We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find, but a treasure once you find it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Borgarnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Difficult to find, but a treasure once you find it!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our Google Maps took us straight to a cafe / antique shop, in which the lovely lady sighed and said, yes, LOTS of people are brought here by Google Maps, the place you want is just up the hill, on the left.

However, once we found the Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast, we felt as if we'd arrived at home. The owner, Inger, is kind and welcoming and made us feel thoroughly at home. Our room was comfortable, with a good bathroom (there are also shared facilities for the other rooms) but it is the public areas which are really worth writing about - a most lovely sitting / eating area (with free, fast Wifi) looking onto a wonderful view, and a large kitchen which we were free to use for incidental coffee/tea or cooking a meal. We made friends quickly amongst the convivial guests.

From the door, you can get onto a lovely short walk around the headland, or you could just sit and watch the sea.

Definitely would come again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    36
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
91
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The charming hostess of this fabulous find of a B and B welcomed us with true Iclandic hospitality. The room was spotless and bright. The shared bathroom clean and had piles of clean towels. All amenities were available. Free Wi-Fi available thoughtout the house. Children's play area outside was fully equipped. A bench to contemplate and enjoy the ocean view. The breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Fresh breads straight out of the oven, home made jams and jellies, real coffee, cold cuts, cheeses, enough food to last for a full day of touring Iceland. We returned for a second time on our circle tour of the peninsula. I recommend reserving as the place fills up fast.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank miklos220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Standard good hotel.Nothing special but in nice location.We had view to a parking place.Nothing to write home about. Room is clean but did not have hair dryer wich must be standart.Dinning room is old fashion but food eas good. Matress were convienient and room was clean.No free wi-fi-the only place that charged money for this service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reliwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgarnes B and B, Owner at Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Greetings Reliwitz,

My wife Bertha and I purchased Borgarnes B&B late in 2015. Can you share with us which room you stayed in, if you recall? I ask because we do not have a bedroom whose window overlooks a parking lot. Some of our bathrooms might overlook the front of our facility, where our parking lot is, although no bedroom does.

The previous owner never charged the guests for WiFi access, nor do we. Is it possible this review was inadvertently attributed to Borgarnes B&B?

Best regards,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in November 2011 and enjoyed it very much.
In winter times it is a very tranquil place. The owner and people working in the B&B are very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast served is wonderful and very delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mphillenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Such atmosphere in this special old house by the seaside. The furnishings in the first floor living room with its bay windows reminded me of wonderful farmhouses I had stayed at in Sweden ages ago.

Inger was the perfect host, and the buffet breakfast was delightful - especially the pancakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here on May 2013. We had an unforgettable stay,the house was beautiful,stylishly designed,very clean. The view from the large bay windows in the living room was excellent ,over looking the water ebbing and flowing. Inger was a gracious,very attentive host,the best one we have stayed with in all over the Iceland. If we ever go back to Iceland we'd never stay with anywhere but in her house. Thank you for everthing Inger.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon, it is perfectly located in the town, and is incredible value.
the only slightly odd thing is the low level window in the shower cubicle.
The owner is very friendly, its like staying with a relative.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_big_ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borgarnes hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Egils Guesthouse
Egils Guesthouse
#4 of 13 in Borgarnes
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kria Guesthouse
Kria Guesthouse
#3 of 13 in Borgarnes
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blomasetrid Guesthouse
Blomasetrid Guesthouse
#7 of 13 in Borgarnes
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast

Property: Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Address: Skulagata 21, Borgarnes 310, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Borgarnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in February 2008, famous for the hostess's breakfast buffet, Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast is a favorite spot for people from all over the world who want to relax for shorter or longer periods in a quiet and relaxing ambiance and at the same time have the opportunity to enjoy a big part of Iceland. We are located in the heart of Borgarnes, in Englendingavik creek, the protected historical center of town, with an outstanding view over the mysterious Borgarfjordur fjord. Only a walking distance from the sea, the Icelandic Settlement Center, restaurants and the playground Bjossarolo this Borgarnes's renowned Guesthouse is in a house that was built for the rich people of Borgarnes approximately 70 years ago. Even though it is popular as an accommodation for families, couples and individuals, with its 8 bedrooms, big kitchen and dining rooms it is a good idea for little groups to rent the whole house for one or more nights to enjoy a time of their own. As such the house has accommodated recreation week-ends, birthday parties, confirmation celebrations, just to give some examples. From Borgarnes you have a variety of shorter and longer hikings and you can do day tours on Borgarfjordur region, Dalir region, Snaefellsnes peninsula, Vatnsnes peninsula in the north, the Golden circle of the South coast and even go for the highland where you can have a taste of Iceland's second largest glacier. The staff is more than willing to help you organize your own ideas of a relaxing or an adventurous day before you head off in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing