We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dana-Thomas House

Dana-Thomas House
Ranked #4 of 55 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I took my group of high school students here and they loved it! They said it was the best tour that they had ever went on (in four years). The chaperones enjoyed it as well. Our guide was amazing! This is a must do!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank savytrav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    128
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful house tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I drove up from St. Louis on a Sunday for a change of scenery. Thanks to Trip Advisor, we knew there was a Frank Lloyd Wright house open for tours. We arrived and were warmly greeted by the employees. The tour is free but the suggested donation amount is $10 per person. We watched the 10 minute video which gave a great history of Ms. Dana and the house as well as Mr. Wright. There were 12 people in our tour and it was our tour guide's second time doing the tour. It exceeded our expectations. The house has been beautifully maintained/restored with many unique features, levels, windows and stories. The tour concluded in the courtyard and since it was FLW's birthday week, the local master gardeners were offering cookies, mint flavored water and lemonade as well as tours of the grounds. The gardeners gave us a lot of interesting information about the grounds restoration project and their views as locals on the property and its former owners Ms. Dana and the Thomas Publishing Company. If you like unique architecture mixed with interesting history and local stories, this is well worth your time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TEFox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This huge home is a wonder! It is large, several levels, many rooms. Everywhere you look there are magnificent design details - walls, windows, floors, lighting. Our guide was excellent, though a little hard to hear with his soft voice. Illinois has a gem in this home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate46143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zion
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My First Frank Lloyd Wright House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I loved this place. The style, the size, the idiosyncrasies that is this maker's mark. Prairie-style at it's best. So much to take in and our tour guide was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

An amazing house with many levels, lots of floor space and some other neat things you need to see in real life to appreciate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubsy_Malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dana-Thomas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing