We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise, in a good way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Springfield
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Lawson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a surprise, in a good way”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a newly remodeled Motel 6. Bare bones decorating but exceedingly clean. No nasty carpet, and the flooring is not icy cold. Bathroom very clean, with a triangle shaped tub taking the place of the phone booth shower. Beds were very comfortable. The lobby and common areas were also exceedingly clean and well kept. Parking was great, even for my oversize vehicle. I would def stay there again. Rooms are all interior, no down and out.

Room Tip: We asked for ground floor with view to the parking lot to keep an eye on the truck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecileT456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    87
    42
    5
    14
See reviews for
46
53
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mascoutah, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very clean rooms and lobby. Very basic amenities, bathroom had plenty of room, flooring was all linoleum in room. Good flat screen tv. Decent bedding and comfy soft bed, all very clean. Decent coffee provided in morning. Close to the highway and lots of restaurants, area seemed very safe and fairly quiet. Staff was very nice and helpful with providing directions to restaurants. Dog friendly with plenty of room to walk your dog. Didn't get to check out the pool, wifi seemed to work fine. Will definitely stay here again. Great price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This isn't a 5-star hotel, but it worked perfectly for us and our cat. The place is impeccably clean, energy efficient, and so friendly to pet people. The floors are renewable bamboo and the furnishings are sparce, but so user friendly. No - there isn't a coffee maker or a clock and they don't have a continental breakfast, but the bathroom was spotless and the beds were comfy. That was all we needed. The lack of carpet was great for us because it didn't collect cat hair. The price was so reasonable and didn't cost more because we had Bear along. AND, it was right next to a Hen House restaurant, so we had a great breakfast before we got on the road. The folks who worked there were so nice. Yes - we will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godfrey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I needed a room for the night and didn't want to blow a lot of money if we could help it. Based on recent reviews here we thought this would do the job, and it did!

Nothing fancy but the beds were comfy and the whole motel was impeccably clean - appears to have been recently remodeled. My wife is rather particular about lodging and she was actually impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Both me and my husband have agreed we will never stay in a motel 6 again. If you just want a bed, it's OK. But literally everything else is bad! No nightstand on one side of the bed. No coffee in the room. No toiletries. Bare bones. The room was clean enough but that was about it!

Pay an extra $10-20 bucks and get much better.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Springfield, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Maryebell,
Thank you for taking the time to write you review. We apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. As an economy brand, we keep our amenities limited in order to keep our brand promise to offer great value and comfort for the lowest price of any national chain. We take your feedback seriously and will take it into account as we work to improve our guests’ experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you are looking for a nice clean place to sleep for several days in Springfield, Motel 6 is the
best deal you could find. The rates are very reasonable ($35--$45 a night) and it's comfortable
and the staff are helpful and friendly. This Motel 6 is fairly new--I think it was built around 2008, so it's in real nice condition.

Motel 6 is located on the southeast side of Springfield, just off highway 55 at Toronto Road, so it's in a pretty convenient location, because you can get on the highway and zip up to any place you want to go in Springfield pretty fast. Or, if you're going over to the west side, you can just stay on Toronto Road and get over there quickly.

This is a very basic hotel. It is NOT a fancy place to hang out all day. But if you plan on
sightseeing the Abraham Lincoln places all day or need to be in Springfield for several days for some other reason, and just come back to the hotel to sleep, this is the place to stay.

You'll get a queen-size or two double-size beds, a TV, a big mirror with a counter and shelves underneath, a small closet, a full bathroom, and a big window. There is an outside pool and a laundry room, too. You can control the heat and air-conditioning inside the room. You might hear the air-conditioning or heat unit running, but it probably won't bother you. If you go to the hotel's website you can see a picture of a room.

There is no restaurant inside the hotel, but there are several restaurants close by. The best one is the Cracker Barrel right across the road, where you can get a good breakfast before starting your sightseeing, and a good supper before going back to the hotel for a hot bath and bed.

I'm giving this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 stars, just because it's not an elaborate hotel at all, but if you're rating very basic, plain hotels, you could call this hotel "excellent."

Room Tip: A room on either side of the building would be fine, I think. There is a non-smoking and smoking sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelreaderColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It's not perfect. You have to pay for slow internet, there is no carpeting, and the walls are pretty thin. But the bed was comfortable, the room was actually a pretty good size, the shower was hot, and breakfast was free. For what you pay, you're not going to get a better bargain. Plus, if you want to bring your pets, they stay free. Good for the whole family.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the back near the pool. Lots of loud traffic back there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felixmadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Springfield
Days Inn Springfield
#30 of 38 in Springfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#28 of 38 in Springfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#32 of 38 in Springfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
#15 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Springfield

Property: Motel 6 Springfield
Address: 6011 S 6th Street Rd, I-55 at Exit 90/Toronto Rd, Springfield, IL 62712-8630
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 has modern rooms located near many great Abraham Lincoln sites! Just 6 miles from Lincoln's home, 7 miles from the Lincoln Presidential Library, 8 miles from Lincoln's Tomb. WIFI available for a nominal fee and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Springfield Hotel Springfield
Motel Six Springfield
Springfield Motel 6
Springfield Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing