We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early in the season...guide needed practice...lots of it...”
Review of Springfield Walks

Springfield Walks
Ranked #2 of 2 Tours in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Springfield Walks is the premiere tour company in Springfield. We provide historical and walking tours, guided site tours, and guide services for visitors and coaches. We serve literally thousands of visitors, tour groups, and student travel groups each year.Springfield Walks provides all the history and mystery that Lincoln's Springfield has to offer. Please join us for tours like no other in the entire country, and enjoy Lincoln's Springfield like you never have!
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Early in the season...guide needed practice...lots of it...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This could have been a spectular tour...unfortunately it was not. And, I believe if Garrett, the owner, would have been listening from behind a tree he would have agreed. Our guide told us she had not given this tour since the prior October...and it showed. Constructive suggestion for Garrett...have your new and returning seasonal guides recite the tour to you in person face to face until he or she can get it down pat to your satisfaction. Our guide reflected very poorly on you, Garret, and your business tonight. She literally read her script 80% of the time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill95403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garret m, Owner at Springfield Walks, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
On one hand I appreciate the feedback, it is helpful and I will address the matter accordingly. On the other hand I find negative reviews mean spirited without contacting the business owner first. I would have gladly refunded your money and listened to your grievances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    1
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We always take visitors on the Ghost Walk”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you want the best experience possible when visiting Abraham Lincoln's hometown, you need to do Lincoln's Ghost Walk.
We actually live in Springfield but when friends or relatives come for a visit, a Ghost Walk is on the agenda. Garret's script is well researched, meaningful, interesting and entertaining; and, the Lincoln neighborhood is beautiful in the evening.
He has stories you won't hear at the museum or historic sites and is a completely pleasant person.
Put it on your schedule when you visit Springfield, Illinois.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic time, the untold history of Springfield”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Garret was a fantastic host, as he walked through some of Springfield's lesser know history. If we come back to Springfield we would certainly engage him again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harryjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garret m, Owner at Springfield Walks, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for the kind words. This couple had a great energy about them and I had a lot of fun with them on this tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“The Lincoln Story at its Best.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This Lincoln Ghost walking tour is a must do in Springfield. It is a unique "tie-in" to all the Lincoln sites. We went on a Saturday night and about 30 people were there - of all ages. The 7:30 pm starting time is a good night-time activity because all the other sites are closed, so it nicely fills a gap. There were three tour guides (two men and one woman): one shared historical facts, one shared paranormal experiences about Lincoln, and the leader, Garret Moffett, shared ghostly legends and lore about Abraham Lincoln and Mary Lincoln. Mr. Moffett was in period attire (with a candle lantern too). His performance was much like a "one-man play." All three guides were very knowledgeable, credible and courteous. There was one attendee in a wheelchair and the guides were very attentive to his needs, as they were to all of the attendees. This well structured 90 minute $14 tour visits the outside of the Old State Capital, Lincoln Home, and Lincoln Depot. You certainly feel like you are back in time with the Lincolns, as the story telling mentions things like pigs running in the streets, horse carriages, gas street lights, city celebrations, etc. Tour is very enthusiastic and respectful of the Lincoln legacy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garret m, Owner at Springfield Walks, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for the kind words and the constructive review. I remember this group and they brought a good energy with them and we just fed off their good and fun vibe. It made for a really great night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do Not Bother.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Went on the historical tour given by Mr Moffett. Boring. Do not waste your time or money. You can learn more by reading a book. Also have been on the Dead Walk with Mr Quinn, also boring. Paid to just stand around in parking lots and listen to his personal life stories. Please save your money and your time and not go on these tours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DD1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garret m, Owner at Springfield Walks, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Nothing more than a revenge review. Our tours have a stellar reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springfield Walks also viewed

 

Been to Springfield Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing