We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our drive around the island package. The hotel/restaurant staff were very welcoming and friendly. The large room was comfortable with nice linens and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was also roomy with a tub. Our room (141) was the back of the hotel with a view of the golf course (do people really golf here with all the rain?), and hot tub. There was a door to the small patio with two chairs (in case the weather was dry).

The breakfast buffet was very good with lots to choose from and the option to make waffles. We ate dinner one evening and only dessert the second evening. For the first evening, my husband had the horse steak and I had the cod. Both entrees were quite tasty, nicely presented, and the waiter was efficient. The menu is small so we ate dinner the second night at a restaurant on the peninsula. The chocolate plate dessert was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel for a view of the green spaces, mountains, and the ocea...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Icelandair Hotel Hamar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a golf resort - and if you are a golfer, it is very nice. But for the rest of us, it is far out of town, though that makes it relatively quiet. All on one floor, the rooms are simple, clean, with phone, tv, coffee maker and wifi / There are 4 Jacuzzi's on the property, which certainly had hot water, but the jets did NOT seem to function.
there is a small bar and a nice restaurant - an average buffet breakfast (for an Icelandair Hotel). there is minor noise from adjacent rooms and the plumbing, but none from outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived here after a tough day on motor bikes, pretty tired and dirty to be told in a single sentence 'your room is not ready'. This was already 4pm and no explanation or apology was given or any such nicety as 'have a coffee/water etc on the house'.
At about 4.30, we were told our room was ready but there were no towels. Not a good start, but the towels did arrive in about another 15 minutes.
This pretty much set the scene for the service at this hotel. We were in a group of 25 and we really felt short changed, or should I say short fed. The dessert we paid for was not even the size on a degustation menu, and when one of our group questioned this, we were told they had 'run out'. and halved the portions. No reduction in cost was forthcoming. Staff were very much in the it's not my problem mode.
Other than that, the rooms were good and I am sure with an attitudinal change, this would be a pleasant hotel to stopover in.
No one expects perfect service, but at these prices, it leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Our door did not close properly unless slammed, over the golf course is best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misspopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's all about the location. A good stopping point for local sightseeing and moving onto other locations. The room was clean and simply furnished. One of the better breakfast buffets we experienced in Iceland. That said, other than the smoked salmon, it was nothing special. The bread was commercially produced and tasteless. A typical very expensive no frills 3 star Iceland hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were a large group staying at the hotel last weekend with an annual meeting with lunch, dinner and coffee provided by the hotel. The accommodation is very nice and comfortable. The service was excellent, every staff member helpful with warm and friendly face. Like to mention one, Bryndis who handled the catering and serviced us most of the time always with a beutiful smile and was very helpful. Food was excelent, lunch and dinner, breakfast very good serviced by Brynja.
Frábær þjónusta, vorum stór hópur sem gistum á hótelinu siðustu helgi með hádegis, kaffi og kvöldmat innifalinn. Nýlegt og flott húsnæði, mjög hlýlegt og gott. Þjónustan til fyrirmyndar, allt starfsfólk glaðlegt og vinalegt, engin vandamál bara lausnir á öllu sem gat komið upp. Einn þjonninn sem má minnast á sérstklega, Bryndís sem sá um að mestu þjónustu allan tímann við hópinn með bros á vör og hjálpsemi. Maturinn var ferlega góður, vel framsettur í hádegi, kaffi og kvöldmat, einnig morgunmaturinn sem framreiddur var af Brynju, gott og ferskt í alla staði, nóg af öllu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20GAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel Hamar is an excellent hotel in the middle of the great Icelandic nature and only 40 minutes drive from Reykjavik. I loved staying there and be able to wake up, have a breakfast and jump into the outside hot tubs which are located only few steps from the hotel rooms. I was there with 3 other friends, had a great dinner and enjoyed the great view!

Room Tip: Choose a room where you can go directly from your hotel room to the hot tubs
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SissaBlondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Iceland is beautiful. In the surroundings of the Hamar Golf Hotel you can enjoy the nature of Iceland by just stepping out of the door of your hotel room. Nice staff and people, delicious food and the environment with hot tubs makes you feel good while staying at this hotel. Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryndis S, Manager at Icelandair Hotel Hamar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear, traveller

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Icelandair hotel Hamar

Hope well see you again in the future

Regards,
Bryndis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
3.8 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
188 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
535 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
16.6 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
74 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Hamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Hamar

Address: Hamravik 2 | Golfvollurinn Hamri i Borgarnesi, Borgarnes 310, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price Range: £93 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Hamar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Hamar is a relaxing retreat-style hotel built on an 18-hole golf course in West Iceland, a region rich in saga history. In addition to golf, there are several other exciting outdoor activities available, ensuring a most pleasant and interesting stay in any season.Located about an hour’s drive north of Reykjavik, in the quaint, beautiful town of Borgarnes, the Icelandair Hotel Hamar is surrounded by immense natural beauty and fascinating attractions – this is a place where you can really get away from it all while not sacrificing one bit on the comfort of your accommodations.Each guestroom has doors that open directly out unto the hotel grounds, providing great access and comfort. Added to this, there’s a host of modern in-room features, including under-floor heating to keep you warm, whatever the weather. Best of all, after an exciting day of sightseeing, golf, whale watching, snowmobiling or hiking, you can relax in one of our geothermal-heated outdoor hot tubs.The managers and staff of Icelandair Hotel Hamar extend a warm welcome to you and stand ready to make your West Iceland trip unforgettable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Hamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Borgarnes
Icelandair Hotel Hamar Iceland/Borgarnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing