We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Museum ”

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a stunning combination of scholarship and showmanship, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum immerses you in Lincoln's world and time. Journey from a rustic Indiana cabin to the Executive Mansion in the nation's capitol; follow the fate of America's 16th president and share the joys and sorrows of a family - and a nation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Museum ”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Went there in the afternoon around 2:00 and before I knew it the museum was closing at 5:00. The 3 hours flew by watched 2 of the presentations very informative and very state of the art. The exhibits were all very interesting and a nice presentation. If you are in Springfield this is a must stop attraction.

Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,000
    300
    73
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Schedule a half day for this excellent museum”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Lincoln Presidential Museum presents an overview of President Abraham Lincoln's life and the issues that shaped his presidency, emphasizing slavery and the Civil War. The exhibits are arranged in two "trails" - one about his early life, and the other focusing on his time in office. Be sure to view the two movies; they are beautifully produced, and add a lot to your understanding of both Lincoln and the function of a presidential library. If you are a member of a museum in your hometown, bring your membership card; you may be eligible for a significant discount

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our road trip”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a wonderful museum. Everything is presented in a way that is easy to comprehend. The displays and movies are excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gma_p2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Arkansas
Level Contributor
303 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Museum!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I don't usually enjoy museums that much, but I found this one to be quite engaging and interesting. Lincoln was a very interesting President during a very interesting time frame so there was a lot to see. Would recommend spending a couple of hours here! We enjoyed it very much.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arkies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
320 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Amazing Look Back at Lincoln's Time and Place in US History”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We visited the Lincoln Presidential Museum on our vacation to Springfield. My parents both did not want to come here but I convinced them because I really wanted to check it out. They were so happy that I talked them into it, as we all loved this museum. This is one of the best museums I have ever been to! We paid $15 per person admission, which included admission to a small exhibit on the making of the film "Lincoln" from a couple years back. We felt it was well worth it. This was such a complete, comprehensive museum. We started by going through the log cabin and learning about Lincoln's early life and childhood. They have really used the space in this museum very well. Everything is so informative, and you definitely need all or most of the day to see everything in here. We watched a Civil War-era band performance for about an hour out in the plaza of the museum, which was very cool. We went through the White House portion of the museum which takes you through Lincoln's time as President during the Civil War. You really start to see how hard of a Presidency Lincoln had and the issues he all dealt with while in office. The museum does a great job of making you feel emotion at what Lincoln all went through. We saw the 2 videos--one on Ghosts of the Library which talks about the Presidential Library, and one on Lincoln's assassination in the Ford Theater. They were both great videos. The Ask Mr. Lincoln area was pretty neat. There is a Subway right in the museum which was nice when lunch time rolled around. There is also a really nice gift shop. The exhibit on "Lincoln" the movie was also pretty interesting and has made us want to see the film. We LOVED this museum and it is so complete. I feel like I fully understand the entire life of Lincoln now. We got here at about 9:30 in the morning and were here until nearly 4:30. You should definitely plan on 6 or more hours here if you want to see the entire facility. Parking was easy in a garage across the street. We would definitely recommend, and we would like to return some time. You can find out anything you ever wanted to know about Lincoln here!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing