We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”

Knight's Action Park & Caribbean Water Adventure
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This park is always too crowded and too expensive. Not worth the money. The food is also entirely too much money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    25
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Point
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day at the pool!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We went on a Wednesday and was able to use their County Market receipt deal - buy 1 Splash Pass and get 1 free! It saved us a lot, plus we got to do the other attractions for practically nothing! Wave pool is awesome! Food is pretty expensive. The soda is NOT good! It takes like cleaners!! We loved the go carts, batting cages, rides and driving range. The miniature golf was the best! We spent the whole day and evening there and had a great time!! Loved getting the deal on getting in - otherwise it is pretty expensive!! Definitely check out their deals!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dated park, Staff Cursing with Children Present”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We only went to eh "Action Park".
This park is definitely in need of an update. Mini Golf was bad, with most of the courses looking well worn. Areas where water should be were either drained, or filled with brown water. At one point there where teens playing on the course (wearing staff shirts) and could be heard cursing while children were around. There is a smoking area outside the mini golf fence and smoke wafts into the course. The whole park is depressing and needs an overhaul.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“they obviously know they're the only game in town”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I live in Springfield and take my son here a couple times a summer, mainly only on Mondays when moms are free. The price is astronomical- I think it's right around $30/person over a certain age/height. I wouldn't mind paying it if the place were worth it, but frankly, it just isn't. It's just run down. The bathrooms smell so much like mildew I can't even stand to walk by them, the water in the lazy river is filthy and the staff is sub par at best. We went for mini golf a few weeks ago and that course gets worse every time I go. The water around the castle was disgusting, it was brown. For as much as they charge for admission, it would be nice to see some attempt at upkeep.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I Don't Appreciate Being...”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

...Manipulated. We could not find accurate prices on the website...primarily pertaining to military discounts as we were told they offered one. I made a phone call and was told on Thursday's military paid the children's admission price. It happened to be Thursday. As I tried to find the child's admission price online, I could not...so I called back...a second person told me the price and told me the military discount was the price of child's admission. Headed to the park. At the ticket window, they refused to honor the discount and told me the military discount was $3. I told the employee what personnel told us. She sent us to another area...would not give me name or direction to a supervisor stating we "have many". Went to other area...that employee would not give me name of "supervisor" but went to a back room to speak to someone...she came out and said they would "honor" it "this time", but not again. We went back to ticket counter...it was now after 3pm and swim park is only open until 6pm. After 3pm there is a $5 discount. As they were going to charge me for child's admission, I told them it was after 3pm, which I asked about on the phone, and that they could just give me the combined discount of $8...they said "NO, you lose your military discount after 3pm." THERE WERE NO SIGNS POSTED LISTING ANY OF THIS SO THEY COULD CHANGE AND MANIPULATE THE PRICES ANY WAY THEY WANTED. In a matter of 30 minutes, they changed the discounts 4-5 times. I still have no idea what the actual cost was going to be. ****Please realize this is the only water park between Chicago and St. Louis and they know it!****By time it was over, we had driven to the park based on what TWO different individuals told us about price (which happened to be the same story), dickered for a half an hour...then paid $47 to spend 2.5 hours at the water park. Yes, we could have walked away but it was 95 degrees and we were burning up.

In addition---there is no swimming in the wave pool beyond 2.5ft of water...beyond 2.5 feet of water---EVERYONE has to have an inner tube. The deepest the water is 5ft...yet even with the waves not flowing...you have to have an inner tube. So...I had an inner tube and unknowingly stepped over the line of 2.5 feet of water...LIFEGUARD BLOWS WHISTLE REPEATEDLY AND SCREAMS..."GET IN YOUR TUBE!" No waves are going and water is calm and I am in less than 3ft of water...I said .."IN IT?" She said..."In it or on it!" So, I laid across it....seriously...I could not believe it. People who were too large to fit IN the inner tube...they are out of luck if they couldn't lay across it...they have to stay in 2.5 ft. of water the whole time.

Not very enjoyable...lied to me about admission, gave me the runaround, refused to let me speak to a supervisor or even provide a name...and we were not loud or demanding or rude...

Skip it if you can.

Not enjoyable...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knight's Action Park & Caribbean Water Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Knight's Action Park & Caribbean Water Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing