We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see for Lincoln fans”

Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site
Ranked #12 of 57 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1840, this building is where Abraham Lincoln maintained working law offices.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Must see for Lincoln fans”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a must-see for Lincoln buffs. Be aware that due to renovations in 2014 the building is only open 3 times daily. The tour guide was great and had many interesting stories and facts to share beyond what you might know from textbooks. There are two flights of stairs to climb so this can be an issue if you have limited mobility. There is no fee for the attraction, but a donation is suggested and will go a long way to helping preserve this historic place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharkhunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    63
    58
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LEJ45
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Had a nice little tour”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stop in. Take the tour. It's short. It's free. And it's fun to learn about President Lincoln's law days. The tour guide was informative and accommodation since we merely poked our heads in and she was willing to take us all around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staatsburg, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very fun”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Any Lincoln fan will enjoy this tour. The guides are what make it so fun. Our guide was Sam, and he was so full of knowledge. My husband and I were the only two on his tour, and I was glad for that. He and my husband were quickly sharing Lincoln facts and stories, and seemed to be "old friends" by the time our tour ended, which was about an hour later. The time went by so quickly. Sam was great in that he is very knowledgeable and passionate about what he does, yet he is not afraid to admit when he doesn't know the answer to a question. I am very glad we went here when we did.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank seehorse72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lincoln history buff”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Outer tour guide was so much fun and had a lot of info for you. It was neat to see where Lincoln had his law office.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbgroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Easy so why not”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Another site where you are more in a probable space where maybe Lincoln breathed. That said, as with the old state Capitol, we learned more by my 12 year old asking personality questions about the man after this tour. We learned that Lincoln was so disorganized he kept money in a sock while postmaster . . . However, this type of interesting fact was only after asking about his disorganization and the like.

It's an easy stop, so why not.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donnalap P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing