We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”
Review of Kria Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kria Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 13 Borgarnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“room with a view”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had the twin room with large picture window overlooking sea.The couple in other room were quiet and we had no problem sharing bathroom and kitchen. Room was lovely and fresh.The owner recommended the Settlement restaurant which was lovely.We did not have time to use hot tub in the garden,but the other couple said it was lovely with great view. Breakfast was left in fridge overnight and was plentiful,we ate outside with the other couple.
Only negative was there was no milk to make a drink when we arrived,so couldnt make a drink until morning,but that is the only thing,otherwise lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had twin room,large picture window overlooking sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasider67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I wish we had been able to stay at this guesthouse longer; we arrived late and left early. We stayed in the room overlooking the hot-tub which doesn't sound appealing, but it also looks over the water. Had we arrived earlier, it would have been a lovely way to spend the evening sitting on this porch with a glass of wine. The shower was fantastic and breakfast was good. I highly recommend this guesthouse!

Room Tip: Stay in the room for two people overlooking the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMich27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were very pleased with this guesthouse. It was very comfortable, quiet, and clean. The breakfast was excellent. The hot tub was a nice bonus. The shared bathroom is big with a huge shower. This was our first night in Iceland and we are worried it will only make the rest of our accommodations seem poor in comparison.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast with good quality stuff. Everything was perfect. We stayed there for two nights. We used the hot tub one night. It was amazing. :) Loved it very much. I remember seeing many birds in the middle of the lake when I woke up in the morning. It was beautiful to see that.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I really don't want to share how good it was, because we had such privacy, the only ones there at this wonderful oasis on the sea. hot tub out the bedroom, full kitchen and breakfast brought down to cook, fresh eggs from their hens, and just a lovely owner. Would stay again in a minute, it was a year ago, but very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed for one night in the 'double bedroom' Its a very small B&B, one shared sitting/kitchen/bathroom, with two Bedrooms off the main room. Double bedroom has small double bed as you walk in (about 50% of the floorspace of that room) with regular bed in the bedroom beyond (again about 50% of the floor space, so its pretty tight. Friendly and helpful owner, breakfast is left out in fridge so you can take as you want but its shared with the other people in the other room so may get a bit busy at breakfast if each eats at same time (4 seats, but can be up to 6 staying) and if you're up first how much do you eat not to leave the others short of food. So a bit weird, and its a bit unclear if you are meant to wash up afterwards or just leave it in the sink. Big plus is the hot tub outside overlooking the (frozen) lake. and of course the price. Shared bathroom/toilet seems unnecessarily huge with basic white tile finish. For those uncomfortable sharing this may not be the place for you but otherwise its fine.

Room Tip: Double bedroom is more spacious, but if you are more than 2 then you have to take either both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPHarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Kria Guesthouse is really lovely. The hot tub is exactly what you need on a cold December night under the stars. Magret is very helpful when you need her, but otherwise she just lets you get on with things which we liked. Borgarnes is cute and I'd recommend visiting the settlement centre in town. This place is really good value for money, highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahb707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
2.1 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Egils Guesthouse
Egils Guesthouse
#4 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
32.0 mi away
Hotel Rjukandi
Hotel Rjukandi
#1 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kria Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kria Guesthouse

Property: Kria Guesthouse
Address: Kveldulfsgata 27, Borgarnes 310, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Borgarnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kria is a family run guesthouse in the heart of Borgarnes, situated right on the town's beautiful seafront. We offer two rooms; one double room and another family room that can accommodate up to four people. Visitors are welcome to use the outdoor jacuzzi, where they can enjoy the stunning view over the ocean and the surrounding mountain ring. Kria guesthouse is wheelchair friendly, and is located only 500 m away from the local bus station and the main shopping facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kria Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kria Guesthouse Iceland/Borgarnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing