We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 13:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
interesting

Is nice that they let people visit. We had to wait for our tour and then they added more at the... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2018
Coastal33668473270
Worth the trip for Tourists

The renovations were worth the effort and the mansion is interesting. We visit this place for... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2018
Ken R
,
Springfield, Illinois
Read all 105 reviews
  
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
39
40
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
40
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews official residence private donations state dinners hand carved undergoing renovations antique furnishings public rooms living quarters our tour guide walk up street parking free tour answer questions worth the trip on display his wife bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

As our first visit to an Executive Mansion we were unsure what we might see. This mansion had recently undergone a major multi-million dollar renovation. Your tour starts at the entry gates to the grounds with a brief introduction as you walk up to the entrance doors. Our tour guide did a nice job telling us the history of the mansion as she'd been working there for 30+ years. Touring the main level rooms were beautiful and had some unique works of art which made it feel more like a very nice art gallery than a government building where work would be done. It appeared like the public spaces were used mainly for ceremonial purposes. The current governor does have living space in the mansion and does most of his work in his private quarters rather than his newly renovated office space.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBlandford, Curator at Illinois Governor's Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for visiting the Illinois Governor's Mansion. We appreciate that you made time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

The renovations were worth the effort and the mansion is interesting. We visit this place for events and not for tours so I'm not sure what the tours offer.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The renovation of the mansion was well needed but I don't understand what purpose the renovated mansion serves. Perhaps, if I get invited to an event, I will.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank gatzbyllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Excellent educational guided tour. Free. The beautiful restoration was completed in July 2018. They have a rotating art display and have specialized art tours available as well. Elevator inside and enter on lowest level with no stairs. The only negative is we couldn't figure out where to enter the compound (large iron fence surrounding it), so we ended up calling to ask while driving around it three times looking for street parking. You enter at the furtherest gate away from the entrance.(there are three easy to find gates in different areas). Signage is poor/lacking in this area. This entrance, which requires quite a bit of walking, and up-hill at that, did not work for the person in our group with accessibility issues. They have ONE wheelchair available for the public, and it was being used, so that person in our party left and went back to the hotel. We walked back to the hotel after the tour. One star removed from review due to these negative issues.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Iluv2travel059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBlandford, Curator at Illinois Governor's Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you for visiting the Illinois Governor's Mansion and for making time to share your feedback. We are very sorry for the inconvenience your guest encountered. Please know that the new walkway was installed in order to make the location fully accessible per ADA guidelines for the first time in history. All pathways and entrances now meet ADA guidelines. We are sorry our second chair wasn't here in time for your visit. We now have two chairs and three walkers available for checkout by guests. Again, we are sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you for your comments about the overall restoration and the educational history experience at the Governor's Mansion. We hope you visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

I highly recommended taking a tour of the house. It's been beautiful restored, and there's a lot to see. Our tour guide was great, you could tell she was very passionate about what she was talking about. The tour is free and you enter using the gate on Jackson Street. For those of you who don't walk well, and won't be able to walk up and down the beautiful stair case, there is an elevator available, so don't think you have to miss out.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews