We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable.”
Review of Pasfield House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pasfield House Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable.”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Tony Leon was very friendly and helpful. This will be the place I hang my hat whenever I'm in Springfield, IL or within fifty miles!

Room Tip: Next stay I will ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugan103153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    8
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
34
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Tony,

Thanks again for a wonderful stay at the Pasfield. You were an excellent host, and very helpful assisting us with our weekend getaway. Our room at the Inn was very nice and comfortable. My wife and I will be sending people your way, and will visit again sometime soon.

Jason Aquila

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetterJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday. This was our first bed and breakfast stay anywhere and it was just what we wanted. What we didn't want was lots of calico country decor! What we got was clean modern feel in a beautiful vintage home. I loved the woodwork and history of the Pasfield. The inn owner was more than happy to give us a tour and oral history of the home.
I also liked the ready to heat breakfast in our room so I didn't have to dress and go downstairs. The bathroom was lovely with a Jacuzzi tub great for soaking.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BabyCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zweibruecken, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Our trip was specifically designed to be a learned experience. We went to Springfield with an enthusiasm to learn as much as possible about Abraham Lincoln (given it was his birthday weekend) and the 200th anniversary of the beginning of the Civil War.

I can't imagine a better setting than the Pasfield House for accommodations. How fortunate for us that Tony is quite a Lincoln scholar; and we enjoyed our chats with him immensely.

We discovered that the Pasfield House has a rich history, entrenched in Springfield history. Without spoiling the finer details, I must point out that the Pasfield House library offers a wealth of books to peruse. The rooms are luxuriously large, and the proximity to all the sites is key to the true Springfield experience.

Our passion for American history was re-ignited by our quick jaunt; and the Pasfield House was a great "base camp" between visiting the tomb, attending lectures, and touring the museum.

It was also a very relaxing place to rest our weary heads after full days of activities. We can hardly wait to get back again.

Thanks to all the Pasfield House staff for a GREAT BED & BREAKFAST experience!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramaymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Here's the thank you letter I sent after our most enjoyable visit:

Dear Tony (the friendly host),
It was an excellent time up in Springfield--enjoyed to all extent by us.

A true gentleman to behold, from when you generously picked us up at the train station, to fielding our questions, to your historic, yet modern accommodations. Our only regret is that we could not spend more time at the Pasfield House.

The personal introduction to President Lincoln was unforgettable; and the Midwest kindness of all we met will not soon be forgotten.

God bless, and hope to see you down the road.
Warmest Regards

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenbocken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beecher, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Everything was wonderful and we definately hope to stay there on our next visit to Springfield. It was wonderful to stay among such history. We truly appriciated the incredible detail of the restoration of this Inn. We stay at B&B's often and this was by far one of the nicest and most enjoyable. To us the Pasfield House says Springfield in every way!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Our event was a cocktail reception following our son's wedding rehearsal.
In our opinion, the owner was unprofessional based on the following:
The owner did not return our first three phone calls.
Did make contact on the fourth call and scheduled a meeting. However, owner forgot about our meeting, and when we called him on his cell phone he told us he would be there as soon as he finished shopping at Sam's Club.
Called owner the next week and advised him we were interested in booking our event.
We had questions regarding planning the event, but was told by owner that the important thing was to get him a check for $500.00 to save that night.
Noted discrepancies on the Pasfield House web page which the owner was aware of, but has not changed.
Web page states that alcohol can be brought in. We were told by owner that was not the case, and that's been on there for a while.
Told by owner that the price list of alcohol on the web page was incorrect. Owner seems annoyed by questions, and said, "I don't know if I want your business. Also, said that it sounded like we wanted to have a frat party.
Yes, we were insulted by his language and tone. Our son and his bride-to-be are a month from being physicians. We spoke to the owner in a professional manner.
Contacted owner and asked to meet with him the next week. Advised that would be OK, but he couldn't give us a time until that day, because he's always "putting out fires".
Never received any paperwork from Pasfield House or owner, but knew our $500.00 check had been cashed.
Received voice mail message from his assistant stating she had come across our name and phone number under April 9th. Stated it must have been an error, because there was no work order or anything, and we must have made arrangements somewhere else.
Returned call to owner's assistant and told her our check had been cashed, and we didn't understand why there was any question regarding our event taking place at the Pasfield House.
Contacted owner since once again he doesn't call us. I asked for a written contract, since we didn't have anything in writing. Owner rudely replies, are you afraid I'm going to cheat you?"
The rehearsal reception takes place. The Pasfield House was beautiful and the weather was pleasant enough that we were able to use the patio. The bartender and server were very pleasant. However, two menu items from our list were missing from the serving table. The roast beef au jus in a chafing dish in actuality was cold beef on dollar rolls...
Had to give our credit card information to the bartender, because the owner wasn't there to run our charge. According to the bartender, the owner is usually there???

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank watersports20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#11 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasfield House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasfield House Inn

Property: Pasfield House Inn
Address: 525 S Pasfield St, Springfield, IL 62704-1988
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing