We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious studio apartment!”
Review of Egils Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Egils Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 13 Borgarnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here in one of the studio apartments, which is really closer to a one bedroom apartment. There was plenty of space for the three of us and everything was very clean. The burner in the kitchenette was very slow but other than that the place was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in one of the brand new suites two different times and loved it!!!! The suite has everything you need -- a good bed, a comfy couch, a table and chairs, a full bath and a tiny, yet complete kitchen. One night we cooked pasta, veggies and salad. The location is great and Helga was very helpful to us. The price is a good value. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: I think there are now 3 studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Five of us spent 3 nights at this guest house. We drove around for two days and did a one-day tour with Helga, who was our contact when renting the cottage. The area has so much to see that three days was not enough. Helga showed us places we would not have visited and this made the day very special. We spent 8 days in Iceland and all agreed that our day with Helga was the best. It was a leisurely tour and we were able to meet the local goat farmers and sample cheeses and local preserves. Such nice people in Iceland everywhere we went. The guest house was.a wonderful spot to begin and end each day. Next time we want to stay longer.

Local pool was very nice and nearby. Good hot pools and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanlsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Egils Guesthouse with a group of 7 for one night in September. All of us absolutely loved the place - it was in a great location, close to the Settlement Centre and restaurants, and the house was immaculate. It seems to have been recently renovated, but doesn't look an impersonal Ikea ad as other places in Iceland might do. It is done up nicely in light colours, with some retro curiosities scattered around the house. The place was absolutely charming, as was the owner. We had plenty of space for 7 people. The house is equipped with anything you might need - washer, dryer, dishwasher, coffee machine, you name it.
The only thing I regret that we only stayed there one night at the end of our busy trip around Iceland. Hope to come back one day to do a more thorough exploration of this beautiful country, and will make sure to spend some time in Borgarnes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataliya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

we(6 friends and a baby(11months) ) stayed here for 5 nights, price/quality was perfect for us. Everything we needed was there.wasmachine, dryer,bbq, lots of cooking material,...
We really liked the cottage style. In the town, there 's a bakkery, a bonus supermarket and a very nice restaurant, the Restaurant at the Settlement Centre.
from here, we explored snaefellsnes, reykjanes/reykjavik, golden circle, the area around husafell(with the lave tubes, nice falls,...)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were lucky enough to find the Egils Guesthouse on the internet and the first international renters. It's newly renovated and to a high standard in all areas. As a family of four it was perfect for us with a well equipped kitchen and laundry (including dryer which was very welcome given the climate!) and good entertainment and wifi to keep even our teenagers happy.

Furnished in a light and stylish style most will associate with Scandinavia the rooms are compact but well laid out and the beds superbly compfortable. Borgarnes we knew was close by a fjord but we were surprised and delighted by the spectacular view from the living area and one of the upstairs bedrooms of the mountains across the fjord. Borgarnes itself is very pretty, laid back with good local supermarkets/restaurants etc to suit a self caterer. Walk down to the puppet theatre at sundown and see the birds, sea, islands and huge light night skies. Don't forget to visit the hot pot/swimming pools just 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliciaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
2.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blomasetrid Guesthouse
Blomasetrid Guesthouse
#8 of 13 in Borgarnes
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egils Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egils Guesthouse

Address: Egilsgotu 6- 8, Borgarnes 310, Iceland (Formerly Egils Guesthouse Apartments&Cottage)
Region: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Borgarnes
Price Range: £74 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering and cozy little cottage and apartments for rent in the old town of Borgarnes. Just an hour drive from the capital Reykjavik. High speed internet included, TV. Near are restaurants and museums and several golf courses, you can go horseback or hiking, fishing or just enjoy the beautiful nature near Borgarnes.Perfect place to stay and see the northern lights - Aurora Borealis - in winter. Here you can rest and relax away from everyday stress. We also offer three studio Apartments. The studio Apartments are with facility for 2-3 guests. Nicely decorated with good beds, internet access, good shower and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Egils Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egils Guesthouse Iceland/Borgarnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing