We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homestyle Inn & Suites
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed 8 February 2007

My husband and I went to Springfield to be with my father in law during his heart surgery at Memorial Hospital. This hotel is located across the street which really drew us to it. Awful! No hot water in the morning to shower. And not just that but a horrible attitude from the front desk person who did not offer an answer to the problem or any information. I was actually told to go back to my room or leave! I went back to the hotel to speak to the manager later in the day and was given the same attitude! I would have rather slept in a tent in 20 degree weather in the parking lot than deal with such rude people.

I am in the travel industry and I know that if I treated my clients in this manner, I would deserve to be out of business.

I would not suggest anyone to stay at this hotel. It should actually be shut down.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank lori4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2006

We didn't expect too much out of a 3 star rating in Springfield, IL but we did expect to have clean rooms and hospitable management.

Bathrooms were filthy and I was afraid to touch anything in the room. We should have known better when we walked in and the hallway smelled like someone's armpit!

I had friends staying in separate rooms and conditions were the same- dirty bathrooms, damp carpeting, moldy shower curtains and ants! I refused to take a shower and had to think 'good thoughts' just to keep my mind off the filth when I went to bed that night.

I should have paid the extra $20 to stay at the Howard Johnson. Travelers beware! Pay your $70 to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TravelingAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2004

I stayed here in August, 2004 with members of my family. My brother made the reservation. If not for that, my mother, sister and I would have made every effort to move out of there. It is very poorly maintained and there are very few of the standard amenities we have come to expect at even the cheapest places - no hair dryer, no coffeemaker. We couldn't get a room with a refrigerator even if we got a suite because "they all broke down and were never replaced." There was a water line hanging from the wall in our building where the ice machine belonged and we had to go over to the other building for ice. The biggest joke was having to pay a lot extra for an "evergreen" room we didn't even request - we just wanted to have 3 rooms in a row, and they charged us a bunch extra for a little filter on the sink and some air filtering devices that we never turned on. (It was a non-smoking room.) I was a little thankful for the filter on the showerhead, as every time I turned on the water in the tub, it came out brown at first. The location appears convenient, but there are train tracks nearby and loud train whistles all night long.

18  Thank smingebrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susle_und_Pidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank CARLOS EDUARDO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#16 of 38 in Springfield
250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#28 of 38 in Springfield
139 reviews
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#34 of 38 in Springfield
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.9 mi away
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
#14 of 38 in Springfield
237 reviews
3.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#11 of 38 in Springfield
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestyle Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestyle Inn & Suites

Address: 500 N 1st St, Springfield, IL 62702-5116
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: £46 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Homestyle Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homestyle Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestyle Inn And Suites
Homestyle Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing