We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "bed"- poor "breakfast"”
Review of Pasfield House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pasfield House Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Very interesting old, renovated building. My wife and I traveled with my brother and his wife. Check-in was a little strange as the young lady checking us in was waiting for only us, apparently. However, after we returned from dinner out that night, the owner and his friend were there and we had a glass of wine with them and watched a video about the Pasfield. Very interesting and a nice experience.
The refrigerators in each room were stocked with items previously ordered via email so we essentially cooked our own breakfast and we met my brother and sister-in-law in the downstairs dining area for breakfast, bringing our food along. Food was just OK and coffee not good.
The bed and bedroom was comfortable but the shower above the whirlpool tub had only a trickle of water.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonnieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

Booked online, seemed OK. Arrived, long story about overstaying guests because of personal issues, so no room, but they happened to have space available 'across the road'. They had not rung us, but had a bottle of wine as a 'sweetener'.
Across the road was a house they rented out in 'political season' but which was now empty, so we were welcome to stay there. Something seemed 'wrong' but it was raining, HARD, and late so we agreed. On our way out for a meal a neighbour asked how we booked etc. Turns out that this 'overstay guest story' or similar is often used!
The place we were in still had evidenco of other guests and unmade beds etc in other rooms. Our room was OK, but NO hot water. We had been specially invited to join them in the main palce for breakfast. Went over there (having decided to say no, thanks and just leave) but the place was locked up and no one about. We left the key and a 'contribution' for the bed (nothing for the cold shower!!!) and left.
So, watch it, carefully, VERY carefully.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank dail_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The only thing we heard from our host as we climbed the stairs to our third floor suite was to ask if we had scratched the wood on the stairs.

The rooms had some nice furniture, but were not decorated in a pleasing manner. Nicer bed linens would have been appreciated.

Breakfast was in the refrigerator. The date shown on our "egg strata" dish covers showed they had been prepared the week before. The cereal which accoompanied it (granola) was terribly stale.

When we left the next morning, we could find no one.

We felt like very unwelcome guests in a private home.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cabotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Horrible experience. Arrived at 4:20 p.m. Web site says check-in is 2-5 p.m. No one there and house locked up tight. No note on door (or anywhere else) and house phone number reached a machine. Waited outside over 1 hour for someone to show up. Then shown to wrong room, and only fixed by accident (even though room originally put in had someone else scheduled that night)! Room was nice but 1/4 roll of toilet paper in room. In-room breakfast in fridge and could warm meal up in microwave - but no hot pads. Pasfield House is a beautiful place but is managed horribly. And, advertised $125 room became $140 with unannounced 12% room tax. Have never had so many problems at a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CRayBloominton_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of recently attending a special event at the Pasfield House,

The property is conveniently located a stone's throw from the state capitol and is close to the Lincoln Library and the myriad of other Lincoln Land historic sites.

Our hosts, Tony and Cathy, personally greeted us and were gracious and attentive throughout. Property and guest rooms were beautifully restored, tastefully decorated, neat, and clean.

A recognized Springfield historian, Tony's entertained us with his stories, knowledge, and Lincoln memorabilia.

We look forward to staying at Pasfield House during our next stay and heartily recommend it for all who are not interested in the same old same old mediocre experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeallMansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

February 14th, the "Romantic" day of the year, I was the event coordinator for the weekend. I found the Pasfield House online, saw the photos, asked questions and booked the $150 room (which upon check-in was $168). I requested 2 champagne glasses in the room (since they do offer champagne I figured they'd have the glasses) along with bagels off the breakfast menu. Neither of these items were available, and without a phone in the room to call the innkeeper, or anyone in the main lobby, we had to do without. The room was cluttered with unnecessary furniture, I could not draw a bath 'cause the stopper was broken, not to mention not enough hot water for the jacuzzi. There were ladies boots left in the room, garbage in the trash can, and an ipod cord left by the previous visitor. Were the sheets even changed? Makes you wonder. the next morning there was no one around, lights were out (it was 9:30am) and we had to address our disappointment over the phone.When all these things were addressed, the innkeepers didn't offer any kind of compensation for such an expensive room! We were appalled by the situation, and will never recommend or visit this bed and breakfast again. Their loss for not taking into account unacceptable bed and breakfast ettiquette.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SarahVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

My husband and I stayed one night at the Pasfield House Inn while visiting the presidential exhibits of Springfield. I stumbled upon their website and decided to give it a try. I was glad I did.

Upon arrival we were plesantly greeted and shown our room. We selected the larger of the two types of rooms that included a sitting area. It was wonderful. Decor was great and bed, sofa, etc. were comfortable. The room was also very large and had plenty of space for us. The fridge was stocked with prearranged items including soda, water, milk, juice, and breakfast for the morning.

The inn is close to downtown but not apart of it which was quite nice. We were able to use the computer and take advantage of the movie collection. One night here was not enough!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lastiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.4 mi away
Inn at 835
Inn at 835
#1 of 4 in Springfield
323 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 38 in Springfield
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasfield House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasfield House Inn

Address: 525 S Pasfield St, Springfield, IL 62704-1988
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing