We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Place”

Lincoln Home National Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only house Abraham Lincoln ever owned is the centerpiece of this four-block historic neighborhood. Lincoln and his family lived in the two-story house from 1844 until 1861, when their address changed to the White House.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
376 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

There has been an attempt to restore the block where Lincoln and his family lived before moving to Washington DC. This adds context and meaning to the experience. The house itself is interesting and the guides are friendly and willing to answer questions. Don't miss the video in the lovely Visitor Center which is where you get your free tickets to the guided tours of the house.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tweedybird26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,505
    414
    59
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Gotta see it”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Beautiful home in a beautiful area, walk the neighborhood as Lincoln was did, tour the only home he ever owned. Perfect place to just wander the enclosed streets of his close knit neighborhood. Visitors center close buy, free tickets for tour, pay to park, gift shop

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rockrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

From the outside, the Lincoln home doesn't seem too impressive, but you definitely want to take this tour. Fascinating history about the Lincolns and how they lived in this small town. The area around the home has been restored and is a pleasant was to spend 90 minutes while in Springfield!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FREEquentFlyer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Take a very small purse”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were here bright and early. There's a parking lot beside the visitor center. We used the electronic machine to pay 2$ per hour for parking. You could pay with dollar bills or credit card, but not with coins. We went in the visitor center first and got our tickets which were free. Saw the 23 minute movie about Lincoln and then went to the meeting spot on the benches in the street for our tour. A national park ranger met us and explained that we had to hold small bags to the front of our bodies so they would not touch a wall. We made our way into the house. We were allowed to take all the pictures we wanted. The guide did a nice job of explaining about the house, what was actually the Lincoln's and what had been reproduced. We walked through the parlors, dining room, upstairs, and back down into the kitchen and the tour ended in the backyard. There were 2 additional homes of neighbors that we were permitted to tour too. We returned to the visitor center to visit their small gift shop. I was impressed by the Lincoln home, but I think my favorite was his museum. Also we were allowed to use the original handrail in the front stairway. (same handrail from when Lincoln was there).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl4674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very well done”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I must say that at first I was a little skeptical about this attraction. It turned out to be my favorite of our stay in Springfield. The entire city block is preserved. The house and furnishings are nearly completely original. It gives you the feeling of Abraham Lincoln's life and not just as a figure in history. Each tour was limited to just 15 people per guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincoln Home National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Home National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing