We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick, clean stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Springfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quick, clean stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

When we planned a trip to Springfield for October, I was a little leery of staying overnight. Most of the Springfield hotels looked dirty, dingy, and outdated. I was hoping that the reviews for Candelwood would hold up, and they did...mostly. (The beds and pillows were terrible. That's my only big complaint.)The rooms were clean and spacious. And the staff was exceptionally professional, kind, and accommodating. There were lots of chain restaurant options close by and it was really a very short trip into downtown Springfield. All in all, I'd recommend this place to a friend, or to someone who was traveling on business through the capital. There is no breakfast though (IHOP is across the street), and you do feel like you're part of a suburban hotel stay.

Room Tip: There's no pool or breakfast. Starbucks is about 2 miles down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your last stay Pamela H. I apologize our beds and pillows were not up to standard. We are in the process of putting in new pillows and linen throughout the hotel. I am glad to hear the staff was friendly and will speak to them about your comments. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    27
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
56
35
6
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have been staying at the Candlewood Suites for the past few months on business, the staff is outstanding and always are so friendly. They are always so welcoming and I would never consider staying anywhere locally outside of the Candlewood Suites. Billy, Anna, Kyle, Robert the whole crew go above and beyond.... Thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay and our staff Kevin C. I have passed along your feedback to the front desk and housekeeping staff and hope you will be able to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful, but it was out of our price range for an overnight stay. The only reason we stayed here was because the hotel where we normally stay was completely booked and the Candlewood was kind enough to reduce their prices for "overflow" guests.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the room was extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your comments about your last stay Wayne P. We were happy to have you stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay, have had many stays at hotel in the past but this was the first time staying with candlewood. Great location , pet friendly , great guest service. Also appealing was the on site laundry that was complimentary. Would return and also would recommend to other family's and business travelers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for the positive comments about your last stay Lacy S. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our guest laundry and enjoyed your stay here. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy. Friendly check in. Didn't care for the lack of ice machines. The room had a refrigerator equipped with an ice maker, but that didn't help me until morning. The coffee in the room was terrible. The room was clean except for the hairs in the tub. This is why I travel with Clorox wipes.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Katherine B. I am sorry to hear about your experience during your last stay here. I have spoken with our housekeeping team regarding your room cleanliness and I am sorry our coffee was not enjoyable. We hope you will give us another chance and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

i have stayed at numerous other hotels in the area and this is my favorite by far. The rooms are nice. The kitchen is a wonderful perk. The room was clean and looked very inviting. The windows are large so that you can get nice sunlight in your room during the day. And they open so you can actually experience fresh air. The staff is abosolutely great. They are very nice, accomodating, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you Bill D. for your comments about your last stay. We are glad you enjoyed the room and hope you will be able to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

On the positive, the room was nice and it had a window that could be fully opened. The bed had a comforter, which we routinely remove after watching Hotel Impossible. Upon removing the comforter we discovered a clump of hair on the blanket. The sheets were crumpled and not crisp looking - they looked as if someone had already slept on them. There were hairs in the bath tub and spots on both mirrors. The vanity had something spilled down the front of it. After seeing this we did not use any of the kitchen. Just so you know, this hotel does not provide housekeeping during your stay, except for once a week. For us, this was not a problem since we only stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Ferd R,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield South
Residence Inn Springfield South
#10 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Springfield

Property: Candlewood Suites Springfield
Address: 2501 Sunrise Dr, Springfield, IL 62703-5773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Springfield
#3 Family Hotel in Springfield
#8 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest extended stay hotel in the Springfield, Illinois area. The Candlewood Suites is just minutes away from numerous Abraham Lincoln sites including the new Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, Lincoln's Home, Lincoln's Tomb and New Salem State Park. Other points of interest a short drive away include the Illinois State Capitol, Abraham Lincoln Capitol City Airport, Illinois State Fairgrounds, the Dana-Thomas House and Knight's Action Park. We are also centrally located to several business and government offices, medical centers, restaurants and retail shops. Consider Us Home and experience our Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Enjoy high-speed Internet and full kitchens in spacious guest rooms for longer visits. Candlewood Suites provides free laundry facilities, unlimited access to a state-of-the-art business center, an exercise room and the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store for meals and snacks. Pets are welcome with a $100 non-refundable fee. Current shot documentation is required. A pet policy must be signed at check-in. Room cleaning is provided once every 7 days. Maximum number of people allowed per room (including children) is 2 in a room with 1 bed and 4 in a room with 2 beds. The front desk is open 24-hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Candlewood Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing