need your own means to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theoprovlitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Great place to get away from it all... but consequently rather cut-off, even from Naoussa. We came in from Thessaloniki by train, which was about 1.5 hours journey. The hotel is situated just off the highway, between the Naoussa Railway Station (@ 4 km) and the town proper (@ 2 km). There was a bus from the railway station that dropped us right outside Esperides, and continued on to Naoussa.

The hotel staff was very kind and polite, and did quite a lot by way of trying to make arrangements for sightseeing for us. But it seemed that they expected us to know what to do, where to go and how to get there. Which would normally be fine, except that their website claims that they can make all the arrangements. We were depending on the fact that they would have some trips and tours for us to choose from, but we had to ask specifically for everything and they seemed to have some trouble organizing what we thought were rather basic needs (vineyard tour, car rental). Perhaps such arrangements are only common at certain time of year.

For us to get to town from the hotel, it was a 30 minute walk either along the highway (no pedestrian path or shoulder) or via steep, winding byroads (very pretty). The bus supposedly passes every half hour or so, but the only time we decided to try it, we waited for over an hour at the bus stop, with traffic roaring by us leaving us in clouds of dust. A taxi ride to town costs about 13 euros, if ordered to the hotel from Naoussa. But the return journey (catching the taxi in town) costs half that.

Opposite the highway from the hotel are vineyards, and mountains in the distance.... very pretty. Behind the hotel is a steep hill. The hotel has no restaurant, but offers a petite menu of a couple of salads/sandwiches (which they readily made for us, but insisted we eat in the dining room). There are 2 tavernas on the highway right by the hotel, but we never saw them open in the 3 days we were there. We hiked into town for our meals.

By the second day, we decided to rent a car to see the area. We had to take a taxi to Veria to find a car rental. The hotel apparently couldn't reach a car rental by phone. But they managed to arranged for us to visit to the reknowned Boutari wine estates, where we got a short tour for free. We had to get to the estate ourselves.

To sum up, Naoussa and the area has a lot to offer, but it's best to pre-arrange your own mode of transport and do your research beforehand. The hotel has lovely big rooms, with wonderful views and pretty bathrooms. Sound insulation isn't the best, but we were only disturbed for a few minutes by a late arrival one night. The cable tv had english movies, and the room had a fridge and mini bar. The hotel gave us free use of the jacuzzi by appointment. The breakfasts were great by Greek standards. There was free internet access in the reception area. We weren't disturbed by traffic even though our room faced the highway (across another plot). If I were to go to Naoussa again to enjoy the region, then I would prefer to stay in town. But if I wanted a quiet holiday spent hiking, relaxing, soaking in an outdoor hot tub, etc, then Esperides is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

After 3 nights in a "traditional Greek hotel" with a small and short bed (120 x 180cm in a double room) the Espirides hotel was a great place to get a good sleep and a nice shower.

The Rooms are big with a nice bathroom, rooms have A/C television (only Greek stations, luckely enough the Greeks uses subtitles) The balcony is overlooking the neighbours garden and gives little view to Naoussa.

Breakfast is superb with decent coffee (no nescafe) and home made bread and jams (ever heard of jam made out of the leaves from roses) The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but there are plenty of nice places to eat in Naoussa.

The location is on the main road to Naoussa just oposite the Plus supermarket.

The staff in general is very friendly and do speak English.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gumtree75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ottima posizione per visita siti archeologici
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naousa
0.5 mi away
Asteras Hotel
Asteras Hotel
#2 of 3 in Naousa
23 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Eliton & Spa
Hotel Eliton & Spa
#1 of 5 in Loutraki
74 reviews
24.1 mi away
Lidra Hotel
Lidra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aridaia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Pantelidis Hotel
Pantelidis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ptolemaida
48 reviews
11.5 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#3 of 6 in Edessa
22 reviews
1.7 mi away
Guesthouse Militsa
Guesthouse Militsa
#2 of 10 in Naousa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperides Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperides Hotel

Address: 2nd Km Naoussa - R.S., Naousa 592 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Imathia Region > Naousa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Naousa
Hotel Class:3 star — Esperides Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Esperides Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperides Hotel Greece/Naousa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing