We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rippon-Kinsella House

The Rippon-Kinsella House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rippon-Kinsella House
Ranked #2 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Plain City, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

All items leading up to this stay made me very un-easy. There was no official reservation confirmation. Just a one sentence e-mail response, to my e-mail requesting some reservation confirmation. Phone conversations were brief and hurried.

With that said, once we arrived the owner was very accommodating and cordial. The room was nice and the breakfast good, with an excellent conversation with the owners and guest. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAMaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    19
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
10
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My 2 daughters and I plus my 9 mo. old granddaughter stayed here and had a wonderful time. Roger was very congenial and funny. We all enjoyed talking with him as well as the other guests. We booked the connecting rooms and were pleased with them. The house is beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. The garden is a work in progress but all gardens are. As the saying goes "Gardens are a thing of beauty and a job forever". I also thought that it was nicely located for all of the Lincoln attractions. Thanks Roger for a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great visit to the B&B. 1871 with wonderful decor and period design. Each bedroom can house two people. Innkeeper Roger is very hospitable and makes a great breakfast. Sat on the veranda and enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Say yes to staying here. I will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have known the proprietors of Rippon-Kinsella since they owned the Henry Mischler House and have come back several times to stay with them. That should tell you a lot right there!

Of all the B&B's I have ever stayed at, Roger and David put the most effort into making everyone feel welcome. Roger cooks a terrific breakfast; not too heavy but just right to get your day started.

The home itself has a lovely decor. It has historical pieces mixed with just a dash of eclectic flair. It adds a touch of whimsy to keep the house from feeling like a museum. Everything is kept absolutely spotless and is incredibly well maintained. The yard is a work in progress but it is very well kept.

The location is excellent. It's within walking distance from the Lincoln Tomb and Oak Ridge Cemetery. You could walk to downtown if the weather is co-operating with your plans that day.

I would call them just as you are getting into town so they can be ready. It's only polite to do so anyways.

I have returned several times over to stay here and if you stay, I know you will too.

Room Tip: The home is not handicapped accessible as it was built in the 1870's. If you have mobility issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our stay at the Rippon Kinsella B&B was the icing on the cake for a wonderful weekend getaway in Springfield IL. The B&B itself was beautifully decorated and cared for by its owner the historical mementos as well as the personal touch in décor added a sense of home to the atmosphere that is often lost in more commercial establishments. Upon arrival, we were given a tour of the house and shown to our Captains Quarters. The Captains Quarters has a nautical theme décor, fireplace and lounge area as well as a large private bathroom. The room overlooks the front of the property. Breakfast was exceptional and made from scratch giving us that home feel accompanied by great conversation with Roger and Dave and the other Inn guests. The Rippon Kinsella’s proximity to the Lincoln Memorial as well as other historical areas allows one to enjoy a walk down history. We could not have been more pleased with our visit and would recommend this B&B to anyone. Roger and Dave are outstanding. They were accommodating, kind, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to be around. We wholeheartedly give them our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our first B & B experience and we were not disappointed or wanting in any request. We enjoyed Roger and Dave's company. The Captains quarters were comfortable and full of interest, as was the rest of the house. The furnishings were not lacking in history and stories. Roger's cooking was superb with memorable pineapple muffins from scratch. All in all, we felt at ease as we wandered about. As owners of a 100 + yr old house ourselves, we understand that there is always something needing an upgrade or some work in progress, hence the temporary scenario in the backyard which will become a series of interesting gardens and patios. An alarming sight to the uninitiated but to those who have vision, a paradise unfolding that you'd like to engage in. This is not a slick and sterile hotel. You will feel at home and want to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice and clean, with decorations on just about every surface. The innkeepers were very friendly and talkative, going out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Be sure to go up to the front door (facing the street) when you arrive - we knocked on the back door first, but no one heard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.2 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.8 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#13 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza
BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza
#15 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rippon-Kinsella House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rippon-Kinsella House

Property: The Rippon-Kinsella House
Address: 1317 North Third Street, Springfield, IL 62702
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing