We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio 3”
Review of Egils Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Egils Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 14 Borgarnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in Studio 3 and it was perfect for what we needed. A superb base for exploring South & West Iceland. Well stocked with everything you could need, very comfortable and close to all the amenities in the town. Borgarnes is a charming town.
The owner was very helpful and friendly with plenty of advice on where to visit.
We stayed here for a week and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDSawyer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I landed lucky in choosing to come to Borgarnes and to the Egils Guesthouse. With very little time to plan my holiday and no knowledge of holidays in Iceland, I stuck the proverbial pin in the map.

A brilliant view of snow topped mountains, the sea, a two minute stroll to two great coffee shops and great driving routes to north and south was my reward.

I'm still sniggering at how I'm sitting very comfortably watching TV, after a great local walk, a home made dinner and a washing done and dried.

This is a lovely, friendly community which makes it an ideal base for reaching the whole west of Iceland, from Snaefells down to Selfoss.

Roy from Glasgow, Scotland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in a studio. The studio that we stayed was very nice with all the things needed, for our stay. All the material for cooking and eating are available. The Owner was helpfull.The price is ok for Iceland. Very nice place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maor_Miguel_Ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in one of the suites and it was small (as expected), but pretty impressively nice. Everything was crisp, clean and new. The owner was very responsive and super nice - we felt very welcomed. Like many Icelandic places, we were expected to leave it clean, take the trash out and such, and it was set up to make it easy to do this. The beds were right by the window which looked out on the street and sidewalk. Though this arrangement might have been loud, it was not. The suites are located nicely to make it easy to explore the old section of Borgarnes on foot. Staying here was a treat.

Room Tip: Some suites have a double bed, some have twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here in one of the studio apartments, which is really closer to a one bedroom apartment. There was plenty of space for the three of us and everything was very clean. The burner in the kitchenette was very slow but other than that the place was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in one of the brand new suites two different times and loved it!!!! The suite has everything you need -- a good bed, a comfy couch, a table and chairs, a full bath and a tiny, yet complete kitchen. One night we cooked pasta, veggies and salad. The location is great and Helga was very helpful to us. The price is a good value. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: I think there are now 3 studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Five of us spent 3 nights at this guest house. We drove around for two days and did a one-day tour with Helga, who was our contact when renting the cottage. The area has so much to see that three days was not enough. Helga showed us places we would not have visited and this made the day very special. We spent 8 days in Iceland and all agreed that our day with Helga was the best. It was a leisurely tour and we were able to meet the local goat farmers and sample cheeses and local preserves. Such nice people in Iceland everywhere we went. The guest house was.a wonderful spot to begin and end each day. Next time we want to stay longer.

Local pool was very nice and nearby. Good hot pools and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanlsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
2.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
386 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
200 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hraunsnef Sveitahotel
Hraunsnef Sveitahotel
#1 of 2 in Bifrost
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 14 in Borgarnes
171 reviews
32.3 mi away
Hotel Rjukandi
Hotel Rjukandi
#1 of 14 in Borgarnes
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kria Guesthouse
Kria Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Borgarnes
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egils Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egils Guesthouse

Address: Egilsgotu 6- 8 | Brákarbraut 11, Borgarnes 310, Iceland (Formerly Egils Guesthouse Apartments&Cottage)
Region: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Borgarnes
Price Range: £77 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering and cozy little studio apartments for rent in the old town of Borgarnes. Nicely decorated with good beds, internet access, good shower and kitchenette. Just an hour drive from the capital Reykjavik. High speed internet included, TV. Near are restaurants and museums and several golf courses, you can go horseback or hiking, fishing or just enjoy the beautiful nature near Borgarnes. Perfect place to stay and see the northern lights - Aurora Borealis - in winter. Here you can rest and relax away from everyday stress. We also offer rooms for rent. Our Egils Kaupangur is located at Brakarbraut 11. There we have seven rooms. Different types, all the way from a single bedroom up to a quadruple room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Egils Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egils Guesthouse Iceland/Borgarnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing