We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites South
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a great visit”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Unfortunately my stay here wasn't so great. A few points:

* The mattress was extremely hard, just sitting on it I could hear/feel the springs. It seemed very old, I woke up with back pain almost every morning.
* The pillows were small squares
* The tv was very old and positioned in an angle where watching it from either the couch or the bed wasn't possible (where else am I supposed to watch it)
* The shuttle wasn't dependable (it would ride only if there were 2 people at the front desk, which a lot of times there weren't)
* The cleaners did fairly little cleaning and provided no new soaps/shampoo's etc even though I stayed for several weeks.

Good points:

* The breakfast was great: Assortment of fresh fruit, bagels/muffins etc.
* Free dinner (If you don't mind unhealthy meals)
* Staff at the front desk was nice
* Free washer + dryer

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulatjuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caps8, Manager at Staybridge Suites South, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your comments so that we know where we need to improve, as we do our very best to exceed our guests expectations. I apologize that our beds and tv's were not satisfactory for your stay. The great news is that in the beginning of 2013 we will be going through and extensive renovation. All of our beds, pillows, TV's and funishing will be getting replaced. In the meantime I am taking your feedback about our shuttle service and limited housekeeping concerns and will make certain that those will be improved upon. I hope that you will choose us again in the future and Thank You for choosing the Staybridge Suites in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    38
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
54
20
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My family stayed for a week in a 2-bedroom suite. We enjoyed the breakfasts and happy hour. The staff was very helpful at the front desk and in the food area. I had a request for something at least once each day and the staff never acted inconvenienced. That has to be the most important aspect for me, besides cleanliness. However, the temperature in the fitness room was set at 72 degrees which seems odd. That's much too high for an area where people are working out. So that's my only complaint, and not a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was our first experience with Staybridge Suites. The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. We stayed one night and did not use the kitchen portion of the suite. It did however look well equipped. The Spa and pool were very nice. We really enjoyed the Sundowner reception. We just had wine and cheese, but I was told that on Tues, Wed and Thurs. there is a full meal.
The complementary breakfast was among the best I have had. Several choices of eggs, cereal, fruit even nuts.
This will not be our last experience with Staybridge Suites.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edshome41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

From the moment I checked in, my experience exceeded my expectations. All the guest services personnel were friendly and helpful. If you want to save meal costs, this is the place to stay. Besides having a full breakfast every morning, dinner is provided Monday thru Thursday. This is a savings of $20-25 per person every day. I was traveling alone, and my suite included a full kitchen including a full sized fridge and dishwasher. The cupboards held dishes, glassware, and utensils. My room included a queen bed and sofa bed. There was plenty of closet space. It was quiet and peaceful throughout my stay. I would definitely seek out Staybridge in other locations in future travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The mattresses are hard with no support. Like sleeping on a concrete slab. We usually stay at the Hampton next door, but thought we would try the Staybridge. Do your back a favor and stay at the Hampton (or elsewhere) where the mattress is comfortable. The cleanliness of the room was marginal, the toilet seat was loose, and the furniture was pretty beat up. We won't be back. Very disappointed as we recently stayed at a Staybridge in Lansing MI and that was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
negaunee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was a great place to stay. The complimentary breakfast was very good, just a small portion of everything was almost too much. The Tues-Thurs evening social was very good also. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying there anytime.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erineh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My family and I stayed here on our way to and from a visit to the In-Laws over the 4th of July holiday week. On both occasions, we were welcomed by friendly front desk staff and quickly checked in, which is important when traveling with small children. My 3 year old and I loved the pool and were able to enjoy it by ourselves on both occasions. The GM, Sherri, made sure that we had everything we needed for a perfect stay and my wife and I agreed that we will certainly stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any newer beds if you prefer a soft mattress. The ones we had were a little too fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aswitzer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield South
Residence Inn Springfield South
#10 of 38 in Springfield
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites South

Property: Staybridge Suites South
Address: 4231 Schooner Dr, Springfield, IL 62711-7101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Springfield
#12 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all suites extended-stay hotel in Springfield, Illinois, home of Abraham Lincoln and The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Each suite is designed for maximum flexibility and adaptability to meet all of your individual needs. Whether you are relocating to the area, on a project assignment, or just getting away for the weekend, Staybridge Suites has what you want! Staybridge offers 3 different suite room types; Studio, One-Bedroom, and Two-Bedroom. All suites contain a fully equipped kitchen, living room, 2-line telephone, direct in-room phone#, voice mail, and free high speed wireless Internet and wired Internet access. Hotel amenities include 24-hour service desk, complimentary breakfast bar, evening Sundowner reception(Mon-Thur), fitness center, business center, swimming pool, free guest laundry facility and complimentary shuttle service (8:00 am-6:00pm). The Staybridge Suites is located within a few miles of downtown Springfield, The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, White Oaks Mall, and Frank Lloyd Wright's Dana Thomas House. We are located off of I-72 and Route 4 at exit #93 in Prairie Crossing, Southwest Springfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites South Hotel Springfield
Staybridge Suites Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing