We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 13:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
Worthwhile Tour

On a recent trip to Springfield, we decided to visit the Governor's Mansion and glad we did. Guided... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Mike Z
interesting

Is nice that they let people visit. We had to wait for our tour and then they added more at the... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2018
Coastal33668473270
,
Edinburg, Texas
Read all 109 reviews
  
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
42
41
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
41
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private donations living quarters official residence state dinners hand carved undergoing renovations antique furnishings public rooms our tour guide walk up nice job street parking on display free tour his wife answer questions worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The newly renovated Governor's Mansion is open! It is amazing. It is beautifully restored and showcases not only period pieces but also displays art with an Illinois connection from many eras. There are over 100 volunteer docents offering free tours. Definately a must see when in Springfield!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I had been at the old governors mansion when walls were cracked and leaking and carpet was threadbare. This newly remodeled governors mansion was absolutely beautiful. The docents did a great job explaining the updates, artwork and history. Absolutely worth your time to visit and its free!

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank Clairecall51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBlandford, Curator at Illinois Governor's Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you so much for visiting the Mansion. We are delighted that you had a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Road trip! Following our visit to the State Capitol, we stopped by the Governor’s Mansion. This tour was outstanding and the tour guide provided a ton of great information and had answere for all questions posed by members of the tour group. The tour obviously focuses on the historic portion of the mansion and a few rooms that are still used, but don’t expect to see the current living quarters of the Governor and his family. A fun tour of a historic home. They recently completed a three year, $15 million renovation project and only reopened in July, 2018. Definitely worth the time! Note, no pictures are allowed inside the Mansion, but you can take all you want of the exterior. Also large bags and backpacks are not allowed onto the grounds.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Dan949A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBlandford, Curator at Illinois Governor's Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Our exhibitions will change annually, so we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Visited this attraction with friends. Tour guide was terrible. John was his name. Made it very clear there were other tours going in the house at same time and he "could only do so much with a crowd". Rushed through the intro. Stated several times, we didn't have time to see this, or that....When we lagged a bit behind to look at artwork or whatever, he stated, "ok, I will say this one more time, I wait until everyone is in the room until I begin my speech". Save yourself John, we didn't want to hear what you were saying, we wanted to see the house and displays. When the tour headed up the stairs to see the bedrooms, we headed down the stairs and out the door. Couldn't get out fast enough. This attraction would be much better served as a self guided tour with experts mingling to answer questions or offer insights. Tour guides like John ruin the experience.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank elovestheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBlandford, Curator at Illinois Governor's Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

We are very sorry that you didn't have a positive experience. Our goal is deliver excellent history tours and great hospitality. We will address your concerns. Please feel feel to reach out to us if you are in the are again and would like to schedule another visit. Thanks for making time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

The Illinois Governor's Mansion had fallen into disrepair through lack of occupancy, upkeep and funding. The current Governor Bruce Rauner and his wife Diane, spearheaded a campaign to restore the mansion to its former beauty. They along with other donors have done a remarkable job!! It recently reopened to visitors and it is well worth the time to see it. The Governor and First Lady call it the peoples' house as they believe it belongs to the people of the state of Illinois. They also live there and while it was undergoing renovations they resided on the State Fair grounds in the Director's House unlike past governors that did not reside in Springfield even though it is our state capital. The tour was great with so many items to see through out the 3 stories. The wood carved furniture in one of the rooms was exceptional especially when you learn that it was hand carved with a penknife!!! The staircase is absolutely amazing also!!! Only one regret, no photographs inside, and for a camera person like me that was hard. We did have a chance to speak to the curator and he said in the future they would like to make a book with pictures of the different rooms to sell. He explained that things have been very busy and they decided with the tours lasting about an hour and with so many visitors(5500 in the first month) they could not allow time for photos and they also have art works displayed that you would not be able to photograph.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBlandford, Curator at Illinois Governor's Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thanks for visiting the Governor’s Mansion. We are glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews