We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bifrost(Bifrost)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hafnarfjall(Borgarnes)(Great Value!)
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Husafell(Husafell)
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Glymur(Akranes)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
172
85
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
85
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry hotelring roadfarm animalshot tubworking farmlambnorthern lightsheading northblueberry saucefriendly dogsexcellent restaurantsmall waterfalllong drivehamburgergreat lunchboth nightslocal beer
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2014

This farm/hotel is cosy and clean with comfortable rooms. It was actually the best small hotel we had in our three week travel throughout Iceland. It does not feel as if you are with a family like is the case in many of the places one stays at in Iceland, but it is still small scale and a little bit more commercial than the family places (which is a good thing in terms of how the place looks, the service, the ammenities, etc.). If you love animals, you will love to be here. The three family dogs love the attention and even follow you into your room if you like (the yellow lab does). There are ducks on the pond and in the morning you can go watch the pigs, horses, sheep and chickens being fed. The food served is either own produce, organic or home made and thus just excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. In the evening it is nice to relax in one of the hot tubs while looking at the waterfall or have a drink in the "relaxation room" which is a big room with books, videos, and games.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NadiaConefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed here at the end of a 16 day tour and didn't have high expectations mainly as the location is right by the road #1. However from the greeting on arrival everything was faultless. An excellent evening meal and breakfast, comfy room. There was also the interest of the animals which would be great for youngsters. The only possible faults would be that the room seemed very hot (rectified by opening the window) ... also the walls are quite thin so noise from your neighbours could be an issue to some. The location is excellent as it's about 2 and a half hours to Keflavik airport and just near the start of the road to the Westfjords. There are not really any alternatives for dinner arrangements that to eat at the hotel ... but with the quality I think I'd be reluctant to go elsewhere anyway. The lamb I had was one of thebest meals in Iceland.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Colin-Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you love animals as my 7year old daughter does, this is the place for you. They have cows, sheep, pigs, ducks, horses, chickens and two very friendly dogs. The yellow lab dog Isabella followed my daughter everywhere (even into our room once!). We stayed 2 nights, and dinner both nights was good (lamb with blueberry sauce and a naan pizza with beef were both delicious). Staff is really helpful and nice; they invite you to help feed the animals if you like. There are two hot tubs with a stream view. The rooms are cozy (small), but are bright and are decorated with IKEA furnishings and linens; our room had a shower.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank AnnElizabeth97123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were booked here by a travel agency and arrived at dinner time. There weren't many other choices for dining so we ate at the hotel. The lamb dinner was excellent. The meat was from the farm next door. We enjoyed the stream and duck pond and the hot tubs beside the stream, the gorgeous view and the friendly horses. Breakfast was also excellent, especially the fresh bread. Would definitely go back if ever in Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I'm Icelandic and have been in the restaurant business for just over 3 years in Reykjavik. I had the pulled pork sandwich which was amazing! Everything that they can get fresh they'll get fresh. The people with me had hamburgers (3 varieties) which were some of the best burgers that I've had. Their food is really cheap considering what you are getting. You will get more than you pay for. The servers could've been a bit more attentive. They are forgiven since the food and atmosphere was so good. Note, I didn't stay at the Hotel only stopped there for supper.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank einarsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews