We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Certificate of Excellence
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“small and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our first night in Iceland and we arrived tired and hungry (it is about 20-25 minutes on ring road from Borgarnes heading north) but the couple who ran it could not have been nicer. Our room was small but clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The meal was delicious and a huge choice. In the morning, a good breakfast looking over amazing views then lots of advice on where best to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanchai13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    65
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
126
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zoutleeuw, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The rooms are quite small, but okay to stay for one or two nights. You could see the rooms were refurbished a few years ago, but not with a lot of attention to detail (sloppy painting). I would recommend this hotel for families with young children. They are encouraged to help feeding the animals etc. Conveniently located at the ring road, but there are not many other hotels or restaurants nearby. However, the hotel has a very good restaurant which also attracts lots of locals. Breakfast is also good (not included in the hotel price). We didn't have wifi in the room, only in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilona_Vds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

When we first walked in, the room looked clean. However, it had a very strong odour and it was quite clear that the mattress had not been cleaned. The sheets that were covering the mattress were clean but in this day and age, a hotel should consider vacuuming hair and other dirt from under the sheets. It just is not enough to cover up a mattress with clean sheets. The cleaning staff did re-clean once we had pointed out the odour and a blood stain on our sheet. The breakfast was good and the area was picturesque as well. But I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hraunsnef, Owner at Hraunsnef Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
thank you for giving us the change to re-clean the room an your points will serenely be put in good use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here two nights and used the time to discover the near island Snaefelisnes (about 350 km). It is possible to wander around a vulcano close to the hotel (alongside road 1 in the direction of Reykjavik). It is a good hotel: the rooms are clean, quite and relatively large with a separate bathroom. The restaurant offers good dishes and a decent breakfast. Friendly service. There are two hot tubs. The hotels also has cabins where one can stay for the night. Many animals: sheeps, horses etc. Plenty of space for the car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmflanders2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We booked a summer house because there were no hotel rooms left. The house was spacious with a little kitchen and toilet and shower. You can hear cars driving on the ring road but there's little traffic on night. There's a henhouse on the back side of the summer house so you can hear the roosters crowing in the morning.
We saw sheep, ducks, Icelandic horses, nice Labradors. There's a safe trampoline for children and it was nice to bath in hot tubes with very hot water.
The breakfast was good and my husband got even gluten-free bread because we asked for it before our stay. I found a gorgeous cardigan (made by a local artisan) in the reception. Good price and quality.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

very nice Hotel directly at the ringroad. The rooms are simple, but with a personal touch. The hotpots with a view to the little waterfall very nice and the Food was just delicious. Really worth to visit also only for dinner :-)
enjoyed the stay very much and will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin_Stroppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We just found this Hotel and restaurant by chance, on our way back to Reykjavik.
We did not sleep there as we were due back in the city in the evening, but I can tell you food was delicious and very well presented.
Meat was tender and juicy, while the two desserts we tried were a very stylish version of a classic cheese cake and chocolate cake.
Would recommend to go there even only to have dinner !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdolci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bifrost
18.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
21.3 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hraunsnef Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Property: Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Address: Nordurardal 311, Bifrost, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Bifrost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hraunsnef Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hraunsnef Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing