We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit!”

Illinois State Museum
Ranked #7 of 58 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Illinois State Museum focuses on the art, natural history, history and anthropology of the State of Illinois. Admission is $5 for adults ages 19-64. Children under 19, seniors over 64, veterans, and active duty military personnel are free.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to visit!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This museum is a hidden gem! Nicely presented history of the state beginning with geological history (great job on glacial history), plants and animals native to Illinois and an explanation of the original prairies, conservation and the introduction of non-native species, and the people of Illinois and how their lives have changed. Native American exhibits were adequate but hope for more. Kids exhibits absolutely perfect! Great museum for those who like to read and learn more as well as for those who just want a quick overview. Docents excellent! Oh and by the way, it's free!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SallyTop4470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    80
    28
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, OH
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It's free and probably best for children”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stopped in here after touring the nearby Capitol, since admission is free. We had been to the New York State Museum and found it interesting. We found this one much less so, and just did a quick walk through. It was the one activity that we felt we could have skipped, but families with children would probably find it more worthwhile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eatshoptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unique Museum”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The museum has many different exhibits that were interesting. It was a nice bonus to our trip in Springfield. It is near the Lincoln sites and State Capitol.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank djbIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamel
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“FREE and FUN!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

FREE admission! Hands on activities for kids! Refreshing to find museum section where kids can touch and do and make things, like grinding ear corn on grinding stones, etc. Wooly Mammoth, dinosaurs, cool bugs and beautiful butterflies, native taxidermied mammals, etc. We live south of Springfield and go here once a year. In fact, I have been coming here since the 1970s with school trips when I was a child! Gift shop has nice selection and reasonable prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinoi
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Extremely Interesting, Wide Range of Information”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I went to Springfield mainly to see the Lincoln Museum, and added the Illinois State Museum at the last minute. We were pleasantly surprised by all aspects of this building! It is free, which I found amazing considering how much it has to offer. The geological history is covered in depth, which I loved. The Illinois Indians had an interesting section, and supposedly there are special exhibits for children in the basement, though we did not have time to go down there. The flora and fauna of the different regions of the state were covered in detail too, and I learned something I didn't know--the dandelion is not native to the state, but was brought by settlers for food and the beauty of the flowers! It's an invasive species of all things!

The workers at the museum are extremely nice and friendly. When I couldn't find my husband, one even paged him for me! That saved us so much time and trouble, but how many places will do that for you? Very nice people. We'd like to come back and will.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Illinois State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing