We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ExtraOrdinary Humble Abode - Little House on the...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Borgarnes, West Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Marc W
1 review
“ExtraOrdinary Humble Abode - Little House on the Prairie”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Borgarnes is just an hours drive from Reykjavik. Visiting this area was TRULY a treat and SO SO special. Such a quaint little town with a great swimming pool, restaurants and views. It felt as if I had died and gone to heaven. Staying in this extraordinary humble abode and beautifully decorated home by the artist Michelle Bird was a TREAT!!! The rooms were meticulously decorated and the home had all of the amenities one could ask for. Of course, the most important quality I look for when I travel and stay in other people's home is the cleanliness. This home did not disappoint. I want to add that the views from the home are to die for - they are FANTABULOUS!!! Being surrounded by water and mountains was TREMENDOUS. I have to come back in the winter and feel as though I am trapped in the warmth and coziness by a snow storm. TRUST me - you will NOT be disappointed with this home. ENJOY!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Dear Marc, thank you for your kind and generous review! We hope to see you again soon in Borgarnes. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naturalwi...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beyond all expectations”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I shall begin by saying that I can’t wait to return to Iceland and I can’t imagine staying anywhere else. The energy, the vibrancy, the uniqueness and the stunning views are just the tip of the ice berg. Michelle is a delightful host and so are her lovely friendly Cats which enchanted us with their funny personalities. Everything about our stay was perfect and far exceeded our expectations. Next time I want to stay a full week just to sit by the window...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for your vivid description of our home. We are delighted that you had such a lovely time with your family. We look forward to a return visit! Warm regards, Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciaeme
Valencia, Spain
1 review
“Inspiring house”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We really enjoyed being on this wonderful house. It is plenty of art everywhere, handmade things and lots of details that makes you feel like you are in a dream! The views are absolutly amazing, with the sea and the volcano in front of us. Michelle is a incredible person, I would repet without any doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Dear Lucia, thank you for your lovely and heartfelt review. It was a joy to meet you and your kind family. And a delight to see the extraordinary video of you playing guitar and singing in our home. The 2 guitars and sitar are just the beginning. I am hoping to add a Ukulele to the collection! All the best and lots of love from Iceland!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne B
2 reviews
“Eclectic cosy place w/ great views!”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved our stay in Bogarnes. Michelle's place has an amazing panorama view and comfy living room. The kitchen has everything you need and the house is close to the Bonus supermarket. Also a bonus is that the place is filled with beautiful art. Michelle was a great host!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Dear Suzanne, Thanks so much, I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you and your lovely family. We hope to see you again for the northern lights! Happy travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Z
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Wir danken dir für deine wundervolle Beschreibung. Und wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich so wohl fühlen, dass Sie hier regelmäßig Urlaub machen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Rückkehr.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing