We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of Lincoln land.”

The Rippon-Kinsella House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rippon-Kinsella House
Ranked #2 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Alden, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the heart of Lincoln land.”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed there recently and had a great experience. The owners make you feel right at home and are very helpful and informative about local restaurants and attractions. The house is beautiful and Roger is a terrific chef. Excellent breakfasts on both days we were there. Thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRoket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
11
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We visited Springfield, Illinois earlier this month and stayed at this Bed and Breakfast. It was in a beautiful old house that was kept up very well. It was full of beautiful antiques. The hosts were very friendly and gave us a lot of information on the sights and sounds and dining in the city. We enjoyed the off-street parking. Our room was spacious and we enjoyed the bed/mattress. It was a large room with plenty of space and a large bathroom.
The hosts were so friendly and had wine for us when we arrived. Breakfast the next morning was home-made and delicious. We have stayed in B&B;s where we hardly even see the hosts. Not here, they were always on hand answering questions and asking if we needed anything. The other guests were very nice and we talked a lot with them. This is one of the best B and B's where we have stayed and looking forward to returning for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a wonderful time at this B and B. The hosts, Roger and Dave were very hospitable and friendly. We stayed in the Captain's room which was filled with ocean/ship/captain memorabilia. Located in a nice location and they do have off street parking which we appreciated. The entire home is fill with beautiful antiques and the owners have a great collection of old radios. A full hand made breakfast was served which we really enjoyed. We will certainly be recommending this to all of our friends and relatives. We have stayed in B & B's from coast to coast and this is one of the best ones. The beds were wonderful and we could have slept in for hours.

Room Tip: We certainly enjoy the Captain's room which was very spacious and it had a huge bathroom, with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldPile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I recently stayed three nights in this charming inn while viewing the historical sights. Our room was very comfortable and CLEAN. The breakfast each day had a wonderful presentation. Roger was a informative host and very helpful with suggestions concerning seeing the historical attractions. Sandy S.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy37088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We so enjoyed our 3 day stay with Roger at the Rippon-Kinsella House. He was very helpful with directions to attractions and restaurants. His breakfasts at his B&B were fantastic--a wide varieity of foods each day which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our room was very comfortable; the Campaign Room was exactly as portrayed on the web. Everything was very clean and well dusted and vacuumed. All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much, and visiting with Roger was delightful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My daughter and I recently spent two nights at the Rippon-Kinsella House while visiting the Abraham Lincoln historical sights. Our room was very comfortable and exactly as appears in the photo. The attached bathroom was quaint and charming, but the shower head lacked water pressure. Roger was a delightful host and made us feel right at home. Breakfast each morning was both delicious and unique. His coconut bread was amazing! We ate on the patio which was a great way to start each day. It would have been nice to be provided more bathroom toiletries, but that was a small thing in comparison to our overall experience. I would certainly stay there again when in the area. Thanks, Roger!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

If your looking for a quiet comfortable location...this is it. The staff here were more than accomodating offering wine upon arrival and freshly prepared cheese waiting by the door. Every corner of this location is filled with beautiful antiquities perfectly placed. Staff was great and we will deffinetly return. Breakfast was over the top!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.2 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.2 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
#15 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rippon-Kinsella House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rippon-Kinsella House

Property: The Rippon-Kinsella House
Address: 1317 N 3rd St, Springfield, IL 62702-3837
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing