We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borgarnes(Borgarnes)
US$122
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Glymur(Akranes)
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bifrost(Bifrost)
US$160
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$170
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$676
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Varmaland(Borgarnes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
57
79
43
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
79
43
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishthe ownernorthern lightsone nightgeothermal watertea and coffeefree breakfastlovely little hotelhear everythingbed was comfortablehot tubthoroughly enjoyed our stayroad closurespark your carrooms are basica great place to stayring road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Firstly I am gobsmacked that this hotel has received 5* ratings! Absolutely extrordinary!!! The place has the potential to be a really good hotel (being by the roadside - away from built up areas) but good - it is not. It has a depressing run down feeling to it. Very poor decoration (think dirty walls and skirting boards peeling off)
Paper thin walls
Small awkward room with uncomfortable bed
Bad exterior landscaping (kerb appeal)
Eggy smelling taps (geothermal ??)

I did think the breakfast was ok though.

I can only think the place survives through the passing tourist trade (great reviews???!!!!) and (wholly innacurate - which is unusual) mention in the Lonely Planet guide.

If I were the owner I would redecorate the whole place top to bottom - do some works outside and consider restructuring the rooms. Otherwise there will always be a stream of negative reviews that cannot be buried.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJBWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Cheap but not that cheap. Clean enough. Aging and dated. Not comfortable. No tv, no working internet and no one there cared. No one at lobby past 10 pm. Breakfast was so-so at best. I won't go as far as saying it's a dump, but there are so many things wrong that it was one of only two places we didn't like in a 17 day trip to Iceland...

Room Tip: Don't go there unless it is an absolute last resort...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixelsinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night with a group of friends.
The hotel needs a renovation.
It's location is beautiful, right on the Fjord.
It's more a motel - our rooms doors were facing the outside.
The room was very simple with twin beds.
The breakfast good, and the breakfast room has lovely views.
There is a sitting room on the upper floor - very worn out. Mostly all the light bulbs were off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Like said in the title: Only in case of emergency.
We stayed in this hotel because we were tiered after our trip of the day.

The rooms are:
-Noisy
-Without charm
-Lake of cleanliness

The breakfast was fine

To conclude: to expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were really shocked upon our arrival at this hotel, because the photographs and reviews made the hotel look much more modern and polished than we found it to be in reality. We kept thinking that we must have pulled into the wrong hotel! When we arrived, the gentleman assisting us did not seem to know who we were. Luckily, I had a paper copy of my reservation, and after quite a bit of discussion, he said he could provide us a room. We were taken to a tiny room with twin beds which was not what we had reserved. We went back and requested a different room with a double bed. We were told that nobody would be there to prepare another room for us until 6PM, but then he changed his mind and said he would himself prepare a room with a double bed for us. So at least we were given clean bedding (although I don’t know whether any other cleaning of the room took place) and we were able to check into a room about 15 minutes later. We also had a problem with loud noises from overhead, which ended about 8PM. Then it was quiet the rest of the night and we slept pretty well. Overall, the facilities were very basic and rather worn out looking, nothing like the other hotels we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Iceland. But on a good note, the views were pretty and the staff with whom we interacted were friendly. We would not choose to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews