We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overflowing goodness!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yannis Gyros

Yannis Gyros
Ranked #71 of 482 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
325 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Overflowing goodness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Soooo glad we read reviews on this and it was right on the way to the Abraham Lincoln Museum during our road trip! Oh soo good! The gyros is to die for and is soo BIG that you should get extra pitas bc they give you soo much meat that you can make 2 or 3 more. Love the garnishes and the seasonings are out of this world. Literally one of the best gyros I have had! The sauce is amazing and their fried mushrooms are soo delicious! Their greek fries is good but I prefer their mushrooms ;) We took it to go and they are super nice on the phone as we ordered too and had it all ready for pick-up. They are so inexpensive there too for the amount you get-so definitely if you are near this area, you must stop by for their gyros-get a platter :) Oh its a little hole in the wall but GPS led us there eventually so keep looking for it :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank livelovex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tastey Gyros that hit the spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This place has great gyros and friendly service! We were in town for a soccer tournament and found this spot on trip advisor. It was just as described by previous reviews. We live an hour-and-a-half away and my son asked of we could come back for his birthday. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klompy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Marvelous food, great value, convenient to I-72... Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

This is a little hole in the wall practically hidden in a strip mall, but it is a quick detour off I-72 for travelers. (Note: as of July 2013 Apple maps routes you to the wrong frontage road but it's just across the way.)

Our food was fantastic. Fresh, flavorful gyros, pitas and fries. Tzatziki was amazing! Mini size gyro was perfect for a smaller appetite. Get the Greek fries with lemon juice and oregano. You will not be disappointed!

Kind of worn out decor, but reasonably clean and obviously a family owned small business.

Yanni's just might become our traditional stop on our annual trip passing through Springfield.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
233 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Greek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I found this little - quite literal- hole in te wall via TA. We shared a moussaka special and the appetizer with feta, pita and olives. This very filling meal cost $12 and was heavenly. We sat outside. Zero atmosphere but delicious, friendly service of high quality Greek food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mym2bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
527 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great Gyros at a Very Resonable Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had just completed a meeting and were looking for a place for lunch. Not far from our hotel (Crowne Plaza, SPringfield) was Yanni's. Just down Stevenson in a non-descript strip mall - not the kind of place to beckon or even catch your eye. But I had researched TA for good food at a good price, so we searched it out and found it.
The lamb comes from Chicago (I am told that virtually all the lamb for gyros in the US comes from Chicago - the largest Greek community outside of Greece) so the differentiation comes in the Tzatziki sauce. By definition, all tzatziki sauce has cucumbers, but from there, you see all kinds of different ingredients. This particular sauce had dill and many other spices that made it very tasty and very flavorful. (Earlier in the week we had eaten at Obed & Isaac's and I opined that their tzitziki needed more flavor - they should visit their neighbors at Yanni's to taste how tzitziki should taste!).
The lamb was cut a little think for my tatse, but was very tender. One of our party got the chicken and was pleasantly surprised to find it spiced and sliced just like the lamb!.
The fries that accompanied were crispy and very good! One of our party got the deep fried mushrooms and they also were excellent.
The interior is plain but pleasant. The neighboring dance studio was in session and the bass beat penetrated the walls to compete with the recorded Greek music supplied by Yanni's but that was an artifact of eating lunch on a Saturday morning next door to a dance studio.
A gyro platter (sandwich, fries & a drink) was $8 - a great price for this meal.
I'm glad we searched out Yanni's and will happily return the next time we are in Springfield.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yannis Gyros also viewed

Springfield, IL
Springfield, IL
 

Been to Yannis Gyros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing