We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of space for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites South
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Plenty of space for everyone”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Traveling with my parents and my 3 children, we stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite midweek. There was plenty of space for all 6 of us and even enough room for my aunt and uncle (who were staying in a studio suite on the same floor) to come in and play cards. The room was clean and spacious, but the chair in the master bedroom was ripped in several places. We were pleasantly surprised to find that midweek a full dinner is included in your room rate--burgers, hot dogs, brats, baked beans, chips, salad, and soda, beer, or wine. The staff working the dinner was extremely helpful and friendly. My only wish is that the soda cups were bigger as we had to refill them a number of times. The breakfast buffet was likewise plenty and well stocked.

While we did not use all of the offered amenities, I noticed that long-term storage closets were offered, there was a decent sized exercise room, there was a nice patio area with an outdoor court, and free laundry facilities were on site. We did use the indoor pool, though. It was quite large with a hot tub. Unfortunately the chlorine was so strong in the air in the pool area that our eyes were stinging and my mother's asthma flared up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StLouisMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    38
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
54
20
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have stayed at several Staybridge Suites; two different ones in California and this one in Springfield, IL. This Springfield, IL Staybridge Suites is hands down THE BEST thus far! Check in was fast and flawless with a cheerful, courteous front desk employee. We had a ground floor one bedroom (King bed), one bath suite with complete furnished kitchen. Nice full size frig, two burner stove top, dish washer, all the dishes, glass wear, flat ware, pots, pans, microwave bowls, toaster and coffee pot. There is a “breakfast bar” that separates the suite entry from the kitchen. As you walk in the door you come up on the desk and chair with a desk lamp, then the sofa sleeper, a floor lamp in the corner by the large window, two small tables pushed together for a coffee table. Across from the coffee table and sofa (sleeper) is the TV cabinet with doors with three drawers, that held a tube style TV. Next to the TV cabinet was a small table with a table lamp next to the double doors to the bedroom. Between the kitchen sink and the bedroom double doors was another rectangle table with a chair. The bedroom had a King size bed, very comfortable by the way, with a night stand on each side each with a bedside lamp on each, TV cabinet with doors with three drawers, that held a tube style TV and a very nice comfy chair! The sink and vanity are next, separate from the toilet/tub and shower. Directly across from the sink/vanity is the closet with sliding doors and a plus is the wire storage racks on one side for each space; here is also the ironing board and iron. Down the hall from the suite, you enter (with your key card) the fitness room with bike, two tread mills elliptical fitness machine, water cooler, flat screen TV, plenty of towels and scale. Directly off the fitness room is the guest FREE (no coins required!!!) laundry with FOUR washers and FOUR dryers and the room is actually pleasantly cool with two large windows. Also directly off the fitness room is the indoor pool and whirlpool. All these guest areas were spotlessly clean. Off the front lobby is the guest breakfast/evening reception area. Also in this area you find a gathering area with sofa, several chairs, end tables, coffee table, flat screen TV and fireplace. Off the breakfast area you have a guest library, the “business center” and small meeting room. Leading outdoors, off the breakfast room, is the patio area with two barbeque grills and a sports court, several tables and chairs. By the front desk you will the Bridge Mart , it is not very plentiful selection, but pretty sure it must work for the guest or it wouldn’t be there. FYI with in probably ¼ to ½ mile is a Meijer Food Store, extremely reasonable prices and a huge selection of everything under the sun. The complimentary breakfast was very acceptable, as long as you don’t expect gourmet food, you should be just fine to eat up and get a start on your day. The reception is Monday through Thursday. Monday is the Priority Club Reception, and then Tuesday through Thursday is lighter fare. Although, the calendar on our refrigerator showed “cookout” each Thursday and the night we had barbequed hamburgers and brats with all the trimmings including cheese, soft drinks, beer and/or wine. The next night was an “ice cream social” and that includes four or five different toppings for your ice cream and again soft drinks beer and/or wine. The front desk was more than happy to provide Springfield area maps that showed the most popular sites to be seen; along with a Spring Guide magazine and suggestions of what to see and/or do. Just remember, this is what would be referred to as an extended stay property, so be sure you understand the housekeeping cycle for what you can expect. If you wish to have more frequent attention to your suite, let the front desk know so they can alert housekeeping of your desires. This property’s number one priority is the guest comfort and happiness and that we can attest to! We stayed five nights, loved every minute and highly recommend the Staybridge Suites Springfield, IL!

Room Tip: This was a great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVSallyReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Nice hotel, friendly hotel but PATHETIC internet They give you a crazy code, it last for 2 hours and you get kicked off, then you have to call reception again for another. Guess what happens after 2 hours?? Yep you gotta call reception again and get another strange code.
What a waste of time.. Put me off completely.
Beds are hard, and my non smoking room had, had a smoker in there before. It's a shame because the staff are nice, the place is ok but with a pathetic internet system, hard beds and smokey rooms I won't go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Workaholicfromfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Staybridge Suites South, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Workaholicfromfl,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the way internet service offered at the hotel may have caused you. Thank you for your compliment on our friendly staff. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,
Lin Sun
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

My brother lives in Chatham. I travel from California with my family at least once a year. My Illinois trip includes three nights in Springfield at the Staybrige. Staybridge has become home. The same front desk fellow has been there for years. While he couldn't possibly remember us from year to year, we are always happy to see him. We remind him of who we are and he lights us and welcomes us back. Unlike the fellow posting about the horrible beds, we find them quite the opposite. The rooms are spotless, furniture well thought out. Kitchenettes, while hardly hugely stocked, have enough for the majority of cooking that would go on there. Pool great, play area great. Happy guests. Friendly staff. Can you tell we love the place...and I travel to lots of little towns all over the country with my family.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SacramentoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Don't stay here unless your idea of a comfortable mattress runs along the lines of concrete slabs. Staff was friendly, and they moved us from our first room when our TV in the bedroom did not work. However, the second room had a thermostat that although on the wall and apparently receiving power, had no effect on the room temperature. The coffee was horrible. We checked out and moved next door to the Hampton........comfy bed and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budyzer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Reserved non-smoking room; obviously received smoking room as it smelled very strongly of old smoke. Next room neighbors had a loud party with loud music and people slamming in and out of the room from roughly 1 AM to 4 AM. Despite repeated polite requests to both the neighbors and the front desk nothing was done to quiet them. Do not reccommend!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrinemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed at the Staybridge in a two-room suite - family with two young children. The space in the room is terrific, and the amenities cannot be beat. Hidden gem = free laundry facilities.

We rated sleep quality a 3 because of heavy stair activity on our second night. We were in room 102, which is right next to an entrance stairwell. Because of the hotel's stick construction, it sounded like people running and jumping on the ceiling until after midnight (several youths in the hotel that night). Once we realized that it was a stairwell and not the room above, we didn't feel as annoyed. Still, it was noticable. My advice - if you will be retiring at or before 9 pm with your kids, be sure to ask for a room away from a stairwell. We were out until after 10 the first night and had no problem.

They did warn me that the wireless internet has compability issues with Windows Vista, which I appreciated. They provide an ethernet cable in the room - the jack at the dining room table was dead, but I was able to connect from the jack in the queen bedroom.

Nice, clean, well-run hotel. The location is a bit far from the Springfield sites, but it's an easy travel up Veterans Parkway or over to Business 55.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGMadisonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield South
Residence Inn Springfield South
#10 of 38 in Springfield
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites South

Property: Staybridge Suites South
Address: 4231 Schooner Dr, Springfield, IL 62711-7101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Springfield
#12 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all suites extended-stay hotel in Springfield, Illinois, home of Abraham Lincoln and The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Each suite is designed for maximum flexibility and adaptability to meet all of your individual needs. Whether you are relocating to the area, on a project assignment, or just getting away for the weekend, Staybridge Suites has what you want! Staybridge offers 3 different suite room types; Studio, One-Bedroom, and Two-Bedroom. All suites contain a fully equipped kitchen, living room, 2-line telephone, direct in-room phone#, voice mail, and free high speed wireless Internet and wired Internet access. Hotel amenities include 24-hour service desk, complimentary breakfast bar, evening Sundowner reception(Mon-Thur), fitness center, business center, swimming pool, free guest laundry facility and complimentary shuttle service (8:00 am-6:00pm). The Staybridge Suites is located within a few miles of downtown Springfield, The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, White Oaks Mall, and Frank Lloyd Wright's Dana Thomas House. We are located off of I-72 and Route 4 at exit #93 in Prairie Crossing, Southwest Springfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites South Hotel Springfield
Staybridge Suites Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing