We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Borgarnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Borgarnes
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've visited Iceland in May 2013, but I still remember everything from the trip - you just can't forget anything from this lovely country :) Our visit was about 10 days long and we stayed in couple of places - 2 hotels, 1 dormitory and 1 family house and if I have to compare this hotel to the one in Reykjavik, I enjoyed more the atmosphere in this one. Our room was on the second floor, very spacious with huge windows and a lot of sunlight, which I liked a lot. The beds were comfortable, bathroom was big and clean and the TV was also pretty big and we could watch some Icelandic movies in the evening. We were on HB and food was really good - tasty breakfast and Icelandic specialties for dinner - vegetable soup, roasted lamb and homemade ice-cream, vegetarian menu was also provided for the ones that requested it. Since it was an organized trip, I can't really give you any tips about transportation to the sightseeing spots, but in the city itself you can visit The Settlement Center and learn more about Icelandic history and the heroes from the sagas. Besides you can go for a hiking or try the swimming pool, that is near the hotel. I don't know how many hotels are in this city, but this one is deffinetely a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denitsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    38
    55
    15
    6
See reviews for
24
60
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had stains on carpeting in room. It was very difficult to get WiFi in the room - had to call room service for this problem. Service was very good, as was the food. The view from our room was lovely. The hotel just needs to be renovated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbede673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Borgarnes hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Probably the most noticeable about the hotel is the drinking water which smells of sulphur. Taking a shower is like showering in hard boiled eggs. The beds seem to have mattresses of different softness, in the room I stayed in it was reasonably hard. Breakfast is not too bad, but lacks any kind of hot elements like eggs, bacon or sausages.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Suitcasewheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel room clean. Rooms quite large by Icelandic standards. TV in rooms. Bathroom is really a big shower with a toilet in the corner! Stinky water.....not hotels fault. Geo thermal water heating used. Probably same in other hotels in town. Have struck this quite a bit in Iceland.....it is just how water is heated. No tea or coffee making facilities. Basic breakfast. Breakfast room reminded me of my school gymnasium!
A perfectly fine hotel for a nights stay if you are passing through the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jennpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rykkinn
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We were traveling north to Stykkisholmur and found that Borgarnes was a good point to stop for the night. We were pleased to be able to get a room here in the high season.

The room was an average hotel room, despite the pricey rate. We decided to roam around town and find another place for dinner instead of the hotel´s own restaurant. We had a comfortable evening, a good night´s sleep.

The breakfast selection was average, nothing extraordinary. When staying at a nice hotel, one expects some warm selections, but this was somewhat disappointing.

The hotel has a nice location for checking out the settlement center and waterfront, but I was actually expecting more of Borgarnes after reading about the town in our travel guide

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a package tour. As our guide said, this isn't downtown Reykjavik, so need to reset one's expectations. This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Netto supermarket and just below a church. The room was small, with a television and telephone, but no safe or alarm clock. The bathroom was small, and there was no partition between the shower and the sink (with a single drain on the floor); the swinging shower door protected the toilet from the shower only. The hot water had a modest smell of sulfur. Dinner in the hotel restaurant included some type of smoked meat/fish, lamb in a white sauce with bacon, and a very sweet chocolate cake with ice cream. The breakfast buffet had a modest selection of cold cuts and cheeses. WiFi was notably not free, 500 ISK per 24 hours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Boston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel was fine for a 1-night stay. Room was comfortable, no frills.
Both breakfast and dinner were OK.
conveniently located.
We didn't have a view from the room, but did manage to explore the town a bit -- Borgarnes is a very pretty town on the water, and we even saw a seal playing near the shore.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kria Guesthouse
Kria Guesthouse
#3 of 13 in Borgarnes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Egils Guesthouse
Egils Guesthouse
#4 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgarnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgarnes

Property: Hotel Borgarnes
Address: Egilsgata, Borgarnes 310, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borgarnes 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Borgarnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgarnes Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing