We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“such a dissapointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“such a dissapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We spent 2 nights in this hotel during our round trip in Hungary after our wedding. Such a disappointment. No English/French/German speaking personel, no proposed programs in the neighbourhood, food is low average quality, spa is small swimming pool with a 2 person sauna. Rooms and the place is nice, but services destroy everything. Furtermore our complaints were handled with such an arrogancy... Way better places to go in Hungary...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojohb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
germain in Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

We spent three nights in the wonderful castle claimed five starts hotel. The renovated castle hotel building the garden and the surrounding forest is really wonderful, so you feel you are in a dreamland in the middle of nothing! The staff was always polite, helpful and they did their best to help us and make our stay unforgettable. Thanks to them, especially to the masseur and the waiters in the restaurant.
Nevertheless, this is the end of the five stars!
The room were always clean and nice but the good impression was completely spoiled by the mould in the bathroom around the lavatory and the bath, and the loud obvious noises of all the other rooms' water-conduit when someone used the toilet or the bath. We were wake up by that noise every day ( room 2003). The services shall also be improved, like to serve water and all-day tea in the wellness at free (which is a minimum even in a three starts hotel with sauna).
To serve muffins to the afternoon tea is ridiculous, not tasty at all and was the only cake in two sequent afternoons, so I wonder if they know what to serve for tea. The breakfasts and the dinners were tasteful but the selection was very poor only three main meals for dinners. At the terrace, you could have your breakfast or dinner upon your request but some seat cushion and sun-umbrella could definitely increase the comfort. At the reception, the staff was always on line, and admittedly none of them had any idea of places to wander and no map was available.
The big surprise at the end we had to pay as one third of the bill as TIP (with zero VAT), but it did not decreased our bill. We did not understand it, and there was no explanation. at all. The drinks are overprices and the 15% service charge would not be high in a really five stars place.
Once they improve the services, the place will deserve the claimed five stars.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manajami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

We stayed here for two nights over the Christmas holiday and it was outstanding. The hotel was a great value (2 persons for 2 nights for 84480 forints) and the customer service was very good! Our room was gorgeous--lovely bed, sitting area, tv, hair dryer and toiletries in bathroom, wardrobe with slippers and bathrobes, etc. Maid service was quiet and unobtrusive--they made sure to wait until we had left the room to clean. The castle itself is very clean and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed exploring the various rooms--billiard room, Bellevue tower, game room, kids' room with games, bowling alley, business center, etc. Breakfast options were quite good.
Not many of the staff spoke English but they were all extremely helpful. The hotel is also kind of in the middle of nowhere--we took a bus to it (there is a stop right in front of the hotel) and it was a long ride through the woods. There is a restaurant right across the street, which was also nice. Outside there are some nice hiking trails too.
I would highly recommend--this was an amazing value and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Haristhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

Staying at Sasvar Castle was like living in a fairytale. We had just spent 3 hectic days in Budapest, and the beautiful mansion in the mountains was such a welcome sight.

Back when I initially researched our accommodations, I was reluctant to consider Sasvar. Their website had no English language option. In the Hungarian language and currency, the room rate chart was useless to me. When I emailed inquiries, the responses were not as quick or informative as I hoped. But the one review on trip advisor, as well as descriptions on other websites, persuaded me to phone them.

I am so glad that I did. We arrived on Wednesday, and we were the only clientele on that first night. Talk about feeling pampered! Private dining, private swimming...By Friday the business was more brisk, but not overcrowded.

I estimate about half of the employees did not speak English at all. Be sure to have a Hungarian phrasebook handy. But there was always someone in the dining room and the reception desk who spoke English fluently, so it was not a problem. After all, none of the other patrons spoke English as their primary language. Most were Hungarian.

I was travelling with my two small boys (ages 2 and 6), my husband, and my mom and dad. Quite a crew! The staff was very patient with our questions and with our children. Although it was one of the fanciest places I've ever stayed, it was also completely child-friendly.

The kids would have been satisfied with the wide open space to run about, after we tortured them with Budapest crowds. But there was this fabulous indoor pool with a waterfall/faucet at one end. And a not-
too-hot hot tub. Billiards and bowling in the bar. Bicycles, scooters, and ride-ems. Walking paths. A swingset. A seesaw. Sandplay. Basketball court. Bouncy castles (we didn't ask to inflate them as our 2 year old is terrified). Tennis court and equipment to rent (didn't use). Outdoor swimming (it was available but the weather not hot enough for us).

Our last day, we discovered the "Mini Club" in the top floor of the tower. In this room were toys for various ages, books, puzzles and art supplies. If you stay at Sasvar, you must explore the place thoroughly. There are several parlors (one with family photos from the original owners), the ballroom, and some interesting crystal and wine displays down one hall. A photo album of the Castle's restoration is available at reception.

Now for the food. I have some familiarity with Hungarian cooking: my family's soups, goulash, paprikash, stuffed cabbage, noodles and cottage cheese (turos tsusza), etc. Sasvar's cuisine is not the more homestyle fare I would have preferred, but it is still excellent. I would call the food upscale rather than down home. Perhaps that is more suitable for folks unfamiliar with Hungarian food anyway.

The meats were all high quality, and the produce very fresh. You must try the kolbasz (paprika sausage) at breakfast, with some banana pepper slices and that awesome white bread. They had children's cold cereals for my boys too. The soups were delicious, so try them all, but especially the cold fruit soup.

I mostly stuck to the buffet, but the staff was willing to take special orders. One night, they were happy to prepare the Kraft EasyMac I brought as a treat for my picky children.

Customer service throughout the hotel was top notch. Everyone was courteous and helpful, and many were quite cheerful. The rooms were very clean, and blissfully spacious. (As an American spending a few years in the UK, I miss large accommodations almost as much as I miss large refrigerators.)

Finally, some practical pointers. There are three wings. The most luxurious is the Rennaissance Szarny, in the main building. We stayed in the Rendezvous Szarny, the older annex to the mansion. Also there is the newer annex, the Romantique Szarny, which they described as the family rooms and I think they are the lowest priced.

As far as price goes, it is a really good deal. It was a chance to get the kind of 5-star accommodation and service I can't afford in New York City or London. For us, the rate ended up about $300 per room per night, and this included our meals and alcohol. (Depending on the season and your room/meal choices, you could spend less or more than us of course.) And for UK tourists used to Pound Sterling, the price is even better.

I was pleased with our holiday in Hungary overall, but Sasvar was definitely the high point. If you are considering a stay outside of Budapest, I strongly encourage you to choose Sasvar Castle Hotel. It is close to Eger, and not too far from Lake Tisza or the Hortobagy either.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2006

Hotel Paradsasvar/ Kastélyhotel Sasvár

Castle Hotel Paradsasvar (designed by Miklos Ybl in the late 1870’s), nestled in the Matra Mountains, in Paradsasvar, Hungary, is a real find and, in my estimation, ranks #2 for most amazing renovation/restoration of a historic property after the Four Seasons (Gresham Palace) in Budapest. Of all the historic properties in Hungary that have transformed themselves into “castle hotels,” Paradsasvar has clearly done the best job of it and it shows in every way. For starters, the owner lives on the premises, and owner presence always makes a tremendous difference in the European B&B and hotel industry. More than a few of Hungary’s castle hotels have absentee owners who live abroad and do not oversee the properties on a daily basis, which takes its toll on service, cleanliness and food quality. Paradsasvar is just the opposite; the owner diligently oversees the property, service, kitchen and amenities. The whole facility is spotless. I even ventured behind the kitchen where the garbage dumpsters are, and it was so clean you would think it could serve as an entrance for the public! Lawns are perfectly manicured, the pool area is kept in tip-top shape, the indoor pool, recreation and spa facilities are in perfect condition and all the rooms and common spaces are immaculate and inviting. The hotel seems to have a good facility to guest ratio so the pools and spas are never crowded.

The dining room, with crisp white linens, fresh floral arrangements and gourmet food is never too crowded to seat you and the selection from which you choose is creative, varied and mouthwateringly delicious. A beautiful selection of desserts awaits you after your meal, so pace yourself. Breakfast is also a very civilized and delicious affair with a personal pot of tea brought to your table to accompany the finest pastries east of Paris (the chocolate croissants rival those of Paris’ best patisserie). Every kind of breakfast food is at the ready: smoked meats, bacon, sausages, smoked salmon with accompaniments, eggs, roasted potatoes, toast, rolls, croissants, butters, jams, honeys, cappuccino, café au lait, hot chocolate, American coffee – you name it, they have it. Because of the number of buffet chafing dishes operating all at once, the dining room can sometimes have a slight odor of Sterno and even become a bit stuffy. Sit at one of the many tables by a window and crack the window if this becomes a problem for you - it will help tremendously until management figures out that this is a problem.

Each room is nicely appointed with period furniture but also has every modern convenience. Beds have steel frames with comfortable mattresses for a relaxing night’s sleep. Each room has an in-room safe and solid outer doors with magnetic key entrance. The whole facility (which is gated and guarded) feels very safe. Bathrooms have a shower/tub combination and come with hair dryer and plenty of towels. In-room satellite TV delivers many international channels and several American television stations (CNN etc.) to help you stay connected while in the middle of nowhere. Although you are in the refreshingly cool Matra mountains, the whole facility and each room is air conditioned should you need it (although it seems the room’s air conditioner is controlled by a remote control and it seems you have to ask the front desk for the remote). The front desk staff can be a little rigid (I think they have been instructed that good service should very formal and that maybe smiling is disrespectful? You never know in eastern Europe what the perception is). Dining room staff is just the opposite: cheerful, courteous, efficient and helpful. Both front desk and dining room staff are fluent in English.

Right across the street from the hotel is the famous Csevice Spring (housed in the round building across from the St. Hubertus Pension), whose healing properties were discovered by accident in the mid-19th century. A quick ten-minute walk up the hill from the hotel you will find Hungary’s leading crystal manufactory (founded in 1767). This factory makes private labels for Crate & Barrel, Pottery Barn and even Tiffany & Co. For $10 (U.S.) we picked up a few Tiffany pitchers that retail for over $100 each. In the opposite direction of the glass factory is Hungary’s leading coach museum, horseback riding and the wine city of Eger. Hotel Paradsasvar is a great, centrally-located hotel for seeing all of this and well worth a visit. Between Moscow and Budapest, there is no hotel nicer than Paradsasvar and it is highly recommended. For an interesting article on the historic restoration of this hotel see this article: http://www.herend.com/herald/008/eng/szallodak.htm

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
13 Thank bundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradsasvar
3.9 mi away
The Residence Ozon Conference & Wellness Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
#1 of 1 in Galyateto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
#2 of 2 in Matrahaza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
23.1 mi away
La Contessa Castle Hotel
La Contessa Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Szilvasvarad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.6 mi away
Erzsebet Park Hotel - Paradfurdo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel

Property: Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel
Address: Kossuth Lajos ut 1, Paradsasvar 3242, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Paradsasvar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Paradsasvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing