We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful little place in the middle of Iceland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Margret

Cafe Margret
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breiddalsvik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cafe Margret
Ranked #3 of 3 Breiddalsvik B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful little place in the middle of Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stopped at Cafe Margaret by accident for lunch. We were passing it on the road and it looked really cute.
The food was wonderful, the location is pretty. It's quiet and cute, the staff is friendly.
We did not stay here, but would love to do it next time around. Rooms looked pretty and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night when travelling anti-clockwise round iceland. The weather was exceptionally windy and cafe Margret provided a welcome break. They provided a lovely breakfast where we enjoyed the beautiful views.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAM275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalvik, Iceland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Last month me and my wife had dinner and stayed one night at Cafe Margret, including breakfast. Only one word describes it - wonderful. Good food, fantastic service, clean room, personalized breakfast, good price

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudmundur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

You will away from Iceland for a moment. It is like entering a nice and comfy place in Switzerland !
You will good and welcomed.
The food is good and with fair prices. But it is also a really great place to grab a piece of cake with a cup of coffee !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paultust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telaviv
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Can't expect any better food and service in this location after long driving.
Really home made cooking and a great Estonian waitresses serving the food with a smile.
Everything we tasted was good and the view great
Also very reasonable pricing

Room Tip: Great lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amnobenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Cafe Margret is a very pleasant small guesthouse attached to a little, very German, restaurant overlooking the water near the small town of Breiddalsvik. As well as Margret herself, it seems to be staffed by a large contingent of young German women, and the menu is all German food, so it feels much more German than Icelandic.

The rooms are comfy and well equipped; despite the whole building being wooden (looking like something out of "Heidi") it is quiet inside - we know there were other guests but we hardly heard them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel was very different than any of the other guesthouses we stayed at in Iceland. We enjoyed its chalet-style, the lovely wood rooms and the comfy sitting area in the hall just outside the rooms. Room and bath on the small side, but not uncomfortably so and with good bed and pillows (and 2 pillows per person, which we found was a rarity.)

We ate dinner at the restaurant and were not overly impressed - my husband had the chicken and felt it was a frozen patty. I had one of the ice cream desserts and it was delicious, though could not taste the Amaretto that was supposedly in it. We ordered a pack lunch and did not feel this was good value - a very dull sandwich in dry bread and an apple each - not much for our krona. I'd say skip it and just pick lunch up on the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cslnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breiddalsvik
0.0 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taergesen
Taergesen
#1 of 2 in Reydarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bjarg
Hotel Bjarg
#2 of 3 in Faskrudsfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blafell
Hotel Blafell
#1 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stadarborg
Hotel Stadarborg
#2 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silfurberg Guesthouse
Silfurberg Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Margret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Margret

Property: Cafe Margret
Address: Thverhamar, Breiddalsvik 760, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Breiddalsvik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Breiddalsvik
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cafe Margret Iceland/Breiddalsvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing