We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Friendly and nice staff,delicious breakfast,demanding and clean room :) I reccomend to everyone :) Free water,tea,coffee and a traditional türkish cake in the room :) Everything was in allright with the reservation :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_pi_R583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    55
    30
    17
    6
See reviews for
23
72
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Austria, Austria
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

No matter wich direction - north or south - you go, you can leave "Hotel" Bru behind you. The rooms are small, but ok. The bathroom needs some investment. The best is the view at the fjord. As it's located on the opposite side of the fjord, you have to go by car in order to get something to eat. At least in June, the restaurant hadn't bee open. Breakfast is ok, but you won't write home about it.

Borganes is really a great place worth visiting (especially the Borgarnes Museum with great photographs), there are also some nice places to have lunch (e. g. Settlement Center) or dinner, but go look out for something different from Hotel Bru.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Please do not stay here unless you really, really have to. We stayed here on one of the last days of our two weeks trip around Iceland and this was the worst place we stayed at in the whole trip. We booked three months ahead of the trip after reading the wonderful reviews but apparently some time during those three months the hotel changed hands and things just went downhill from there.

I regretted booking a stay at this place as soon as I walked into our room. The only good thing about it was it had a nice view of the fjord and the town of Borgarnes. The carpet was dirty, the bed sheet had holes on it and probably hadn't been changed in a while and the wall was paper thin we could hear every move in the room next door. Breakfast was okay. Nothing to write home about. I was just glad it was morning and we could finally leave this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thatduckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a confirmed and paid-for reservation. We arrived about 11:30 to find no one on the premises. After ringing and knocking for a while finally went back to the fast-food place and they called the host, who showed up after 15 minutes or so. He was curt. He had decided we weren't coming and reproved us for not calling. (We had no cellphone that worked in Iceland and had been delayed by a long stretch of gravel road.)

The rooms are small, simply furnished, and clean. Each opens outdoors. Really a cheap motel, not a hotel at all.

Breakfast was o.k.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here one night during our tour of Iceland and wished that we hadn't. Bad weather was coming in and we had to find somewhere to stay fast. The hotel was worn/ very tired looking. The heat was not working. The showers were leaking and the bathrooms smelled musty. There is no longer a fish buffet or restaurant, which is unfortunate due to the fact that it is not located in the town. This was by far my least favorite place that we stayed in all of Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColleenyDowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We booked rooms at this "hotel" based on the pictures we had seen in a tourist guidebook. We had been booking our hotels and guesthouses this way all week with great results. Unfortunately, Hotel Bru was a huge disappointment for us. When we pulled in, we could tell that this wasn't going to be like the other places we'd stayed. We even discussed not going in, but thought that would be too rude. At the front desk, we were greeted by a very potent smell, and the first rude person we had encountered in the five days we had been traveling around the country. We then proceeded up to our rooms, where we discovered dirty carpets and slanted roofs that made it impossible for two 5 ft 4 women to stand up straight. We also found that the one shower was not draining. The only bright spot about this place was the breakfast, which was very nice, but did not make up for all the other shortcomings. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are other, better options out there, do not stay here.

Room Tip: If a good room is what you're after, choose a room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We knew this hotel had very poor reviews and it lived up to them. We used this as an overnight stop between Reykjavik and the Snaefellsbaer peninsula as our flight time meant we could not get there with ease the first night. Arrived to be told there was no restaurant service that night which was a pity as some previous reviews had actually said the fish was excellent. We were recommended a good local restaurant in the Settlement centre in Borganes less than 10 minutes drive. Room was small, not clean, lots of hair in the shower, poor sheets, curtains and carpet, in fact everything was worn and tired. They clealry use geothermal water for hot water hence the very eggy smell. In other locations with geothermal water they all used normal heated water to overcome the smell, clealry a cost saving measure rahter than a eco saving measure. Breakafast was just about acceptable but only had a single 2 slice toaster for all the guests, so there was always a wait. The breakfast laid out was minimal and topped up as used. I got the impression they were trying to keep the quantiy eaten to a minimum. The only good point was it was impossible to miss of Route 1 going north. and the views over the sound were excellent. I simply dfail to understand how some reviewers can give this five stars even when it was the cheapest hotel we stayed in whilst travelling in Iceland.

Room Tip: At least choose a twin overlooking the sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
3.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kria Guesthouse
Kria Guesthouse
#3 of 13 in Borgarnes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjall

Property: Hotel Hafnarfjall
Address: Hafnarskogur, Borgarnes 311, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Bru - Bridge Hotel)
Region: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hafnarfjall 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the bridge crossing Borgarfjordur bay, across the water from the town of Borgarnes Hotel Bru provides the simple comforts of home in a cozy atmosphere, a place you can sit and chat as the sun turns the bay first golden, then fiery red. Just a few hundred meters from the main road, Hotel Bru has a homey feel to it, whilst providing the facilities expected in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hafnarfjall Iceland/Borgarnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing