We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could've stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wish we could've stayed longer!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived late in the evening and fell so in love with the place that we wish we could've stayed more than just the night! We immediately made use of the hot tubs and said hello to the farm's sheep. The scenery was stunning, the room clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere serene. The only down side was that the internet appears to shut off when the hotel staff leave the front desk for the night. I would definitely stay here again though.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel and loved it but there were several adorable cabins available for rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrroni06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    65
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
126
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in the Hraunsnef Country Hotel for one night in July 2014 as part of a family trip across Iceland. As soon as we arrived we could see that it was a nice place. It is a slightly ramshackle set of farm buildings with one central block of rooms and some cottages. It is well set for children as you are encouraged to help feed the goats/chickens etc.

We had a good evening meal, better than many in Iceland but somewhat expensive. We stayed in the cottage second from the top and we really liked it. It can sleep six if you are very friendly - we were three people and very comfortable. It is distinctly rural without mod cons. The bathroom was very small but functional. There are two hot tubs in the hotel and they were well used and very pleasant. Sitting in the hot tub we saw an amazing rainbow as it actually stopped raining for a bit!

The breakfast was a disappointment (and has led to the four star rating for this review). Bearing in mind that this is a farm with chickens the breakfast as pretty dismal. Some overcooked scrambled eggs, some uninspiring looking meat and cheese and some tired cereals. Little fresh fruit, no fresh eggs and no fresh pastries.

The staff were very friendly, and despite the breakfast I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The cottages are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_tank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akranes, Iceland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Came there to celebrate my mother in law birthday with a group of people. We had 3 corses and they were all very tasty. We had vegetable soup, lamb/beef and ice-cream and everybody were so happy with they're food :) And the service was grate. Would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorkkr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Hrausnef is in a really lovely setting and is easy to find as it's right by main route 1. We only stayed one night as part of a longer trip round Iceland, and we didn't eat there or use any of the other facilities (eg hot tub) so I can only comment on the room. The room was bright and a good size. The beds were very comfortable and the room had a TV and tea-making facilities, which was good as many of the other hotels we stayed at in Iceland did not offer this. The bathroom was the only let-down. The toilet seat was crooked and loose, the tiling and paintwork was very messy, the shower curtain looked like it needed changing and the cleanliness was not great - there were some hairs and fluff on the floor and a lot of the grouting, especially around the shower, was discoloured. Having said that, it all worked fine and was adequate for a night's stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We felt very comfortable and relaxed in this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights. Lovely breakfast and staff. Enjoyed chatting with one of the owners while having our breakfast. It was very interesting to know what their life is like in Iceland. We also had dinner there one night. The lamb was delicious and the soup was really good too. The view was amazing and we will never forget that. We also had a walk around the hotel/farm. There were some horses and cows and some sheep. I really liked it there. Would love to stay there again. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean place. Food was excellent and staff very friendly. Can imagine that during summer there is much more scenery and also believe horse riding etc. We went for quick getaway and had a good stay. Breakfast also good in the morning. No complaints from our side.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACHJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed one night and tried tho burger and local beer, they use a lot of material from the farms around and make great local gourmet, meet from the burger from the next farm ecs. We did not try the hot tub but it looked good. I would recommend this place for a short stay the rooms are small but comfortable and modern. It would make a great stop for people driving the circle around Iceland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingibjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bifrost
18.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
309 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
170 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
50 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
181 reviews
21.3 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hraunsnef Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Property: Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Address: Nordurardal 311, Bifrost, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Bifrost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hraunsnef Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hraunsnef Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing