We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fine place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a fine place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We spent a night at the Hraunsnef Country hotel during our round Iceland trip in March 2013. It is just North of Bifrost and quite close to the famous village of Reykholt, home of Snorri Sturluson, the famous medieval Icelandic poet and politician, who is often credited for writing down many of the Icelandic sagas.

The hotel is really comfortable with spacious well equipped rooms, and the staff are so welcoming.... and the restaurant serves locally sourced products beautifully cooked (for example, the lamb comes from the farm next door and they grow their own salads etc). We had an hour in the outdoor hot tub after dinner watching the stars (even though it was freezing outside) - what an experience. breakfast was also a joy, with home made lamb pate, a gorgeous scrambled egg with bits of bacon, fresh herbs and salad etc, home made jam etc etc.

The lady who looked after reception and served us breakfast looked after us really well. We were on the way to Isafjordur in winter and she looked up the road conditions and advised us on the best route to take.

Oh, and the farm has tame animals - sheep, horses, which is a bonus!

If we pass this way agin we shall definitely go back. And we recommend it to any travellers passing this way.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front look right across the valley!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    65
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
126
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Situated in an atmospheric lava-strewn landscape, the Hraunsnef is an excellent stop on the the way to Snaefellsness Peninsula (apologies if spelt wrong). There's a lovely waterfall to see in the area and a couple of little craters to walk up to to get a good look at the surrounding area. If no food's available at the hotel during the day (we were there in winter and the restaurant didn't open till 5pm) decent food is available at a cafe Bifrost University just down the road. The food in the hotel's restaurant is very excellent - the lamb and beef from nearby farms is quality stuff and brilliantly cooked. Smallish but cosy room and the excellent staff woke us to let us know that the Northern Lights were out during the night. Fantastic shower and they have a hair dryer (not sure if it's mentioned on their website).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemac1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had 3 nights of much needed relaxation here - a very warm welcome, helpful information on the local area (lovely scenery, walks, and a good variety of places to visit), and a steaming hot tub to unwind in at the end of the day and watch the Northern Lights. Our room was warm and comfortable with a spacious bathroom and all the facilities we needed. We could not have asked for more - but if we had, we feel sure the owners would have obliged, they are lovely people and ensured everything was to our satisfaction throughout. The restaurant served a variety of tasty food at reasonable prices and was also used by the locals. We will definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISSIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

My husband and I went on a romantic getaway to Iceland and happened upon this place by accident. What an amazing find! We were traveling to Isafjordur and had to turn around due to road closures and poor weather, due to this we were without a hotel for the night. We saw this place and asked if they have availability for the night. Not only did they have a wonderful room for us, but they also had a restaurant with fantastic food. The innkeepers were so friendly and gave us some ideas of other attractions to see in the area. The rooms are very comfortable and the bed was fantastic. We were so happy to have found this place and will return for another stay when we travel to Iceland again. Wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlanta1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We accidentally found this place after being unable to reach out destination due to road closure and it was the best place we stayed during our week. In addition to being a working farm, this quaint location offered the best dining experience and best night sleep we had during the trip.Johann and his wife Brynja were very accomodating and we great conversation as we tried our best not to butcher the language when we ordered. The breakfast was phenomenal, the price of the rooms and dinner were extremely reasonable and we had a great time walking around the farm and seeing how it operated. We will certainly stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: There did not seem to be a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We've spent one night at the small cabin at Hraunsnef on our way north, and another night a few days later on our way back. Despite being close to the main road, the area is nice and it's the owners and staff who run the hotel who make this place special. They will do everything to make you feel at home.

The small cabins are indeed small - but well equipped and offer everything you really need. They also enable you stay close to the farm life, with the sheep and chickens running around, and the friendly dogs begging for food all the time. At the reception floor of the hotel, you can also buy many local products, such as the lovely wool clothes or small decoration items. During our second stay, we were lucky to meet the local women working at the sewing machines in a nearby hall, and apparently having a lot of fun.

Definitely a place worth trying if you happen to travel this way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Immutability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

this is one of the best places we know in iceland. johan and brynja, the owners do an excellentjob. they are very friendly and helpful - and the kitchen is excellent, specially the breakfast. we stayed in one of the nice cottages- and got a fair rate, cause we were travelling alittle bit of season!
stronglyrecommended

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bifrost
18.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
21.3 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hraunsnef Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Property: Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Address: Nordurardal 311, Bifrost, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Bifrost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hraunsnef Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hraunsnef Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing